Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes

Old 14th September 2009, 23:57   #1
BHPian

Default Picked up a 2005 RE Thunderbird

Hello guys,
I just picked up a 2005 RE Thunderbird [Dual colour-Black/Silver]after selling off my 1990 RX100 as my daily ride. Paid 45k. The bike has done around 30k kms and the black paint has faded a bit with some minor rust on the bend pipe. The bike had undergone an engine overhaul some 2 weeks ago. And he also told me that the crank bearings doesnt last long on Thunderbirds. Is it true? Does the AVL Engine needs constsnt attention? It was making a lot of noise when i took the test drive last week. Hmm. but the owner boy who is a friend of my younger brother told me that he hasnt adjusted the tappets after the overhauling. Well, im not an expert on 4-strokes. And today, the bike was delivered to me after some minor servicing and adjustments. Well, the sound is there but it is milder now. Still, a very annoying one for me. What could be wrong? Please tell how can i get rid of that sound? Oh! forgot to tell. The engine heats like an anvil. Is it regular with RE AVLs?

The rear tyre has worn out. What are the better rear tyre options for my Thunderbird? I mean broader ones. What about MRF Meteor 110/90/19 ? How does it perform on usual roads? I drive on city roads only. And Kerala has long, wet, rainy season. So, please advice

Will post the pics tomorrow. Thanks

Last edited by aruncheloor : 14th September 2009 at 23:59.
aruncheloor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2009, 00:08   #2
BHPian

congrats on your purchase. Any Royal Enfield Does make the mechanical clatter. If the sound of the tapets ( if you are sure its from tapets ) is too loud, you can get my fixed, by telling the mechanic about that sound. But there will be a constant sound from tapets ( at minimum level ) & you cannot change that. Rest Bull gurus here will tell.
shan2129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2009, 02:27   #3
BHPian