Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th March 2011, 11:30   #4861
BHPian
 
sajjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 504
Thanked: 96 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

How many of you have heard of a 100W HID? Now it's available in the market and one of my friend had installed this on his heavily modded Fiero. And do you have any idea about how the 100W is extracted from a bike electrical? That’s another whacky mod, installed a M800 alternator on an extended crank shaft. One of its kind must say that.

Here are some pics:
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5552833176_c0b3056c5e_b.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5552833188_d3bc49e219_b.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5552833186_757925533c_b.jpg
Slightly OT but still its worth to see this:

Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5552255103_707b647ea2_b.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5568428857_f31b99a058_b.jpg
Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-5568428855_5d48cd9b94_b.jpg
sajjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 12:02   #4862
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 580
Thanked: 83 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

How much did the 100W HID kit cost? What optics is he using? Is it really belting out 100W? I guess the light output pictures are not doing justice to the real light output.

I've seen some uber powerful HID install videos on the web, but this is the first time I've seen anyone going above 50W HID in India and that too on a motorbike.






Last edited by Digital Vampire : 30th March 2011 at 12:04.
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 12:58   #4863
BHPian
 
sajjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 504
Thanked: 96 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
How much did the 100W HID kit cost? What optics is he using? Is it really belting out 100W? I guess the light output pictures are not doing justice to the real light output.

I've seen some uber powerful HID install videos on the web, but this is the first time I've seen anyone going above 50W HID in India and that too on a ....
He is using pulsar 220 head lamp assembly for the HID. No idea about the cost at the moment.

Yeah its not doing justice to the output of 100w HID.

Last edited by sajjt : 30th March 2011 at 13:02.
sajjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 23:25   #4864
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,750
Thanked: 1,481 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

i have a query.
Whats the difference between a 35W HID and a 55W.
is it the power rating of the bulb,or is it the Ballast's rating?
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 09:33   #4865
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 580
Thanked: 83 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
i have a query.
Whats the difference between a 35W HID and a 55W.
is it the power rating of the bulb,or is it the Ballast's rating?
Both!

**//20 Character Restriction//**
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 10:58   #4866
BHPian
 
sajjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cochin
Posts: 504
Thanked: 96 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Both!

**//20 Character Restriction//**
Exactly, you can't simply put a 40W ballast to a 28W fluracent tube, it will konk off without delay. its as simple as that. Higher rated HID capsule requires higher rated ballast too as the power requirements are totally different.

Last edited by sajjt : 31st March 2011 at 10:59.
sajjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2011, 11:08   #4867
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,750
Thanked: 1,481 Times
Default Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajjt View Post
Exactly, you can't simply put a 40W ballast to a 28W fluracent tube, it will konk off without delay. its as simple as that. Higher rated HID capsule requires higher rated ballast too as the power requirements are totally different.
And What,if i connect a 55W bulb to a 35W ballast.
it wont work at its full potential,right??????
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2011, 21:03   #4868
BHPian
 
Champion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai / Madraspattinam
Posts: 155
Thanked: 40 Times
Default Swift VDI Indicator woes!

Hi Fellas,

Eversince I got my Swift VDi back in the April of 2009, I have been this happy-go-lucky guy. The car's been wonderful and I have had both long and short drives which have been cool. But the problem started when the car touched 6k on the odo. The right indicator started malfunctioning. I mean it blinks quite oddly and it is creating a huge problem. I am not at all confident during turns because of this and I have complained to the M.A.S.S during all its later services up until 15k. The problem still persists. One of the reasons the M.A.S.S said was the remote locking system that I had installed. My remote locking system is from Minda and when I called these guys over to examine the car, the indicators worked just fine. Please help me out guys, I am in dire need to get this repaired even if I have to do without the remote locking system! But is that the culprit is what I would like to know.

Cherio
Champion
Champion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 13:28   #4869
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default Re: Swift VDI Indicator woes!

if you posted a video of the malfunctioning or described it better we will be able to help you better. i couldnt understand the problem, does it blink only when it wants to or, the speed is inconsistent or what is it?
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 13:53   #4870
BHPian
 
Champion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai / Madraspattinam
Posts: 155
Thanked: 40 Times
Default Re: Swift VDI Indicator woes!

The Indicator blinks haphazardly rider60. There is no rythm as such. I am in Dubai now and hence wouldn't be able to get you a video. I should have got in touch with the forum when I was in India itself. Hmmm. But the funny part is the left indicator works just fine.

My Swift would be taken for her 20k service sometime this month to Chennai. Shall I ask the M.A.S.S to remove the remote locking system if it helps?

???
Champion
Champion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 14:17   #4871
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 16,668
Thanked: 5,087 Times
Default

Yup the remote lock or wiring for the same is playing havoc. Remove the wiring and check first, then do a proper rewire.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 15:14   #4872
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default Re: Swift VDI Indicator woes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Champion View Post
The Indicator blinks haphazardly rider60. There is no rythm as such. I am in Dubai now and hence wouldn't be able to get you a video. I should have got in touch with the forum when I was in India itself. Hmmm. But the funny part is the left indicator works just fine.

My Swift would be taken for her 20k service sometime this month to Chennai. Shall I ask the M.A.S.S to remove the remote locking system if it helps?

???
Champion
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Yup the remote lock or wiring for the same is playing havoc. Remove the wiring and check first, then do a proper rewire.
if your remote lock is one of those models that comes with a built reverse horn when the reverse gear is engaged, (usually these model of remote locking system are wired to your indicators where all the indicators flash like when you engage the hazard switch/parking switch) then i think jaggu is right get your wiring rechecked and redone, make sure the sliced cut parts are properly patched. some times the installers instead of patching the reverse light wire to the reverse might have goofed up with you right indicator wires or something.

another thing you can do is get the minda guys to check it out first instead of some one (that is if its still under warranty) or a good car decors shop installer should be able to solve the problem in a jiffy.
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 15:26   #4873
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 564
Thanked: 41 Times
Default Re: Swift VDI Indicator woes!

Could be as simple as a bad connection on one of the bulbs or the wires leading to it.

If one bulb is gone/ not connected, the others will blink at a crazy fast rate.
CrackedHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 16:55   #4874
BHPian
 
Honda_Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 66
Thanked: 15 Times
Default Re: Need help for strobe lights in Bangalore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda_Power View Post
Hi All,

Hope you guys are doing great.
Where can i find rear flashing LED lights (strobe)
similar to F1 cars in Bangalore?

Any place where i can get it fitted?

Thanks,
Ayyappan

Hello TBhpians,

Happy Sunday.
Finally i could achieve the above requirement.

Thanks to the garage staff who serviced my car and also
helped me with the below from scratch.
They understood my requirement and got it done. While i
was busy with other stuffs.

As Noidaboy says, its simple. Need not be imported at all.
DIY done with led clusters that are available and a led flash controller.

@Naveen and Sportsmind: Thanks for your help guys.

@sportsmind: Did you get your version as well?


For sample preview, check the below link:




Cheers,
Ayyappan
Honda_Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2011, 17:12   #4875
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pune
Posts: 33
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Swift VDI Indicator woes!

Does the signaling circuit contain a relay which controls all these operations? can it be causing this trouble?
pratikraveesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Mobile Phone Thread - Queries, decisions, discussions all here ravi_28_8 Gadgets, Computers & Software 11182 3rd December 2016 17:34
Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me rjvora_2000 Indian Car Loans & Insurance 3713 2nd December 2016 19:09
The Royal Enfield Mechanics Thread: All mechanics requirements and queries here sreerajunnithan Motorbikes 416 8th October 2016 21:04
Formal dressing and tailoring for all occassions (EDIT: Put all your queries here) manaa45 Shifting gears 71 17th February 2016 10:05
The Guitar Thread - Post all Queries,tabs and info here TributE Shifting gears 77 15th June 2015 13:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks