Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes

Old 8th September 2012, 21:29   #1
BHPian

Default Picked Up a 1970 Jawa

Hi All,

I just picked up a 1970 Jawa. Bike was unused for some years. Still, came into life easily with minor carb & points tune-up. Please enlighten me further as im a newbie to Jawa/ Yezdi arena.

Petrol is leaking from the lower end nut side of the Carb. Is there a gasket to be put in? We tried to tighten the nut from outside. But it seems, we need to pluck out the carb again. We had done it once to clean it.

Bike seems to pull easily, but there is some strain to put 3rd & 4th gears. They are not engaging easily always. Something to do with the selector forks?

Compression is good. So is the spark strength.
Attached Thumbnails
Picked Up a 1970 Jawa-jawa.jpg  

Picked Up a 1970 Jawa-jawa-1.jpg  

aruncheloor is offline   (2) Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2012, 08:42   #2
BHPian

Default Re: Picked Up a 1970 Jawa

The lower end nut as you refer to it is actually the Main Jet capnut and there is no gasket/packing involved there. However on Jawa's it is quite common for these to have stripped or slipped threads. You will need to remove the carb and inspect the nut and either get a replacement [difficult] or do some copper brazing and get it re-threaded.
Difficulty in engaging 2nd and 3rd gear is more likely to be due to less or incorrect grade of oil in the gearbox rather than a problem with the shifter or G.S.forks.It may even be due to a poorly adjusted clutch.
Jawa's need SAE 50 oil for the gear box. Unfortunatly this is not available on the market today. PLEASE DO NOT use multigrade oil as this is NOT suitable for JAWA engines.An alternative I have come up with for use in my Jawa is to mix SAE 90 [gear oil] with SAE 40 in a 50/50 ratio. I have been using this combo for quite a few years with excellent results.
SAE 40 is available as Mac Gold 40
Collector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2012, 09:20   #3