| |
| LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | |
| Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Mumbai
| Austin Nippy, Ulster TT, Standard Swallow, I know of none around. There a couple of Boat tailed cars, and there were Swallow bodied cars in India, in Bombay and Kolkata as I have pictures, though I am not aware of survivors. Maybe one can create a Nippy. Or you have found one ![]() Cheers harit |
| |
| | ||
| Senior - BHPian | Quote:
Actually I would be quite interested in a well made Ulster replica just for the experience. | |
| |
| | ||
| Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Abu Dhabi (for now)
| Quote:
But seriously if one has seen an Ulster or even a Nippy in person then you can surely tell a home grown variant. ! | |
| |
| | ||
In fact someone on the forum as promised to build me one in the near future.I am myself looking for a Austin 7 chassis to build a replica Ulster. | |
| |
| | ||
| Quote:
| |
| |
| | |
| Team-BHP Support ![]() | While I don't know what exactly makes a Nippy or an Ulster, here is a boat tail Austin 7 from a large collection that attended an event in Pune in 1993. I do not know if this was a locally built car or original, but either ways it looks very cool! ![]() ![]() |
| |
| | |
| BHPian | Well, Here is the story, after inputs from members on the forum about Nippy in India, I had become very sceptical about finding an original nippy in India, so started some inquiries and some detective work, apparently the car in question is built on baby seven, was sold by some Mr. saleem from Rampur to Mr. Kamal Khan of Bareilly, many members might be aware that Mr. Kamal Khan restored many cars and developed a few roadsters. After recieveing this information we pressed the owner for picture , but he still refused, and told us that the car carries an 'ULSTER' plate and the same is mentioned in the car's RC. what is surprising is that the car turned into an Ulster from A Nippy in a matter of minutes, people be aware as this car is in New Delhi and is not an original Nippy/Ulster or a Boattail. @ karlosdeville, many thanks for the superb picture, was this car at any time owned by Mr. Zaheer Vakil ? This is how a Nippy would look, the sceond image is that of an Ulster Last edited by KartikeyaL : 3rd July 2012 at 11:27. Reason: adding pictures |
| |
| | |
| BHPian Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Ann Arbor
| I just remembered a similar discussion before. TBHP Unidentified Cars Post # 299: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post2710513 (Unidentified Vintage and Classic cars in India) ![]() |
| |
| | ||
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Over to the experts. Cheers KPS | |
| |
| | |
| I recollect a discussion abiut this faux Nippy moving from Hyderabad to Bangalore sometime last yeare here on one of the threads. The car is a 'hybrid" using Austin 7 Wheels a DKW Twin Engine and a fabricated body made by the late Babu Bhai or old city Jeep replica fame ! It started life as a DKW but the original body fell apart long ago and this experimental was created Last edited by wasif : 9th July 2012 at 09:55. |
| | (1)
|
| |