Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes

Old 11th July 2011, 08:49   #1
BHPian

Default Dream comes home: Honda CBR 250R Std (Red)

“Mods: Feel free to merge this with other Baby Ceeber threads if you feel necessary”

Hi Folks,

Though we already have a few posts on this bike by now, I felt like penning down my unusual experience at procuring this dream machine.
Background: I have been an avid amateur biker since my teen days – having owned a CBZ and ZMA till 2007. My longest ride back then had been Chennai – Hyderabad (750kms approx) non-stop. Then came a time that I felt the need of graduating to a four wheeler, and as money was not in free flow – I had to give up my ZMA for downpayment of my SWIFT. A year passed by and I started feeling the need for a bike all over again.

Choosing the perfect Bike: I have always had a thing for full fairing bikes. Though I love cruisers and muscle bikes for the occasional rides, I always felt myself looking better on the fairing bikes. But being as choosy as I am in terms of looks, I just could not find the right fit in the models we had available in 2008. R15 came close initially, but the small height and puny tires were a turn off (Though I still prefer this bike to ride then my own Ceeber). FZ16 was something I liked purely for the size of the rear rubber, and Fazer was something I almost booked for its looks vis-ŕ-vis performance. But still I was 100% content with the 150cc machine, so was now confused between Fazer and Pulsar 220. Just about then, the CBR was seen doing newsmagazine rounds in late 2010 and voila – I found my dream bike. Perfect performance vs looks vs price.