Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st January 2005, 16:27   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default KN&N

hi guys,

i have a pulsar 180, i would like to install a KNN kit.Rite now am in cochin.. Where will i get this kit??.. how much will it cost???will it change the sound and power of the engine??I have no idea where to go for this.. can any one help me on this... how much will it decrease the fuel consumption??
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 16:58   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

it will cost you around 2k rs.u can get it from Methods Automotive.
knfilters@methodsonline.com

read this
http://www.overdrive.co.in/art_dtls....atures&code=62
see the closest distributor of k&n.

it will help your drivability and the pick up.
maybe your air screw setting will have to be altered.


cheers,
satya


PS:its k&n and not KN&N

Last edited by speedsatya : 31st January 2005 at 17:02.
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 17:18   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

hey thanx satya,any idea of anydealers near cochin???anyway thanx a lot for ur information
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 17:27   #4
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

It will change the sound of the bike i.e. will sound more grunty also the midrange will improve, tho u may lose a little on the mileage but not much.. also u need to re-jet ur bike otherwise just puting the filter only will not be of much help & will not give the actual results.

p.s. btw its K&N

Last edited by Technocrat : 31st January 2005 at 17:29.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 17:42   #5
BHPian
 
vinsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Patna
Posts: 610
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

My cousin in Bangalore got it on his 180 dtsi.. I took a for a ride.. Din't like the sound though.. Touched 100 on 4th gear, road was bad so dint try to get it higher..

Doubt if anyone here in cochin has one on their bike..
vinsanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 17:45   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat
It will change the sound of the bike i.e. will sound more grunty also the midrange will improve, tho u may lose a little on the mileage but not much.. also u need to re-jet ur bike otherwise just puting the filter only will not be of much help & will not give the actual results.

p.s. btw its K&N

dont know about re jetting,but setting the air fuel mixture to rich should help you.
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 17:53   #7
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat
It will change the sound of the bike i.e. will sound more grunty also the midrange will improve, tho u may lose a little on the mileage but not much.. also u need to re-jet ur bike otherwise just puting the filter only will not be of much help & will not give the actual results.

p.s. btw its K&N

what do u mean by rejetting, techno??so poor knowledge in the technical stuffs, thats y!!
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 18:02   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

see when u put a free flow filter like K&N the amount of air which goes in, increases but ur jet is still providing the same amnt of fuel as it was before, so in effect now ur carb is getting more air than before & less fuel w.r.t. air, so u need to adjust the jet in order to utilise this extra air input, from my exp( not K&N but othe free flow ai filter on my P180DTSi) only the filter will improve ur mid ranbge but ur top end now will come slower than before & afre puttina bigger jet the top now comes easily but its still not been jetted properly which i am not able to do coz of unavailability of time :(

neways hope i made some sense if u have more doubts just lemme know
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 18:11   #9
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

nice tips techno, ya will let u know if i have any trouble fitting the kit.. any way waas ur real name??
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2005, 18:29   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

my name is Kedar

btw here's my stats aftre the filter & jet change
1st Gear: dont remember :(
2nd Gear:65kph
3rd Gear: 100Kph
4th Gear: 112 Kph
5th Gear: 125 Kph

All are speedo indicated
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2005, 10:36   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cochin
Posts: 334
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

man, thats excellent!!i meant the speeds!! i dont think cochin have that much experts to install the kit!! maybe coimbatore have some.. lemme enquire..
kphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2005, 10:41   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
speedsatya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: bangalore/manga
Posts: 3,161
Thanked: 706 Times
Default

hey kp,
u dont need any expert to install them.and for the carb part ,u have to change the air screw setting to slightly rich to compensate for the increased air flow.any mechanicshoild be able to do it.
speedsatya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2005, 11:34   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

yeah speedy is right it aint that tough as its sounds..
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2005, 11:43   #14
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 212 Times
Default

Hey techno,

what jets are you using? Or are you just running with the screw set to a slightly rich mixture, if so, how many turns?
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2005, 12:21   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,900
Thanked: 2,492 Times
Default

am running on slightly bigger jets which came wid classic Pulsar 180, size is 115 (stock for 180 DTSi was 112.5)
have not made the mixture much rich, it still returns me a mileage of 39-40
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:59.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks