|
| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| | #946 |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Deutschland
| KMT, for that you will have to modify / fabricate the exhaust pipes starting from the outlet end, move it slightly up and then spruce it up with a good fabricated rock slider. ![]() Spike PS- If you don't need the stock muffler (I do not recommend this) you can plan something like this:- ![]() Pics courtesy- Cobus, S.A. Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 20th February 2011 at 13:26. Reason: add clearer info |
| | |
| | #947 | |||||
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
The exhaust pipe of the car would be changed from the headers on. There is not enough place as of now when you lift it as the can hits against the chassis and gives you a clanking sound when you drive her. Quote:
The center pillar can be reduced by cutting it down to the windscreen level that is about 2". There is a hard board inbetween the canvas top directly above the front seats for insulation and keeping the heat off. take that into consideration also. If you are a tall person the side pillars do obstruct in veiw. Cutting down the top to give her a wrangler feel will cost you body warrenty. Do talk to your dealership before doing anything to the car. | |||||
| | |
| | #948 | ||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: May 2006 Location: Greater Chennai
| Quote:
![]() Quote:
I would like some clarity on the SUSPENSION WARRANTY. What if the vehicle gets affected by some OFFROAD and the IFS needs attention? DOES IT COME UNDER WARRANTY? I have asked this question many times and have NOT got an answer ![]() | ||
| | |
| | #949 | |||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Deutschland
| Quote:
. For the record, I have not recommended even changing to oversize tires.Spike PS- I have inculcated this habit from my boss who says "Always pre-empt things before the opposition (saamnewalah) reacts; also keep your backup plan , contingency plan ready" ![]() | |||
| | |
| | #950 |
| BHPian Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Chennai
| @ Speedy - have you been able to get the Thar registered? Also when is it going in for the mods? And folks in Chennai definitely seem to be children of a lesser God. If the bookings have been stopped because of extra demand, then the chances for a early launch here looks even more remote. |
| | |
| | #951 | |||
, true bro. The issue is people miss some parts and keep in mind only what is planned by them forgetting the warning. After things go sour your neck is on the line for recommending so a contingency plan has to be in order.Quote:
If you wanted the car you should have booked it in advance, this was bound to happen. I am sure there would be test vehicles incase you are looking for a test drive. If you want it as a daily drive with basic offroading involved, then this car is perfect. The down side is the mis aligned steering, that is livable and the squeks, that get annoying after a point. | |||
| | |
| | #952 |
| Senior - BHPian | Does THAR MDI come with power steering? Is thar launched in chennai? Has anyone got TD of it |
| | |
| | #953 | |
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Karamattom, Aluva, Kotagiri, Yercaud, Hospet, Indore, Nashik, Pune (now)
| Quote:
Speedy, what kind of squeaks are you hearing? I thought this was pretty much silent without any squeaks. Last edited by pjbiju : 20th February 2011 at 22:01. | |
| | |
| | #954 |
| BHPian Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Oak Park, IL
| I have gone through the entire Mahindra Thar Test Drive & Review thread here. Most opinions in the thread spew venom on the Mahindra Thar. Such a super-biased opinion coming from serious motorists like my fellow-BHPians only personifies the attitude of a little kid who did not get the candy he wanted. I know there are short comings with the vehicle but does it deserve such a blasting? Friends, simmer down. What is the issue? Were all of you ready with your check books just waiting to jump the que to book the Thar? Or is it that you guys thought, at long last, M&M is coming out with a 'Jeep' that you could use without first having to spend umpteen hours in a fabricating/mechanic shop and then when the vehicle was unveiled, it fell way short of your expectations and then all of you felt as if BD Sir & his team had somehow 'cheated' you all by delivering such a sub-par product. Then I read a thread (that many of you vindicated), that the Thar will be targetted by 30 somethings in the midst of a mid-life crises and those trying to project a macho image on the road. This really broke my heart. Guys, come on. Do you think that anybody who buys a Thar is obligated to be a hardcore off-roader? Do the self-professed Indian off-roaders have the only divine right to buy vehicles like the Thar? Are they the macho kinds? Or is it a simmering inferiority complex that is behind such a thought? Is the love for a 'Jeep' directly proportional to being a macho, off-roading, hairy chested butch guy? If you guys think so, then I am sorry, it is skewed thinking. What about the guys buying 2+crore rupee sedans? Do you think there is any prudence to that idea other than that someone who has a lot of money to spare? I have never come upon a thread on any forum regarding any topic that oozes so much hatred for something. It seems that a HT and an AC on the Thar would have made sure that such negative thoughts were not eschewed by my fellow BHP-ians. I agree too, but then if a company wants to sell a product that most internet users feel is sub-standard, then what can we do other than NOT BUY the product? So, I feel, enough Thar-bashing has been done on this forum. If you like it, buy it and ENJOY IT. If you don't like it, wait for some time for the upgraded variant to be launched (fingers crossed) and then buy it and then ENJOY IT! If you really don't like it/want, please ignore this thread. It is quite laborious to go through so many posts just to come to the same conclusion that one comes to after reading the first few. Thar owners, enjoy. Would be Thar owners drool. Thar haters cool it. Thar 'let down', wait for the coming months, I am sure BD Sir is listening!! Or is he? Last edited by Janjua : 20th February 2011 at 22:33. |
| | |
| | #955 | |
The Thar is just like any of the older jeeps. The same body squeks you get in a 540,550 or the older jeeps. The engine, suspension and the dash board are very silent. @Janjua i agree with you here. This is the Second jeep that i have owned and technically my first. The RCL now with Gogi bhai used to be mine before. So for me being used to cars with alot more luxury and offroading with a Fortuner that would fit in 2 Thars in the price factor range, I still can live with the Thar. If i was to use it everyday even though i had never driven a jeep before this, i like it. Put in an AC and this in its current form can be used everyday with no sweat. So if someone like me can think of living with it, the people who have owned older jeep and those who still do would love the Thar for normal use. Last edited by speedy : 20th February 2011 at 22:48. | |
| | |
| | #956 |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | I am not an off-roader. But using the brakes to slow down a vehicles crawl speed does not appear as a good way to do it. For one, you are gonna be heating it up and that will cause brake fail. Plus if you have water/ slush conditions then this approach will not work. |
| | |
| | #957 |
| BHPian Join Date: Apr 2008 Location: Bangalore
| Thanks for the responses to my queries - Speedy and Vinod. Speedy - Did you already install the AC in your Thar, for the quote that you had got for 25K. Btw the pic looks great. Cheers! |
| | |
| | #958 | |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | Quote:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-v...mm540-4wd.html | |
| | |
| | #959 |
| BHPian Join Date: May 2009 Location: Coimbatore
| ^ Agree wholeheartedly to the above comment by Samurai. I think Janjua needs to read the other threads and see how a lot of serious Jeepers and off-roaders were taken for a ride. BTW, if you are pleased with the Thar, the way it is now, please go ahead and buy it. No one's stopping you. |
| | |
| | #960 |
| BHPian Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: Coorg
| Samurai- very aptly put! Januja- I think 'passion' is the appropriate term not hate /venom etc. The way the concept was first introduced, everyones expectations were high. Whilst what has been delivered is better than the Jeeps of yore in many respects, it is still a bit of lost opportunity. We can fix some of the things (like old Amby days) by taking the new vehicle to the wksp and stripping down, however there are things that can be done only at the manufacturers end. I think most people here actually want the Thar to succeed (& evolve). Personally I look forward to ongoing updates from Thar users like Speedy & Jeepcaptain for their views/mods on the vehicle in the real world. |
| | |
![]() |