Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > Motorbikes


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th September 2010, 19:09   #1
BHPian
 
CoNrOd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 38
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Cruize control for a bike (v 2.0)

Thought I'd share my new design version of a cruise control system i've fitted on my bike. heres the link.

CoNrOd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2010, 19:29   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,694
Thanked: 2,115 Times
Default

@Conrod - This is a good effort, but I wouldn't term it as a real cruise control. If I'm not wrong, what you're doing here is locking the throttle at a certain position so that the power remains the same right?

On a cruise control the speed is maintained instead of controlling the accelerator. What happens is that the ECU remembers what speed the vehicle should be maintaining & adjusts the intake manifold, gears & brakes (if necessary) accordingly.

Typically the difference between the first & second para can be understood when the vehicle runs on slopes. Hope you got what I mean.

The effort is definitely appreciated & will definitely help to rest hands when touring.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2010, 19:36   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

I use this CrampBuster - The Original Motorcycle Cruise Control

BTW ,did you DIY that ? .Do you have a pics with switch opened .Good mod . .

Last edited by black12rr : 19th September 2010 at 19:38.
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2010, 23:04   #4
BHPian
 
CoNrOd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 38
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

@ aargee: you are right, and I stand technically corrected. It is primarily just a throttle lock. But thats about the closest you can get to cruise control on indian bikes for many reasons, the most prominent being the lack of an ECU (although mine has one) and the absence of an automatic gearbox.
This is the second design version, the first being a choke lever modified to jam in-between the twist-grip and the switch console. I had fitted that to my gladiator but that was way too simple and could eventually spoil the twist grip. I am attaching a photo (you'll have to look real close to spot it).

@black12rr: yes, its a DIY mod. pretty simple actually, just a ratchet mechanism. I mainly use this on my long distance trips...
Attached Images
 

Last edited by CoNrOd : 19th September 2010 at 23:06.
CoNrOd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2010, 08:51   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
aargee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KATN
Posts: 4,694
Thanked: 2,115 Times
Default

@Black12rr - I've a crampbuster with me & have been using it. Its a good one, but riding in city is really painful with it & touring without it is painful. However you see, fixing it & taking it out from the throttle grip is another headache too.

Personally I prefer this throttle lock, which is convenient.

@Conrod - Some info on it is highly appreciated. Would like to carry the same on Rx.
aargee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good shop for bike on rent and 2nd hand bike in mumbai moto.medi Motorbikes 9 16th September 2013 00:51
A Device that can control all my gadgets / Universal Remote Control a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 24th August 2011 11:10
Rode my Dream bike: The LWR bike, BMW R1150GS BunnyPunia Superbikes & Imports 11 28th September 2007 09:37
Which bike? Need to change discover with lighter bike pingme Motorbikes 9 8th September 2006 17:39


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:47.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks