Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th December 2006, 22:43   #1
BHPian
 
eagle_f1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 141
Thanked: 12 Times
Lightbulb 60/55w Bulb Holder 4 ZMA

Guys i wanna know if its possible to replace the stock bulb holder with a 60/55w Bulb Holder in KARIZMA. Please also let me know how much it'll cost.
eagle_f1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2006, 07:05   #2
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 100
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

There is nothing like a separate 55/60W holder. The current holder is of H4 type and you get upto 100/130W bulbs for the same holder.
Sks_Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2006, 16:36   #3
BHPian
 
motionfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Thane
Posts: 184
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

yes, my friend has changed Stock 35W Bulb to 60/55 W Philips vision plus..no wiring required.. Just exchange them...works like magic on dark roads..
motionfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 17:06   #4
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 544
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Hi,I want to change the bulbs on my ZMA, Will the 55/60 W be good enough for the ZMA or should i go in for 100 W ? If 55/60 W is gud any recommendation for Bulbs which i can choose and would be easy install? I know this is an old thread, but i shall wait for the reply since i plan to change my zma's bulbs soon.
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 18:43   #5
BHPian
 
ravi@64bhp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 602
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I am currently using Osram Silverstar 55/60w fitted in my stock holder. Has been running for the past month and it is absolutely fine. Lot better than the stock. One of my friends has been using this for the past 8 months without any problems.
ravi@64bhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 18:53   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

I ran my ZMA with 90\100 Philip rally vision for over two months(sold bike after that) & faced no issues
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 19:27   #7
BHPian
 
praJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 537
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
I ran my ZMA with 90\100 Philip rally vision for over two months(sold bike after that) & faced no issues

just one doubt was the 90/100 bulb placed on the stock coil or else you got the winding done, just curious..
praJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2007, 20:34   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,974
Thanked: 16,769 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
I ran my ZMA with 90\100 Philip rally vision for over two months(sold bike after that) & faced no issues
ZMA headlamps are powered by the battery right?

What about Pulsar? Any way i can use higher wattage bulbs in my P180 DTSi?
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2007, 02:03   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

well if there is no wiring required for zma for the higher wattage bulbs, then why is it that, we need coil rewinding in the bikes like unicorn, and the pulsars150,180, and hh cbz-xtreme?
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2007, 09:00   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,974
Thanked: 16,769 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
well if there is no wiring required for zma for the higher wattage bulbs, then why is it that, we need coil rewinding in the bikes like unicorn, and the pulsars150,180, and hh cbz-xtreme?
I am not entirely sure, but i think its because ZMA lamps are fed from the battery, and the rest are fed from the alternator!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2007, 17:29   #11
BHPian
 
praJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 537
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rider60 View Post
well if there is no wiring required for zma for the higher wattage bulbs, then why is it that, we need coil rewinding in the bikes like unicorn, and the pulsars150,180, and hh cbz-xtreme?
Mr Rider the 60/55w bulb is adirect fit on cbz ex and new genaration pulsar(dont know about the old gen though) .
praJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2007, 17:05   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
straight6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bombay
Posts: 2,343
Thanked: 112 Times
Default

So then is it possible to fit an hid kit to these bikes since they are 35 watts?
straight6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2007, 23:15   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
rider60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bhagyanagaram. (A.K.A. Hyderabad)
Posts: 1,619
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by praJEEP View Post
Mr Rider the 60/55w bulb is adirect fit on cbz ex and new genaration pulsar(dont know about the old gen though) .

well they fit in the holders, i agree but are fed from the alternators i guess, i mean in unicorn, xtreme and the pulsars, so the brightness is compromised with the 60/55w bulbs, i have no idea about the zma!

i think one will need coil rewinding to get the kind of brightness, i want to know how far is it feasible to put in a higher wattage bulb in these 150 and 180cc bikes with out coil rewinding, and is the coil rewinding all that necessary to get that kind of brightness?
rider60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2007, 10:49   #14
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 544
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Guys , can i just mount on 55/60 W on my Zma without any changes ? Or do i need to get a cutout or something?
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2007, 11:41   #15
BHPian
 
praJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 537
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redrage View Post
Guys , can i just mount on 55/60 W on my Zma without any changes ? Or do i need to get a cutout or something?

Cut outer is required if you are fixing a bigger size twin horns, it has nothing to do with the lighting. Just go ahead and fix it, make sure the bulb is H4 but there will be a slight improvement in your beam quality not much..
praJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Philips Xtreme H4 60/55W headlamps - price subhashnm Modifications & Accessories 114 21st February 2017 10:37
what is the difference between OLD ZMA and NEW ZMA R ? deepclutch Motorbikes 18 7th November 2008 11:42
Cancelled RTR Fi booking going for ZMA EDIT: ZMA now Bought Sankar Motorbikes 118 7th September 2008 16:42
For Sale - Philips Crystal Vision 55W H1 (15 min. used) ashthedivx Shifting gears 2 27th December 2007 15:03
philips blue vision h4 bulbs 65/55w dadudeonfire Shifting gears 5 31st October 2005 18:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:03.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks