|
| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #121 | ||
| BHPian Join Date: May 2007 Location: DELHI
| Quote:
Do you see the notch on the fuel cover? ![]() Thats where you would need to insert your finger, flick the lid , Put your key in and unlock the Fuel cover. Just like you do it in a bike. I assume all this so that Dacia could save up on the cost of running a cable & the paraphernalia that goes with that release. and OT, but have you seen the size of that release??? Quote:
The Duster isn't tested , but the same Agency gives the BMW X3 a 4 star as well. Good , no? Last edited by GTO : 23rd July 2012 at 17:49. Reason: Merging both your posts. | ||
| | (1)
|
| | #122 |
| BHPian Join Date: Oct 2011 Location: bangalore
| GTO, do you have the list of such items that Renault has introduced in production vehicles? I wonder if speed sensitive door locks are one of them? I definitely think the door lock button position could have been fixed and moved to the right side. |
| | |
| | #123 |
| BHPian Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Delhi
| As always a solid review GTO, wish our "leading" car magazines & shows would take a leaf out of the BHP book. I was at the showroom to see the Duster the day it launched & had a mixed response to it. While the front end looks partially butch, i feel its been set a wee bit too low. The Duster looks the best when viewed from the rear quarter, highlighting the nice lines & curves. The seating position for me is too low for a SUV ( keeping in mind i drive a Scorpio), almost sedan like. in a city like Delhi where i live i need that extra height, allows me a good view & keeps sedans at bay ![]() Agree on the switch qualities, for a car that will cost me over 11lakhs on road they really should give the premium feel, which is badly lacking. My 2.6 CRDE Scorpio lacks Airbags & ABS since its the base model and i badly want these in my next SUV; hence i have to opt for the diesel with the extra pack. My main question/concern is i drive a 2.6 litre scorpio which has enough power & torque to power on the highways & hills, no problems there. Prior to this i had a Tempo trax Judo, again no issues with power. If i was to go in for the 85 or 110 bhp Duster, will i feel that dearth of power? in the hills of j&k and himachal will i consistently be between 1st & 2nd gear? will an i10 overtake me on my usual drives on NH1 ![]() would love to hear everyone's thoughts on these concerns. Im looking to upgrade soon and my choices are severely limited. XUV the logical choice i dont like its too soft & overdone on the design, Yeti too expensive, Thar (which i love) has bad handling & yes i cant drive sedans any more else i would have locked down the new Cruze by now. Cheers Kundan |
| | (1)
|
| | #124 |
| BHPian Join Date: Feb 2007 Location: Bangalore
| My dealer is now giving me a delivery date of a week within 16th August,last week they had previously mentioned a week within 23rd July. |
| | |
| | #125 | |||||||
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
Certainly feels like a robust SUV. Plus, it's got proven underpinnings. This engine is an acknowledged long-termer as well. Quote:
I have no doubt in my mind that Maruti & Hyundai mini-SUVs are coming our way. And if their recent products are anything to go by (Maruti quality has greatly improved, Hyundai is the best in class), we can safely expect i20-like interiors & equipment on a compact SUV. Nope, production version doesn't have auto-locking doors. It might take them only 5 minutes to activate it via the ECU though. Quote:
| |||||||
| | (3)
|
| | #126 | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
Most of us in India tend to think in terms of that extra 1 lac. But I do believe that it is better to spend it and be safe rather than sorry. | |
| | (2)
|
| | #127 |
| BHPian Join Date: Oct 2011 Location: bangalore
| |
| | |
| | #128 |
| BHPian Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: Bangalore
| As per their Website, Renault has just 3 showrooms in the whole of Bangalore. Maruti has 4 in Bannerghatta Road! Of the 3 Renault showrooms, only ONE is a service center! Source here: Renault Cars dealer in India, Renault Cars dealer, Renault Cars dealer Services. They urgently need to increase the number of service centers (if not sales centers), especially after launching a potential volume seller like Duster. While spur-of-the-moment excitement may get them good numbers initially, bad word of mouth over a period of time due to poor A.S.S would ruin their brand perception and future prospects in India. Last edited by veyron_head : 23rd July 2012 at 19:43. |
| | |
| | #129 | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Quote:
This is the classic case of which came first, the cart or the horse or the chicken or the egg. I do believe they have a decent plan and they are working towards it. How long did it take Ford or Hyundai to create their networks? In the year 1999 one thought twice before buying a Hyundai and in 1997 one thought twice before buying a Ford on account of this very reason! Everyone requires time to establish and I believe Renault will get the job done since with the Duster, they appear to be very serious about this market. Of course M&M and Tata cannot be compared with Renault in this aspect because they have simply been around forever in some form or other in India and have had the time to go to far flung places, as has Maruti. Last edited by shankar.balan : 23rd July 2012 at 19:53. | |
| | |
| | #130 | |
| BHPian | Quote:
However, with a 10000 km / 1yr service interval, the number of visits would be lesser. And by that time (a year before first real service @ 10 K, a 2 K free service was mentioned), {and with another sedan up their sleeve}, Renault is bound to get the act together. | |
| | |
| | #131 |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2009 Location: Bangalore
| Called up Palace Renault and they told that deliveries of Duster will start on 27th July and also asked them about additional service centre and they confirmed that currently one more Showroom-cum-Service Centre is under construction at Mysore Road but the executive was not sure about the location on Mysore Road. On Sunday I visited this showroom and one of the executive told me that they have already received approx. 170+ Dusters in their stockyeard for deliveries that will commence from 27th. I look forward to first hand report from the person who will be getting first Duster in Bangalore. |
| | (1)
|
| | #132 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Mumbai
| Fantastically detailed review! Thanks GTO for all the painstaking effort and attention to detail. I liked the dog-like aggressive stance of the vehicle. The size comparison shot with Scorpio shows that the size is decent (So its not just a big hatch with big tyres like Rio). The 4 year standard warranty is comforting and hints at Renault's confidence in the vehicle's reliability. The interiors are a complete let down and problems with ergonomics are not going to go down well with the customers. At the same time, this new category and segment of compact SUVs is such a breath of fresh air that the Duster would sell well. |
| | (1)
|
| | #133 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Oct 2004 Location: !!!!
| Great review .....must rank as the most comprehensive one to date. Your attention to detail is commendable! The Duster comes across as a "head" vehicle rather than a "heart" vehicle. Pretty competent but doesnt stir the emotive quotient. However, for a vast majority of the car buying public, it ticks all the right boxes and hence has the makings of a winner. |
| | (1)
|
| | #134 |
| BHPian Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Gurgaon
| Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum. Please read our rules before proceeding any further. Last edited by GTO : 23rd July 2012 at 22:32. |
| | |
| | #135 |
| BHPian Join Date: May 2012 Location: Bengaluru
| Nice and crisp review GTO!! Completely agree with you, the Duster does not look like a bulged hatch. The interiors is not great but that is when you compare to c2 sedans. But it miles ahead when compared to Scorps/Safari which for me are its direct competetion. I believe even though the Duster is compact length wise, provided that it is wider than Scorpio, one might not be able to zip like a sedan/hatch. Couple of questions ![]() 1.When i checked Duster i saw greasing done in couple of places(seat underneath rails,door leavers etc). Did the test drive cars had the same? Does this mean the car would be a RATTLE master in long run? 2.Provided that 85PS are 110PS are essentially same engine, will there be a difference in Service/maintenance cost? 3.What makes Duster a Full 2 lac costlier compared to Sunny? considering the 85PS RXL(o) Duster, the similar spec'd Sunny(XL). Is it just because cost of manufacturing SUV is higher? |
| | (1)
|
![]() |