Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th December 2010, 11:27   #91
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 350 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Thanks all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman7 View Post
I for one didn't know that so much could be done with a Magnum.
This is just the beginning with Cruze VGT turbo and clutch upgrade you can achieve even more in magnum. As i said if you have the dough you can get more.

Check the dyno figures of Remapped Cruze tested at RedRoosterRacing.

552nm of Torque
223 bhp


Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4-cruze-map.jpg

Name:  IMG_2809.jpg
Views: 3141
Size:  57.4 KB

Last edited by brraj : 24th December 2010 at 11:29.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 12:23   #92
Senior - BHPian
 
sagarpadaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,632
Thanked: 1,256 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

brraj,those BHP and torque figures for the Cruze are just insane! Those numbers are still taking time to sink into my head!!! I mean it would be like going in a roller coaster ride every time you take the cruze a spin on the highway.As it is cruze has monsterous power.With this i think it can pull a fully loaded Volvo bus and cruze easily!!
sagarpadaki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 12:32   #93
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,759
Thanked: 6,665 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

223 Bhp at the wheels would be about 250 bhp at the crank. How is a 100bhp increase possible with just a remap? Are there other mods too on that car?

I mean 100bhp from just a remap would be fine on like a Q7 V12 TDI but on a Cruze?

Either way, I doubt it will be too reliable since it would be running on its limits.

I hope I have to eat my words, since if it is reliable we have a good alternative to Petes which makes more power.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 12:49   #94
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,545
Thanked: 1,598 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Oh Dayyyuuummm !
Those numbers are insane, takes the family sedan into the supercar category.
That thing won't Cruze, it will take off.
kpzen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 16:44   #95
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 350 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Even i was shocked with the torque figures, Time to collect money to upgrade cruze VGT turbo and the clutch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
223 Bhp at the wheels would be about 250 bhp at the crank. How is a 100bhp increase possible with just a remap? Are there other mods too on that car?
Its just a remap, with a Remap lot of things are possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
I mean 100bhp from just a remap would be fine on like a Q7 V12 TDI but on a Cruze?

Either way, I doubt it will be too reliable since it would be running on its limits.
This is a conservative map, Cruze engine has much more tolerance level than what maps he has given is what the tuner says.

To check for the reliability issues let me complete around 20-30k kms in my car, Will write a review about it. These guys are so much confident with their remaps that they challenge to replace the car if you find engine problems with their remaps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
I hope I have to eat my words, since if it is reliable we have a good alternative to Petes which makes more power.
Even i hope so.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 22:35   #96
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ERNAKULAM
Posts: 947
Thanked: 317 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by brraj View Post
Even i was shocked with the torque figures
Its just a remap, with a Remap lot of things are possible.
This is a conservative map, Cruze engine has much more tolerance level than what maps he has given is what the tuner says.
I have the Cruze and I would take the tuners graphs with a pinch of salt.
Please ask the tuner to show a before and after graphs of any car and whether the values for torque match the manufacturers figures.
I think these figures are way over board. Get them to do a dyno of a stalk car before the remap and later just after the remap.
Irmscher the tuning house of GM does not approve of anything more than 466NM at 2300 rpm and 186 bhp at 4000 rpm.
Something is cooking!! Probably the clutch plate.
drpullockaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2010, 23:50   #97
BHPian
 
cogentr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: BLR/MAA
Posts: 55
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Insane Insane numbers those. if those are true, the cars internals are being pushed to the limits, such power on a FWD car can be disastrous, over 200nm increase in torque can kill the stock clutch in no time..
cogentr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2010, 02:35   #98
BHPian
 
Knight Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 267
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Awesome figures, Is this process reversible? how does it affect the warranty of the car? Also how does the internals take the punishment, Does the tuner have any test cars that has passed the torture test (if i may say)?
Knight Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2010, 03:37   #99
BHPian
 
blackbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 272
Thanked: 75 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

brraj,

what are you upto? you are talking about figures which i never even dreamt of. why change so many parameters if just a remap along with suspension,breaks and clutch to support it can bring out 225 bhp.I am obviously referring to the modification section. I do know these tuners exist on the board of team-bhp. It would be great if they pitch in.
blackbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2010, 07:55   #100
BHPian
 
Motoringlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 396
Thanked: 179 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

brraj - Thank you very much for sharing the news, Could you please share if the mods have affected city drivability, I am always been shy of a remap - simply from the after effects (presumably negative). Any comments on FE. Please advise.
Motoringlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2010, 11:02   #101
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 350 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by cogentr View Post
such power on a FWD car can be disastrous, over 200nm increase in torque can kill the stock clutch in no time..
The guy who drives the cruze is a maniac(most of the time in 190-220), If that was the case he would have ceased his clutch by now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider View Post
Awesome figures, Is this process reversible?
Yes, you can get back to stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider View Post
how does it affect the warranty of the car?
Any mods effects the warranty.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight Rider View Post
Does the tuner have any test cars that has passed the torture test (if i may say)?
Yes, You can call him and take testdrive for yourself and findout more.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbeast View Post
what are you upto?
Was just showing to what extent magnum can be modded to, thats it .

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbeast View Post
why change so many parameters if just a remap along with suspension,breaks and clutch to support it can bring out 225 bhp.
You mentioned all but missed VGT turbo for magnum to go to that level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbeast View Post
I do know these tuners exist on the board of team-bhp. It would be great if they pitch in.
Even i hope so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoringlover View Post
brraj - Thank you very much for sharing the news, Could you please share if the mods have affected city drivability,
I am always been shy of a remap - simply from the after effects (presumably negative).
City drivability should not be effected as the VGt turbo spools at 1800-4000rpm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoringlover View Post
Any comments on FE. Please advise.
City - 10.5
Highway - 8-9 again everything depends on you right foot.

Top speed - They did a meter down of 220kmph.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2010, 17:06   #102
Senior - BHPian
 
Invinsible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,257
Thanked: 60 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

It's quite possible to get some insane numbers however how safe it is for the engine internals, clutch kit, gearbox and stuff. If all the setting are kept at aggressive, I am not sure it's going to be safe for other bits on the long run.

If 550Nm of torque is at wheels that would equal to around 680NM+ torque at the crank. Now that coming off from a 2L 4 cylinder turbo diesel engine is doubtful, that's more than the 4.2L Audi engine.

I agree to other have said, a before and after graph will be more realistic to believe those figures.
Invinsible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2010, 20:18   #103
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 39
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

Mind blowing!! Am visiting TDI Racing next week. Peted Magnum is not enough!
kj302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 10:56   #104
BHPian
 
brraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 794
Thanked: 350 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

I have asked the tuner to reply for those "Reliability" questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kj302 View Post
Mind blowing!! Am visiting TDI Racing next week. Peted Magnum is not enough!
Which package are you going for? A remap or turbo upgrade.

Last edited by brraj : 31st December 2010 at 10:59.
brraj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2010, 13:09   #105
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default Re: Re-Mapped Optra Magnum TCDI. EDIT:Dyno Graph on Pg 4

So it's a remap for a turbo upgrade, correct?
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Honda City Vtec - RRP Dyno report - Graph included fieroid Modifications & Accessories 29 25th October 2012 16:49
My TURBO-Charged Swift Petrol! And a dyno graph too Sportsmind Modifications & Accessories 43 8th September 2011 02:40
Accord V6, mapped Linea, Fusion & Jetta on the dyno! UPDATE: Comparo on pg3 GTO Modifications & Accessories 69 14th January 2011 18:06
1st ever Dyno Graph of my Turbocharged Hybrid OHC (320+ WHP!) Ford Rocam Modifications & Accessories 316 15th November 2010 19:44
Modded Skoda RS Dyno Graph KS Motorsport Modifications & Accessories 30 21st October 2010 10:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:16.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks