Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th April 2009, 10:45   #616
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,950
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Which is the best brand when it comes to horn relays ? Bosch/Roots/others...

Please include prices also
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 13:05   #617
BHPian
 
Wolffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Motorcity Madras
Posts: 170
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
ooh no!! just the other day i said that my stebel nautilus is still going strong even after a year and half and goshhhhhhh , it went down today while returning from matheran.
I was using the Stebel Nautilus for the last 1 year without fuse or relay-simply connected it to the OE wiring-horn worked wonderful-everyday! 2 days ago,decided to install a switch between OE n Stebel and a relay-got it done.The "horn specialist" removed the Stebel to add oil in the compressor-he fiited it back and the sound has reduced drastically.He said once used for a day should work just fine-no it doesnt.
Went through the other thread on Stebel not working and will try cleaning as suggested today.
Wolffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 13:17   #618
BHPian
 
Wolffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Motorcity Madras
Posts: 170
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberpirate View Post
hey guys can you give me the contact no. of the dealers from GP road, who have this horn. i was thinking of installing one by the end of this week.
I have PMed you the details.
Wolffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 16:08   #619
BHPian
 
RJ555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 94
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberpirate View Post
hey guys can you give me the contact no. of the dealers from GP road, who have this horn. i was thinking of installing one by the end of this week.
cyber pirate--- u can get stebel in sriram accessory shop,victory automobiles, garuda agencies & few other shops deal with it. 1st 2 sahops are genuine as far i have experienced...
RJ555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 18:31   #620
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankitahuja View Post
"Because a relay is able to control an output circuit of higher power than the input circuit, it can be considered to be, in a broad sense, a form of an electrical amplifier".

Source: Relay - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Abhinav, a relay is necessary to protect the circuitry of the product, not only as for amplification (read neutralization) but in simpler terms, to regulate the flow of power/current to the horn, which in any case, can also be to protect high current passed to the horns (which can cause damage).

Hope this helps!
Ankit what i mean to say is that the horn circuit is completely isolated from the OEM wiring(seperate switch, wiring and fuse). And a battery can only supply the designated amperes of current which the battery is rated at. How can a relay extract more current from a battery, more than its rated current? I may be wrong or i need to study the working of relays.
And to check high current passed to the horns, ive already added a fuse.

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
The relay is used since the switch in the steering or your separate switch will not have the power handling capacity for the horns. (in amperes)
Please care to elaborate. Dont think this is a valid logic.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 18:55   #621
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2drive View Post

Please care to elaborate. Dont think this is a valid logic.
Try to read and understand the following link, if you can!
Relay - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 18:58   #622
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,779
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
Please care to elaborate. Dont think this is a valid logic.
I dont think it can be made any simpler than the way janitha put it.

the switch is merely a selector, as to which horn to use. when you press the pad on your steering to activate the stock horn, it completes the circuit and applies a voltage which causes X amperes to flow through the stock wiring onto the stock horn.

If you change the position of the switch, the voltage, instead of being applied to the stock horn, will be applied to the new horn. this horn will usually draw more current than the stock horn, but if more than X amperes of current are drawn through the stock switch and wiring, they will not last long.

so a relay is used. when the voltage is applied to the relay, the relay draws a very little amount of current to operate an internal switch which is connected directly via the fuse to the battery, so now instead of being limited by the X amperes or current the xtock switch and wiring can supply, you can draw a lot more current ( limited by the relay and the fuse)


you claim you have wired the horn directly to the battery. How do use the horn? by pressing this other switch, or by using the horn pad on the steering ? If you are using the steering to honk, there is no way you can wire up the horn to the battery without using a relay.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 19:05   #623
BHPian
 
RJ555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 94
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
Try to read and understand the following link, if you can!
Relay - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
useful reference...
but one thing i dont understand, inspite of fitting the relay as well as direct battery mains for my stebel nautilus horns the fuse gets blown nor sometimes it sans working as well as resume its duty...
RJ555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 20:28   #624
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post


you claim you have wired the horn directly to the battery. How do use the horn? by pressing this other switch, or by using the horn pad on the steering ? If you are using the steering to honk, there is no way you can wire up the horn to the battery without using a relay.
Sir, please read my previous posts carefully. I have clearly mentioned that i have installed a seperate switch and seperate wiring.

The switch is a push type switch installed in the dash and i have used finolex 4mmsq cable.
And i know that one cannot wire up Nautilius without a relay, if using the steering to honk. This was also mentioned in one of my previous posts.

From my previous post:
Quote:
No, i havent installed it. Actually i dont get why a relay is needed if we have seperate switch and seperate wiring from the battery with a fuse installed.
A relay can't amplify the battery's power. Hope you guys get what i mean.
On the other hand i agree relay is a must if you are installing the toggle switch between the OEM horn and the Nautilius where oem wiring comes into play. But if we have a seperate circuit (fuse protected) then what is the need of seperate relay?? Gurus please enlighten.

Last edited by live2drive : 27th April 2009 at 20:30.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 20:31   #625
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,779
Thanked: 1,210 Times
Default

ah. you never clarified what the switch was for. most people use a switch to toggle between the stock and aftermarket horns.

if you press the switch to honk, then you dont need a relay - which was what I mentioned in my earlier post as well. I guess its just a, "miscommunication"
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 20:34   #626
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
if you press the switch to honk, then you dont need a relay - which was what I mentioned in my earlier post as well.
Yes, that is what i wanted to confirm.

Quote:
I guess its just a, "miscommunication"
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 20:58   #627
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
Sir, please read my previous posts carefully. I have clearly mentioned that i have installed a seperate switch and seperate wiring.

The switch is a push type switch installed in the dash
and i have used finolex 4mmsq cable.
And i know that one cannot wire up Nautilius without a relay, if using the steering to honk. This was also mentioned in one of my previous posts.

From my previous post:
The question is whether the push switch is rated to carry the current required by the horns. Most probably not. And arcing due to heavy current will damage contacts of the switch. And it is for avoiding such a situation that relays are used.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 21:01   #628
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by janitha View Post
The question is whether the push switch is rated to carry the current required by the horns. Most probably not. And arcing due to heavy current will damage contacts of the switch. And it is for avoiding such a situation that relays are used.
The push switch which i have installed is rated to handle 50amperes of current. And it is a solidly built good quality switch. Not those third grade plastic stuff.
And ive been using the horn now for over a month, quite regularly. No issues with the switch so far.

Last edited by live2drive : 27th April 2009 at 21:04.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 21:12   #629
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kollam, Kerala
Posts: 368
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
The push switch which i have installed is rated to handle 50amperes of current. And it is a solidly built good quality switch. Not those third grade plastic stuff.
And ive been using the horn now for over a month, quite regularly. No issues with the switch so far.
If so, there should not be any problem I feel. Never thought 50A rated push switches were available.
janitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2009, 21:13   #630
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

The dudes at Honda threw away (into my trunk) the plastic shelled relay that came with the Nautilus. They used a solid metal 3inch wide one in it's place. It looks, feels, and sounds like the relays from old Ambys.

I dropped the bundled one on the floor and it came apart. Looked quite puny, to be honest.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Best & Safe location for Power Horns mithun Modifications & Accessories 4 30th July 2013 10:40
Yippie - reverse horns = illegal normally_crazy Shifting gears 68 9th May 2011 13:45
Steble Nautilus Horns sounds great! willy Modifications & Accessories 20 10th August 2006 13:03
Will the Air Horns last as longer as Electric Horns ? mithun Modifications & Accessories 4 15th June 2006 11:05
Stebel Nautilus air horns John Technical Stuff 3 11th April 2006 13:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks