Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes

Old 8th June 2011, 11:01   #1
BHPian

Question Restoration: PULSAR 180 - Classic - 2002 model

I am looking forward to restore my Pulsar 180, Classic, Mar 2002 model, the first generation.. total budget is under 10K. Please help me with your suggestions on that. I am getting back to biking after ages so kinda off-track at the moment

Something About bike and its condition
I have been owning the bike for last 9+ years.. and it was used extensively for first 2 years, and then I bought my car and the usage of the bike were kinda limited for another 2 years.. For last 4-5 years it has hardly been used and lying in the parking.. Though the bike was being serviced occasionally and used some times by a friend of mine, so even today the bike is in running condition, and I have used that for small 5-10 KM rides in the last week. I feel that the fun factor is lost, the gear shift is not smooth, and the bike has developed some vibrations as well... Also felt that engine is heating more than it used to be earlier...

What I intend to do
However, I plan to use this on more regular basis now for another 2 years and then switch to something else. Usage will still be limited (approx 200-300 KM a month max..) and it will be mostly used for short distances (5-10 KMs), but bike will not be neglected as it was for past few years ..
I am planning to give it its due and looking for some major work on this. The work that I am intend to do and seeking suggestions are following. The first 5 seems to be a must to bring the bike back to road in a safe manner..

1. Front disk brake : Due to the bike standing for long time, the disk brake lube has dried up.. so need to change that. I have been told by one of the mechanics that I need to change the whole assembly (excluding the disk) and not just refill the oil and it costs 1.5K+ to do this.
Approx budget: 1.5K
Brand: ??