Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2006, 16:32   #1
BHPian

Newbie.. Help needed.

Hi All,

I am a newbie thinking of getting starting with bikes.
But I have no idea of where to start from.
I am male 22 years, 5'8'', medium built(60kg) and have no experience with bikes.
I also dont have anyone in my family nor friends where i can learn to ride.
So please tell me where to start from??
Should I first learn basic driving from somewhere(where???) and then buy a good bike(which one???) or should I first buy a light-bike(which one) and then learn on it?
I stay in South Delhi. So does anyone know any driving school here which can teach me to drive a bike?

One of my friends advised me to buy a Hero Honda Splendor and practice on it as it is a very light bike.
Some further guidance from you people here would be very appreciated...

Thanks a lot...
Old 14th August 2006, 10:07   #2
Tom
BHPian

buy a ungeared scooter first.
developing traffic sense is what is most important
Old 14th August 2006, 11:56   #3

I think buy an old RX - 100 first, its the lightest of the lot. You should get it for around 8k. Learn on it and ride it around for 3, 4months. Then you could go in for a new four stroke if you like. For a new rider like you and considering your age I suggest you go in for the TVS Apache as your second bike once you've learnt how to ride properly. It's youthful, vibrant, user-friendly, great looking and fun to ride around...

Last edited by BlowingInDaWind : 14th August 2006 at 11:59.
Old 14th August 2006, 15:36   #4
BHPian

hey dude
its good that u interested in bikes and stuff but at first u should be aware of the risks involved.
anyways i won't scare u anymore
but would like to point out one thing that start off with a ungeared scooter like activa or kinetic and then progress to a pulsar or an apache

drive safely
Old 14th August 2006, 15:55   #5
BHPian