Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Sedans

Closed Thread

Old 22nd March 2005, 19:18   #1
BHPian

Question Petrol Vs Diesel

Hi Guys,

I've just joined the forum - in fact just a few hours back. I have browsed through many discussions here and still I'm starting this age old discussion all over again.

I have Indica V2 - 2001. Have driven it for about 55k now. Gives me FE of 14.5~15 in Mumbai with AC on half the time (that is on way to office - way back is late nights so no AC reqd). On Pune trips I have been getting 17+ regularly.

In terms of maintenance, the car hasn't troubled me a lot but I have been sending the car for service every 3-4 months or 5000 Km. There has been not one incident where the car has troubled me on road. The only issue is the quality i.e. switches, locks, wipers etc etc that keep on failing time and again. Even if they don't stop the car from running, it's a big irritation.

I'm now looking at upgrading to a bigger or rather better car in range upto 7L total. I really don't need a car bigger than Indica as it just serves my purpose but there are not much options.

The first question is should I go for Petrol or Diesel and why.

Next question is which car ? - My choices are Indigo LX or Baleno LXi in Diesel or Petrol respectively.

Looking for all suggestions. I'm likely to decide as soon as Indigo Euro III is announced.

Regards

Umesh
Old 22nd March 2005, 19:25   #2
bhp
BHPian

i think the baleno would be absolutely fine if u are looking for some power and a deep pocket compared to ur indica and if u are satisfied with ur tata indica then there is nothing better than indigo in that price range
happy shopping !!
Old 22nd March 2005, 19:30   #3
BHPian

If a Diesel car, go for the Accent CRDi.. Just luv the car.. Guess many feel the same.. The engine too rocks big time...
Old 22nd March 2005, 19:40   #4
bhp
BHPian