Go Back   Team-BHP > BHP India > What Car? > Sedans

Old 16th November 2009, 15:48   #1
BHPian

Default Tata Manza - Petrol or Diesel?

Pardon this, but iam a complete newbie to both tbhp and world of 4-wheelers.
Iam considering the TATA Manza Saffire version. But I have heard MJD will be a better ride; and i don't mind spending the extra lakh to own an MJD vehicle. Is Manza diesel a good option purely for engine excellence even if the monthly running does not warrant a diesel car?

Manza Petrol is most sensible for me since the likely running will be max 800 to 900 km/month. Is it worth switching over to Manza Diesel? I know my running is low; also, I have the following concerns regarding the QJD engine.:
1. Diesel maintenance - I have tried searching this forum for various threads on this topic. Most of them seem out-dated (no QJD-specific threads). I know maintaining older diesel engines were a painful affair. Will QJD be any better. I realise QJD is a more modern engine. Seniors/experts, pls clarify with personal experiences, if any.
2. NVH levels - Deal breaker for me :( I have read thru various reviews that NVH on QJD Vista and Manza are top class with the occupants not realising its a diesel under the bonnet. But what about the exterior noise? I don't want to wake up my neighbours everytime i start the car!! I say this due to a recent experience. A Hyundai i20 CRDI cab (yes, i20 cab! - i pinched myself and reconfirmed) recently came to my office complex and i was shocked by the amount of noise the car was making at idle. It was super new and what ugly kat-kat! It was no different from a much-abused Indica. And i20 is supposed to be a "modern" car! I just don't want to drive in to a relatives house and they mistaking a truck has come instead.