Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 9th May 2013, 14:44   #1
BHPian

Default Planning Bhubaneswar to Shirdi

Hi,

We (Me and wife) are planning our first ever road trip, from Bhubaneswar to Shirdi during May end/June first week. I am a newbie driver and this is the first time on a long distance trip, so, prefer driving day time. Our Vento Tdi is barely 2 months old (nearing 2k on odo).

Planning the Route:

Bhubaneswar-Sambalpur-Raipur-Bhilai-Nagpur-Amravati-Aurangabad-Shirdi

Day 1: Bhubaneswar - Sambalpur - Bhilai (604 km). Planning a night halt in Bhilai or Raipur. Please suggest decent/clean hotels.

Day 2: Bhilai - Amravati ( 412 km): I will be starting a touch late from Bhilai (meet), covering Aurangabad is probably difficult (another 300 km), so planning a night halt in Amravati. If I can push, I will go till Aurangabad. Any better options apart from Amravati for night halt ?

Day 3: Amravati - Shirdi (428 km).

While returning, planning a night halt at Nagpur and Sambalpur.

1. I have gone through Sommos thread on Bhilai to Puri (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...d-holiday.html (A drive to the Sea : Bhilai to Puri for a splendid holiday)).

2. I have also checked (http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-...ong-drive.html (A Guide on Essentials of a Long Drive))

3. Please suggest possible night halts and places for short breaks / restaurants / petrol pumps.

4. Please update on the road conditions, esp. Bhilai to Shirdi route.

5. Another question, what is the cut-off time in the evening for driving, in this entire route (from safety point of view, naxals etc..?). Since, this is the first time on a long drive, I prefer to take less risky options and be conservative.

6. Any other general suggestions / inputs are most welcome.

Thanks and Regards.
stringbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2013, 19:27   #2
Senior - BHPian

Default Re: Planning Bhubaneswar to Shirdi

Hi