Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Sedans

Old 12th April 2009, 14:16   #1
BHPian

Default Help Me Choose a Diesel Car

I have been driving a Maruti 800 for the last 12 years and it is time to get something better. In the last 12 years, my car has done about 60000 km and that comes to about 425 km a month. Staying inside the campuses, where home and office are co-located, the daily running was limited.

Now I am re-located to Delhi, where the distance between the home and office will be more. This fact, coupled with the need to drop the kids to their schools will mean that monthly running will be about 800 km a month or more. Hence the diesel. (There is another reason, which i will cover later).

We are a family of four (with two daughters, who keep fighting for space on the rear seat. Can't blame them - 800 was really tight on space). My mother will be occasionally traveling with us, therefore the car should be able to seat five comfortably.

I have shortlisted following four cars in increasing order of their Ex-showroom prices:-
a. Indica Vista TDI
b. Indigo CS LS TDI
c. Indica Vista Quadrajet
d. Ford Ikon TDCI

Did not consider Swift because its rear seat is alleged to be cramped and Dzire diesel has a waiting period of eight months. And Palio's sales are nothing to write home about.

Taking Indica Vista TDI Aqua as base, the incremental cost of other cars will be :-
a. Indigo CS LS +36,000/-
b. Indica Vista Aqua Quadrajet +46,000/-
c. Indica Vista Aura Quadrajet +70,000/-
d. Ford Ikon Diesel +1,07,000/-

The car will primarily be used in Delhi for next 3 - 4 years with an occasional trip of 4-500km, max once in two months.

Going through various posts on TBHP, i am worried about the following issues about these cars:-