Go Back   Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 13th August 2010, 14:38   #1

Default Mumbai to Kochi round trip : Advice needed

Need some expert advice.. I am planning a solo road trip from Mumbai to Ernakulam (Kerala) in Nov 2010.
My rough itinery is :

Day 1 : Mumbai - Hubli via NH4 , then NH 63 / NH 17 upto Mangalore. I am hoping to start from Mumbai at 5 Am and reach Mangalore by 7-8 PM. Take a night halt at Mangalore

Day 2 : Mangalore - Ernakumal via NH17, start at 5 AM and reach Ernakulam by 2 PM.

Is this do-able, considering the speed limitations on NH 17 ? . I am a long haul driver and have done Mumbai Bangalore (1000 kms) in a single day (17 hrs including breaks), so I am hoping my calculations are right
Any advice or alternate routes would be appreciated. I am on a tight schedule so the fastest route is my preference. I am driving my Santro Xing is King!

Thanks ,
- Umesh
Umesh D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 16:07   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

There is a thread on travelogue session by someone ( a Safari owner) who did this route. Please search ( sorry that I forgot his name, starts with D )
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 16:18   #3
Senior - BHPian

IMO,going via Blore would be a faster option than going via Mangalore,as the NH-4-NH7-NH47 combo would be a fast drive & is 4laned at many places and would be in far better conditions than NH17.

Moreover,once you enter Kerala on nH17,you would encounter heavy traffic and would slow you down.

Distance-wise I dont think its a major difference.
ranjitp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2010, 16:40   #4
Senior - BHPian