Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2014, 10:32   #61
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,924
Thanked: 1,912 Times
Red face re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Couldnt not totally access the Forum for the past two days. Same error message of database as seen by others. Was cursing myself of not able to view the forum at a time when the auto expo reports were pouring in. Even today morning it behaved erratically but for the past hour its smooth. Hope it remains the same. I had even dropped a mail to the admin team yesterday using the contact options on the home page.
ghodlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 10:36   #62
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Guys, things should be running smoothly now!

Huge apologies for the erratic server behavior over the last several hours.

cya
R


@ swiftnfurious - Please use http:// for now.

Last edited by Rehaan : 7th February 2014 at 10:39.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 11:14   #63
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 4,585
Thanked: 4,289 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

The database error message page also had an interesting email id for the "contact them" link - a hotmail id , is that a valid one ?
NPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 11:30   #64
BHPian
 
Divya Sharan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bangalore, BKSC
Posts: 332
Thanked: 510 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPV View Post
The database error message page also had an interesting email id for the "contact them" link - a hotmail id , is that a valid one ?
Yes. All hotmail IDs are ported to outlook, hence the old ID should be valid. Mine is!
Divya Sharan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 11:36   #65
NPV
Distinguished - BHPian
 
NPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Namma Bengaluru
Posts: 4,585
Thanked: 4,289 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Divya Sharan View Post
Yes. All hotmail IDs are ported to outlook, hence the old ID should be valid. Mine is!
Ha Ha, I know that. The id itself was interesting (not because it was hotmail!).
Just posted to find out if that was indeed intentional and a valid email id since it wasn't named anything like how normal site/admin email id's would be

Last edited by NPV : 7th February 2014 at 11:39.
NPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 14:40   #66
Distinguished - BHPian
 
swiftnfurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 6,423
Thanked: 6,347 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
...
@ swiftnfurious - Please use http:// for now.
Oops!! http NOT working in office - blocked! Hope the issue will be resolved soon!
swiftnfurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 18:55   #67
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftnfurious View Post
Oops!! http NOT working in office - blocked! Hope the issue will be resolved soon!
https is working at your office but http is not?

That sounds like a block your office sysadmin has put in place!

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2014, 14:59   #68
Distinguished - BHPian
 
swiftnfurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 6,423
Thanked: 6,347 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
https is working at your office but http is not?

That sounds like a block your office sysadmin has put in place!

cya
R
We do have a firewall for certain sites and team-bhp comes under personal vehicles.

I can access & see the content in httpS, but images don't load. It was previously loading well (even in httpS), so am kinda confused what is different with team-bhp now.
swiftnfurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2014, 13:26   #69
BHPian
 
mahesh_sn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 172
Thanked: 144 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Guys, things should be running smoothly now!

Huge apologies for the erratic server behavior over the last several hours.

cya
R
Ever since this problem was reported by members here, I had a new problem cropping up when accessing T-BHP. My opera browser now does not display majority of images posted by members on any thread. In place of an image, there is this message "Click image for larger version.....".

Another new problem is whenever I click on a particular thread, a pop-up window opens up with a long message as below

"Could not connect to remote server
You tried to access the address https://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?app_id=106794169377106&channel=https%3A%2 F%2Fs-static.ak.facebook.com%2Fconnect%2Fxd_arbiter.php% 3Fversion%3D40%23cb%3Df1a4fff96cd142%26domain%3Dww w.team-bhp.com"

Needless to say that Facebook is blocked in my office. This pop-up vanishes after a minute or so. Both these issues surfaced after the problem quoted above. Any help on this?
mahesh_sn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2014, 16:56   #70
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorqMaster View Post
Also, Pasting an image of google search.
Thanks for pointing this out! It's been fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftnfurious View Post
I can access & see the content in httpS, but images don't load. It was previously loading well (even in httpS), so am kinda confused what is different with team-bhp now.
I really don't know what would have changed to suddenly make this happen for you! Can't think of anything.

If you're using Chrome - when visiting a page in httpS where images aren't loading, click the silver shield icon that is seen on the extreme right of your address bar. See what the options are & if you can figure it out from there, or share a screenshot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahesh_sn View Post
Ever since this problem was reported by members here, I had a new problem cropping up when accessing T-BHP. My opera browser now does not display majority of images posted by members on any thread.
Sounds very strange. Are you sure your Opera didn't automatically update to a slightly newer version?

Could you attach a screenshot of the "Click image for larger version..." message.

Thanks,
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2014, 17:42   #71
BHPian
 
mahesh_sn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 172
Thanked: 144 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post

Sounds very strange. Are you sure your Opera didn't automatically update to a slightly newer version?

Could you attach a screenshot of the "Click image for larger version..." message.

Thanks,
R
I am not sure whether Opera has automatically updated itself. My current version is 12.16. Let me Google if any earlier version is available which can solve this problem. Forgot to mention that i also face another problem same as Swiftnfurious' which you quoted in the post above.
Meanwhile here is the screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images-issue-images.jpg  

mahesh_sn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2014, 17:58   #72
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahesh_sn View Post
I am not sure whether Opera has automatically updated itself. My current version is 12.16. Let me Google if any earlier version is available which can solve this problem. Forgot to mention that i also face another problem same as Swiftnfurious' which you quoted in the post above.
Meanwhile here is the screenshot
Okay, this sounds like you need to allow opera to show 'unsecure' content (http:// images) on secure (httpS) pages.

Either find a way to allow this exception for just Team-BHP, or see if there is a universal setting.

Sorry buy I'm a bit short on time at the moment, else would have looked myself.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2016, 11:30   #73
BHPian
 
PapaBravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: KOL-DEL-LKO
Posts: 376
Thanked: 1,166 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

There seems to be some problem with the images since morning. Not able to see any images in any of the threads. Upon clicking on the image link this message opens
Attached Thumbnails
Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images-error.jpg  

PapaBravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 19:00   #74
BHPian
 
gmhossain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kalyani, WB
Posts: 247
Thanked: 960 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Okay, this sounds like you need to allow opera to show 'unsecure' content (http:// images) on secure (httpS) pages.

Either find a way to allow this exception for just Team-BHP, or see if there is a universal setting.
Hello Rehaan,

Sorry for digging out an old thread. I am facing some strange issues for last couple of days while reading Team-BHP website. I have tried Chrome/Firefox in Ubuntu/Android/Windows7 in multiple devices (Laptop/Tablet/Phone) and all these combinations seem to have the same problem as follows:

(1) Frontpage "http://www.team-bhp.com" does not open but "httpS://www.team-bhp.com" does open.

(2) "http://www.team-bhp.com/news" does not open but "http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/" does open (both are http)

(3) User uploaded images are not loading (in Travelogue section) in http mode. Even using https mode, those images do not load as the images are again linked using http. However, if I force https also for images (using HTTPS Everywhere browser plugin) then everything works!

We are behind firewall/proxy server but I am not aware of any recent changes in their configurations. So I would request you to see whether there has been any recent changes in Team-BHP website. Or if you have any pointer for possible issues at the user end?

Secondly, is it possible to link the images in Team-BHP website using https if one is browsing Team-BHP website exclusively via https mode? Most browsers would complain if there are http contents in a page which is being read in https mode.

Thanks,
Golam

Last edited by gmhossain : 31st January 2016 at 19:03. Reason: Capitalization corrected!
gmhossain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 18:56   #75
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default re: Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images

Hi gmhossain,

Thanks for pointing this out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
We are behind firewall/proxy server but I am not aware of any recent changes in their configurations. So I would request you to see whether there has been any recent changes in Team-BHP website.
There have been some changes on our end of things in the last few days, which does help explain some of your points -- but not all!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
I have tried Chrome/Firefox in Ubuntu/Android/Windows7 in multiple devices (Laptop/Tablet/Phone) and all these combinations seem to have the same problem as follows:
I'm guessing you're trying them all on the same network / internet connection?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
...(1) Frontpage "http://www.team-bhp.com" does not open but "httpS://www.team-bhp.com" does open.
+
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
(2) "http://www.team-bhp.com/news" does not open but "http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/" does open (both are http)
I can't think of a corresponding reason for why this might have happened.

If you're online anytime soon, PM me and we could test something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
(3) User uploaded images are not loading (in Travelogue section) in http mode.
I'm guessing your network / firewall setup has some issues with the caching we've just enabled for forum attachments. (Initially it was only in the travelogue section, now it's site-wide).

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmhossain View Post
Secondly, is it possible to link the images in Team-BHP website using https if one is browsing Team-BHP website exclusively via https mode?
Absolutely, we will be doing this and making the site fully httpS soon!

-R

Last edited by Rehaan : 2nd February 2016 at 19:03.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP Cover pages for Facebook! *Download HERE* Rehaan Announcements 92 6th September 2014 13:35
Not able to post in used car buy & sale dhall_gagan Introduce yourself 1 29th May 2006 16:42
Help - Not able to post large paragraphs on TBHP! jat Shifting gears 6 4th May 2006 17:24
How does not being able to see the bonnet affect your driving style? sbasak Technical Stuff 15 20th April 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks