Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Sedans

Old 24th July 2008, 23:47   #1
BHPian

Smile Need help to buy my First car!

Hello fellow t-bhpians,
I am all poised to buy my first car. I work as a trainee engr in cochin right now, so as far as the initial purchase price
or the subsequent maintenance cost goes, i will be on a tight leash!

* Cars short listed: maruti zen, maruti esteem
* Price range:0.7 to 1.5lac
* Maintenance & After Sales Service (A.S.S.) expectations: The car should be minimum maintenance and easy on the pocket,this is of highest priority.
* Average distance traveled per month: It wont be much, say 500kms, as i have a bike for usual commuting.
* Where car will be mostly used (city / highway / rough roads etc): city use will be predominant and maybe an occasional 70km drive to my hometown.
* Chauffer driven / self driven: self driven and please note, i am a learner driver!
* Whether the vehicle will be shared by other members of family: No
* Any specific requirements from car (ex. Better luggage space, responsive engine, rear seat comfort): Any automobile for me has to have decent performance,
else i wont be able to live with it. I have the esteem in the cross hairs because it is more powerful and has a boot. Else i have always been in love with the Zen.
* How long you intend on keeping this car (and how important resale is to you): 2 years mostly.
bmw_m5_titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2008, 00:48   #2
Senior - BHPian

Well i would advice the maruti esteem if you can get one easily
Check for its service record and all the history associated with it.
The car has a nice performance, decent average and doesnt cost you much on the pocket too.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2008, 00:54   #3
BHPian

^ +1 for esteem . I have owned it before and its quite a good car. Its a bit low but then zen and maruti are low too.
cediaowner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th July 2008, 07:05   #4
BHPian