Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears

Old 31st January 2006, 13:18   #1
BHPian

Default Buying an electric guitar

Hi people...if there is any similar (I did search) or this thread should be somewhere else (gadgets?) sorry in advance.

As the title says, I am looking at buying a electric guitar.
I already have a Gibtone acoustic (quite beat up) and my skill level is not that great. I am not exactly a novice but I am no expert in the art of shredding.
I would like to be a better player though and I feel its important having good equipment which makes you enjoy the learning experience. Having always been a huge rock music fan, playing the guitar (that too electric!) has always been a kind of a dream.

So suggestions on how to go about buying one and where (if possible)
I hope there are a few people on here who know this stuff :-)

Budget is max 15k.
I need a decent instrument in that as well as a amplifier and a distortion/effects pedal to go with it.
Will all this fit in my paltry budget or no?

Also how good are the beginner kits from Yamaha/Behringer which are cheap (150$) available on Amazon.com They include a basic guitar, small player amp, picks, belt and case.

Hoping to get some responses !
Thanks.

Last edited by Abhay : 31st January 2006 at 13:21.
Abhay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2006, 16:05   #2
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abhay
Hi people...if there is any similar (I did search) or this thread should be somewhere else (gadgets?) sorry in advance.

As the title says, I am looking at buying a electric guitar.

Budget is max 15k.
I need a decent instrument in that as well as a amplifier and a distortion/effects pedal to go with it.
Will all this fit in my paltry budget or no?

Also how good are the beginner kits from Yamaha/Behringer which are cheap (150$) available on Amazon.com They include a basic guitar, small player amp, picks, belt and case.Thanks.