Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2005, 14:05   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinsanity
Okie.. So a K&N which KPhilip is going to put on his 180 wont be a problem later in the performance!!!!!!

guys,

there seems to be a confusion.the free flow that i am talking about is the exhaust.
and you seem to be referring to the K&n filter as the free flow.

from when did it a free flow :confused
:
and u can safely fit a k&n in your bikes


satya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2005, 14:10   #32
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

@rtech :hehe thats koolsun who upgraded his bike from 150 to 180.. I have a 180 DTSi

See the whole point is if u increase ur STOCK air flow then u must also increase the STOCK fuel flow which can be done by making the mixture rich but it will have limitation of the jet size.. also my bike is designed to run on 112.5 jet but urs is designed to run on 115.. u'l have to get the jets bored to bigger or scout for a bigger one.

I'll give my exp wid the freel flow air filter.. when i put it, my mid range improved noticeably but what i also noticed was that my top end was coming slower than before, reason??? simple the amnt of air goin in was much more than the fuel, so aftre putting a bigger jet the top end comes very smoothely & faster than before.. hope this clears..

lemme know if more explaination is needed
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2005, 14:49   #33
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Guess i got all wrong there!!!!!!!
I referred to it as free flow air filter!!

Last edited by vinsanity : 3rd February 2005 at 15:02.
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2005, 19:11   #34
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

guys i've ordered for one,i'll get it on monday..will tell u the details once i install it ...
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2005, 19:21   #35
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Even I went along with kp to cheack out about the K&N!!
The shop owner's City 1.6 was parked outside.. It has K&N on it.. It's a show pieace for Alpine audio.. The car is as hot a car i'v ever seen.. Simply superb.. WE told him about tbhp and asked him to join...... heheheee...
The black city was looking fantastic..Good tubeless radials, DVD player, sub, amp..
The seat cover, steering wheel, pedals were all having a touch of red to it... Interiors were too good...
We'l try to post some pics...
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2005, 22:01   #36
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat
@rtech :hehe thats koolsun who upgraded his bike from 150 to 180.. I have a 180 DTSi

See the whole point is if u increase ur STOCK air flow then u must also increase the STOCK fuel flow which can be done by making the mixture rich but it will have limitation of the jet size.. also my bike is designed to run on 112.5 jet but urs is designed to run on 115.. u'l have to get the jets bored to bigger or scout for a bigger one.
oop's! I guess I was mistaken about your bike

Anyways, it's not always a given that changing your air filter for a free flowing one would need a jet change as well. Just depends on the type of filter as well as the maximum flow allowed by that jet.

The amount of fuel used is also restricted by the pressure difference caused by the air passing through the venturi. The greater the difference, the more fuel is sucked out. Now, with a stock (restrictive) air filter, the amount of air allowed through might not be enough to use the jet to its maximum. In this case, switching to a less restrictive filter would allow (maybe) the ideal amount of air through to use the jet to its fullest. In this case, no added benefit would be had by upsizing the jets.

This is what is probably happening with your bike, as you said your midrange has improved, but not your top end. The reason is, at lower revvs and lower speed, the free flow filter is taking in the correct amount of air, but your jet simply can't cope with the volume of air at higher rpm's.

Like i said, trial and error would be the only way, but if you know someone who has done this, please fill me in on what his conclusions were.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2005, 10:54   #37
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

I agree with u & thats what i mentioned, aftre putting a bigger jet the top end was faster too.. i cud have done that wid playing wid the stock one also but u need a guy awho knows his job but since i didn't i consulted a few & they suggested me to get the easly available classic 180's jet... so voila!! no jetting & i got the desired result i may even get better results when i find a gud mech
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2005, 13:37   #38
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

guys, today i'll get my bike with k&n installed..Hoping to have better performance!
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 09:19   #39
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

after a long wait.. i've installed the k&n kit ..man awesome, power and response.. i got to check the mileage too.. The guy who had changed the filter know, he owns a harley.. he had come for the bangalore drag race..He owns a fully modded jeep too..his name is kuttan...hope everyone who had come for the drag would have noticed the harley, its 1200 cc..
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 09:46   #40
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

hey,
Even i rode the pulsar, freakin good pickup. dint test top speed though... Gotto try it on roads with lesser traffic, tough to find one here... But the power has definetly increased..
Sound has changed considerably, box removed, rejetted.. Got to get the bike washed and find a place to put on the K&N sticker.. Any idea guys?!!
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 13:09   #41
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

be careful to see that the filter does not get wet when you are washing the bike.
also keep the stock filter as you can use it during the rains if water gets splashed on to it.
cheers,
satya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 13:42   #42
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

So there is a problem with the filter with no box?!!

Last edited by vinsanity : 9th February 2005 at 13:45.
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 13:43   #43
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

satya,thank u for the information..is it better to put inside the airbox if there is problem with the water.??
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 13:43   #44
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Hey but aint it washable??!!
The stock filter and box is still with him..
cheers,
RiCKY
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2005, 15:10   #45
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

:WTF: it is washable.but it doesnt mean u wash it with water.its got a special oil with which it can be washed n cleaned.
it is not affected if water splashes on it,but then its better to be careful.
u also get a cover called pre-filter which is put on the filter to protect from rain and it costs the same as a the filter.but ,i dunno if its available here in india.
so to be safe ,replace with the stock one during rains if water tends to get inside.


satya
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks