Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th April 2006, 12:54   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default Engine remaping in bikes(AMI, DTSI etc)

I read about engine remapping in another section. Is this possible on indian bikes like the Ambitions or Pulsars which has AMI (Advanced Microproccessor Induction) and the DTSI?

Can anyone enlighten me on this and let me know who does this in Chennai? I have heard of Pete's for cars. Who does this on bikes??
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 19:43   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Smile

Well vipers box can be installed cant it? But i am wondering after installation wont it be over powerful it gives 20bhp and bikes are less then 20 atleast in India.
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 20:28   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default

Busa,

Can you tell me more about Vipers Box. Does this work like petes? Where can I source it and wats the approx price?
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 21:00   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,432
Thanked: 1,682 Times
Default

Vipers box is for MPFI cars. Indian bikes have carburettors.
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 21:46   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower
Vipers box is for MPFI cars. Indian bikes have carburettors.
I know this. Most Indian Bikes now have chips like AMI, DIFI LOGIC, DTSI. Can these chips or ECUs as they are called, be manipulated to increase performance. Thats my doubt.

Petes tuning box does this by basically sending wrong signals to the ECU to inject more fuel, hence giving better performance. I guess this work only with Fuel injection vechicles
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 22:34   #6
BHPian
 
buzzin_hornets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 233
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

vipers box is more to do with the map sensors than the ecu.. newayz i doubt it will work on an indian bike, yet pm viper n see what he has to say..

~cheers
-Ash
buzzin_hornets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 22:38   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
BUSA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,130
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

No i am so sorry its only going to work with FI bikes. Why dont you tune your bike for performance?
BUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2006, 23:49   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
mail4ajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,834
Thanked: 222 Times
Default

Yes Mr. Busa,

I thought so.

1. Do you have an idea on how to decrease the sound from free flow exhausts?

2. What is Cam profiling?

3. I am changing my CARB jets. Do I need to change both the jets ie main and slow or just one??

4. I plan to use the CBZ jets on my HH Ambition. What increase in BHP can I expect?
mail4ajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 21:17   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Hyd
Posts: 1,235
Thanked: 23 Times
Lightbulb HH Glamour FI

1. What about the HH Glamour FI, can it be remapped?? it has a FI and an ECU.

2. I also happen to read in one of the posts here, that for a vehicle with FI if KN filter is installed, the ECU takes care of sending in more fuel, so no need of up-jetting. Is it true for the Glamour FI?

P.S. Glamour produces only 9bhp. Thats too low for a 125cc engine and boasts of latest technology !!! (a 100 cc bajaj platina produce 8.2bhp, while a 125cc Bajaj discover dtsi produce 11bhp). How much increase in power possible with remapping for Glamour FI?
kkr2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 21:35   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,825
Thanked: 4,802 Times
Default

Quote:
2. I also happen to read in one of the posts here, that for a vehicle with FI if KN filter is installed, the ECU takes care of sending in more fuel, so no need of up-jetting. Is it true for the Glamour FI?
I dont think FI bikes have JETS ....no carbs, so no jets......
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2006, 21:44   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Hyd
Posts: 1,235
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikhilb2008 View Post
I dont think FI bikes have JETS ....no carbs, so no jets......
well, i meant no need of adjustments to be made to the FI
kkr2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2006, 02:09   #12
BHPian
 
fieroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 701
Thanked: 286 Times
Default

@mail4ajo - there is no engine management system for a carb set-up but yes u can use digitally operated CDI for ignition and thats what bikes like the fiero, amb, pulsie use.
For our indian bikes we can make use of better CDI's and ign system that can give higher spark strength and a higher rev limit. This will sure improve power in all ranges.
fieroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2006, 01:51   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,432
Thanked: 1,682 Times
Default

May be possble on the Glamour 125 Fi
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2006, 03:14   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Melbourne, Hyd
Posts: 1,235
Thanked: 23 Times
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
May be possble on the Glamour 125 Fi
well i am not looking for just a possibility type of answer. Instead i am looking for a more specific answer for my questions , may be from an expert.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
1. What about the HH Glamour FI, can it be remapped?? it has a FI and an ECU.

2. I also happen to read in one of the posts here, that for a vehicle with FI if KN filter is installed, the ECU takes care of sending in more fuel, so no need of up-jetting. Is it true for the Glamour FI?

3. Glamour produces only 9bhp. Thats too low for a 125cc engine and boasts of latest technology !!! (a 100 cc bajaj platina produce 8.2bhp, while a 125cc Bajaj discover dtsi produce 11bhp). How much increase in power possible with remapping for Glamour FI?
kkr2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2006, 20:40   #15
BHPian
 
garvit2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 241
Thanked: Once
Default

i dont know abt remappin the chips but the whole engine overhaul can be done. i read one at xbhp where a member has developed a 200cc apache
garvit2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D computer modelled cars, bikes etc (3DS, Maya etc) blueraven316 Shifting gears 103 23rd January 2015 13:23
ecu remaping HAFI Modifications & Accessories 16 11th March 2008 20:21
Anti honda?? Anti suzi?? Anti fiat?? Anti ford etc etc?? Vent out ur opinions here!!! mclaren1885 Shifting gears 3 29th June 2006 14:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:07.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks