Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th October 2011, 02:16   #1111
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Double Horn for Pajero

Hi all,
I bought a 2008 Pajero recently. The horn on this Pajero is not that great so I thought I would fit with an additional horn. So I went to reliance auto zone and selected A red Hella Horn.I asked the electrician at reliance autozone to fit this in my car.The person said it is not possible to fit an additional horn on a Pajero because cutting wires and putting an additional switch for controlling this horn will lead to problems later. He said the Pajero has sensors and this may lead to additional electric problems sometime or the later if we do that. Please advise me if we can or cannot fit an additional horn on a Pajero.
mansingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2011, 10:44   #1112
Senior - BHPian
 
Ricky_63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,837
Thanked: 353 Times
Default Re: Double Horn for Pajero

Just replace the OE horns with the new ones, why would that pose a problem. My Pajero has windtones connection is thru the OE horn wiring.

Obviously the electrician does not have any idea of the electrical system.

Try a standalone car electrician, it is a 15 minute job at worst.
Ricky_63 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2011, 00:38   #1113
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Double Horn for Pajero

what I meant is I want to keep the existing horn and add an additional horn to my Pajero. Is it possible?
mansingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2011, 09:57   #1114
BHPian
 
Safari_Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 282
Thanked: 195 Times
Default Re: Double Horn for Pajero

Horns come in pair , one is high tone and other one is low tone . When you press the horn , they will sound in sync . Buy a bosch or hella pair of horns and they will come for max 550 rupees . Also get a relay which will be needed for two horns . Just remove the old horn as it will not sound good with your new horn . Bosch , hells are sold in pairs , get that they are decent one and will sound great in your pajero . Get it fitted from independent car electrician as ricky63 recommended .

Quote:
Originally Posted by mansingh View Post
what I meant is I want to keep the existing horn and add an additional horn to my Pajero. Is it possible?
Safari_Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2011, 19:53   #1115
BHPian
 
Soccerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kochi
Posts: 591
Thanked: 54 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerfan View Post
I had replaced the Punto OE horns with Roots windtone 2 weeks back. We didnt use a relay to connect it. It was working fine till yesterday, but suddenly stopped working. I have given the car to TASC today for servicing and mentioned this. The SA now called up and said the fuse is getting blown off after replacing when they try to honk.
What could be the reason - Wiring or lack of relay?. Wiring looked fine to me that day. The fuse is of 15A. What can be the possible issue?
there was some issue with wiring. problem solved now
Soccerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 15:51   #1116
Senior - BHPian
 
Schoudhury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blore/Dallas-TX
Posts: 1,068
Thanked: 468 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Guys, i just replaced my stock horns with Hella windtone, and they sound really good.
Paid Rs 950 for it here in blore from Sachin's autoshop.
Did he charge me more for it? He told me that hella stuff are abit costly then other ones and he didnt have the ones from Roots.

Cheers
Schoudhury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 16:00   #1117
Senior - BHPian
 
ajay_satpute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 1,301 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoudhury View Post
Guys, i just replaced my stock horns with Hella windtone, and they sound really good.
Paid Rs 950 for it here in blore from Sachin's autoshop.
Did he charge me more for it? He told me that hella stuff are abit costly then other ones and he didnt have the ones from Roots.

Cheers
Yes, I think you were overcharged a bit. I got the same horn 2 weeks back for 700/- here in Pune.
ajay_satpute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 16:07   #1118
Senior - BHPian
 
Schoudhury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blore/Dallas-TX
Posts: 1,068
Thanked: 468 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajay_satpute View Post
Yes, I think you were overcharged a bit. I got the same horn 2 weeks back for 700/- here in Pune.
Ajay
The one that you got are from hella ?
He had other horns also from a brand named Minda ( if im not wrong ) and that was for Rs 650 .

Hmm, if you have got the same one from 700 , then i need to let him the know the same, i usaully get stuff from that store .
Schoudhury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 18:00   #1119
Senior - BHPian
 
ajay_satpute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 1,301 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoudhury View Post
Ajay
The one that you got are from hella ?
He had other horns also from a brand named Minda ( if im not wrong ) and that was for Rs 650 .

Hmm, if you have got the same one from 700 , then i need to let him the know the same, i usaully get stuff from that store .
Yes, I wanted Hella only and I got Hella.You can recheck with your dealer.
ajay_satpute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 00:22   #1120
Senior - BHPian
 
Shubz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,793
Thanked: 978 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoudhury View Post
Guys, i just replaced my stock horns with Hella windtone, and they sound really good.
Paid Rs 950 for it here in blore from Sachin's autoshop.
Did he charge me more for it? He told me that hella stuff are abit costly then other ones and he didnt have the ones from Roots.

Cheers
Autoshop is a bit on the expensive side but quality of job is excellent. You may have paid 100-150 more than the JC road price. May be you could check if you happen to be around JC road.
Shubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 00:25   #1121
Senior - BHPian
 
Shubz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,793
Thanked: 978 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerfan View Post
there was some issue with wiring. problem solved now
If it blows again - try going for a fuse of higher rating say 20A.

Mods - Sorry for the back to back posting. Please merge them if you wish to.
Shubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 10:44   #1122
Senior - BHPian
 
Schoudhury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blore/Dallas-TX
Posts: 1,068
Thanked: 468 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Autoshop is a bit on the expensive side but quality of job is excellent. You may have paid 100-150 more than the JC road price. May be you could check if you happen to be around JC road.
They had to take the front bumper off and then replace the horns,so they might have charged extra for that, not sure though need to confirm with them when i visit them next time.
Schoudhury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2011, 05:14   #1123
Senior - BHPian
 
blackfire_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: India
Posts: 1,075
Thanked: 186 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Had got another pair of Hella Windtone horns the previous week, however, it seems that the quality is really down these days as it has blown even when the usage is restricted.

Will speak to the retailer tomorrow & get a replacement.
blackfire_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2011, 12:19   #1124
Senior - BHPian
 
Schoudhury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blore/Dallas-TX
Posts: 1,068
Thanked: 468 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackfire_9 View Post
Had got another pair of Hella Windtone horns the previous week, however, it seems that the quality is really down these days as it has blown even when the usage is restricted.

Will speak to the retailer tomorrow & get a replacement.
How much did you get it for ?
The last pair lasted for many months.
Schoudhury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2011, 14:45   #1125
Senior - BHPian
 
amit_mechengg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,356
Thanked: 1,092 Times
Default re: Power Horns!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerfan View Post
there was some issue with wiring. problem solved now
what was the problem
amit_mechengg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Best & Safe location for Power Horns mithun Modifications & Accessories 4 30th July 2013 10:40
Yippie - reverse horns = illegal normally_crazy Shifting gears 68 9th May 2011 13:45
Steble Nautilus Horns sounds great! willy Modifications & Accessories 20 10th August 2006 13:03
Will the Air Horns last as longer as Electric Horns ? mithun Modifications & Accessories 4 15th June 2006 11:05
Stebel Nautilus air horns John Technical Stuff 3 11th April 2006 13:37


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks