Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes

Old 10th February 2013, 17:41   #1
BHPian

Unhappy Bought used bike, seller not giving NOC. Now what?

Hi Team BHP,

I'm very new to motorbiking and jumped into it headfirst.

I decided to take the plunge and buy an Enfield Thunderbird. I opted to buy a second-hand one so I could learn on it, rather than buying a brand new one and potentially wrecking it etc.

After seeking advice from several friends on how to go about buying a used bike, I scoured Quickr and OLX classifieds and found a really good deal. It was a 2008 TBTS that had only done 15K, was all-stock, and had been recently serviced, and I bought it for 55K.

Now comes the dumb part. I didn't know that the way to go about this was pay half first, and the second half once the NOC (no-objection certificate, for transferring registration onto my name) is in hand. Yes, I'm an idiot, but none of my friends informed me of this bit (their advice was limited to mechanical stuff, like how to tell the bike runs well, isn't a turd, etc).

So I paid in full, bought the bike, got it serviced, it runs fantastically, no problems what so ever mechanically, which is what I was most afraid of: getting an Enfield that would fall apart in months, or something. Friends of mine who are experienced Enfield riders tried out my bike and all said it's in great shape and I got a fantastic deal on it.

Unfortunately, the seller is dragging his feet on handing me the NOC. I do have the original RC, which is in his uncle's name. The bike has Haryana registration, I live in Delhi. All he has given me is an application form for an NOC, which is what he's supposed to give to the transport authority and then procure an NOC to hand over to me. I suppose I can use it as "proof" that I didn't steal the bike from him, but it's of no real use otherwise.