Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th February 2013, 13:13   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Interesting stuff guys...

Quote:
Originally Posted by anekho View Post
Very cool indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullock-Car View Post
Among the conventional system, typically require all wires to centralised distribution wires or in HAI systems from switchbox a cat 5 cable to controller.
Yeah! This is the biggest pain for people who aren't starting off with a new house!

Luckily for me i think i will be able to pull a set of relay control wires (am using a cat5 cable) from my main switchbox to another location where the arduino controller will be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullock-Car View Post
Though I consider this year will be an watershed with ZIgbee and zwave devices and low cost controllers making headlines
i.e http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/...art-home/posts
Wow... for $99 that is a cool one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullock-Car View Post
Finally I am thinking i will go for conventional electrical wiring and provide for some extra space for these modules,may be after 1 year, to integrate lighting with Control from phone.
Definitely a good idea.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2013, 13:47   #17
BHPian
 
dgupta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 69
Thanked: 64 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Definitely a good idea.

cya
R
Rehaan, did you consider the Raspberry Pi instead of Arduino ? From what I read in general on the net, RPi has a cost advantage over Arduino, of course depending on the exact project objective and hardware requirement.

I just got hold of a RPi board over the weekend and I was thinking of embarking on a home automation project. Don't know much about it as of now, still in the research phase. Here are a few links I found.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Rasp...6/Install-App/

http://www.recantha.co.uk/blog/?p=1517
dgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2013, 19:10   #18
BHPian
 
Sprucegoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 38 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Guys,
Won't the simplest way be to use a powerline to ethernet adapter to control an ethernet controlled relay?

Powerline to Ethernet Adapter:
http://www.newegg.com/Powerline-Netw...ategory/ID-294

Ethernet Controlled Relay:
http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/a...y_Modules.html

That way:
1> Where ever you have electrical wiring you automatically have the control wiring as well
2> If each relay module can be communicated with individually then just plonk in both of these into a switchboard, wire it up and your hardware will be ready to use.
Sprucegoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2013, 10:03   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 501
Thanked: 333 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

nice thread , just came across this website, its a Bangalore based company .

http://www.silvanlabs.com/

How far are these things effective ? Is it affordable ?
girimajiananth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 00:41   #20
BHPian
 
Rosso Corsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOM - ATL
Posts: 538
Thanked: 460 Times
Default

Anyone tried getting a Raspberry Pi shipped directly to India? Any hassles?
Rosso Corsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 01:36   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paradise (wish it was)
Posts: 310
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosso Corsa View Post
Anyone tried getting a Raspberry Pi shipped directly to India? Any hassles?
Try this site? http://www.crazypi.com/index.php?rou...&product_id=57 Prices are quoted in INR & looks promising.

PS: I am not associated with them. came across this link in another forum earlier today.
null is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 15:53   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgupta View Post
Rehaan, did you consider the Raspberry Pi instead of Arduino ?
Sorry just saw your post!

I did NOT consider the Raspberry Pi, simply because i didn't think i needed the additional advantages it provides, i'm familiar with arduino, and i have no idea about programming a R-Pi (and didn't want to spend more time learning instead of executing the project).

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgupta View Post
Don't know much about it as of now, still in the research phase.
Check out these SOLID STATE relay boards. I bought the 4-ch one. Its working well.

Amazon link (see the reviews etc here)

Buy from here, they ship to India: Sainsmart Site


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprucegoose View Post
Won't the simplest way be to use a powerline to ethernet adapter to control an ethernet controlled relay?
Perhaps, though i've never tried one of these. There might be other problems with it : range? interference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosso Corsa View Post
Anyone tried getting a Raspberry Pi shipped directly to India? Any hassles?
Forget getting it shipped from aboard. Why don't you buy from here:
http://www.rhydolabz.com/index.php?m...oducts_id=1217

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2014, 12:04   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 359 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Very informative thread.

I recently started looking into Home Automation. I plan to utilize my existing home media network eco-system, which consists of a WD MyCloud, which is nothing but a low power consuming Debian Linux with a massive hard drive.

Bit of a background, I am currently using MyCloud as the media store, torrent client, cloud storage for backing up my data from phone, PC etc. Since TV is also connected to home network, I can play movies directly from WD MyCloud using DLNA.

Have perl scripts which already automates everything from searching and adding proper subtitles, merge subs and movie into a new mp4 media file to make it ready to play in TV. (Thanks to bhpian nkg77 for the scripts)

Learned about X10 switches from several home automation sites in the internet. I have one question about them - are they compatible with 230V distribution system in our land? Anyone successfully using such switches to automate appliances or lights here?

I wish to interface them with this low-power Linux PC, and then figure out how to control them remotely. WD MyCloud consumes 4W when HDD is not spinning. It goes upto 8-9W when HDD spins. I can expect 15-19 hrs of sleep time (4W) per day.

Last edited by clevermax : 17th February 2014 at 12:10.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2014, 13:45   #24
BHPian
 
::CMS::'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 572
Thanked: 450 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

I would prefer cheap USB-Relay boards in host mode instead of aurdino (if the sensor/relay status is not required). Create a custom app in android to send commands.
::CMS:: is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2014, 19:44   #25
BHPian
 
shashi63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: THANE
Posts: 198
Thanked: 237 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
I'd just run CAT5 / ethernet cables all over the place. To every point you need a camera, switchboard, or any other control. This will do the trick for DIY stuff, but i don't know how well it will integrate with other solutions.

Also, leave a lot of room around the switchboxes for controllers, but once again i'm just talking about what i wish i had done in my room so i could get on with my DIY project

cya
R

Number of solutions.. one of the best if fro, Schneider - www.mysehome.com and another company which provides an advanced solution is crestron - www.crestron.com.

The C Bus concept is a Schneider speciality!


Plus ofcourse a company called Leviton.

Last edited by Rehaan : 4th March 2014 at 16:18. Reason: Merging consecutive posts. Thanks for the links, will check em out.
shashi63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2014, 12:39   #26
BHPian
 
Rosso Corsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: BOM - ATL
Posts: 538
Thanked: 460 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Planning to get a ceiling fan remote control kit. Could not find anything about products catering to the Indian market. Has anyone tried this before ? How is the pricing/availability ?
Rosso Corsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2014, 12:56   #27
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rosso Corsa View Post
Planning to get a ceiling fan remote control kit. Could not find anything about products catering to the Indian market. Has anyone tried this before ? How is the pricing/availability ?
Check the Crabtree site for this. I am using Crabtree I-sense which is basically remote control lights and fans all over the house since about 3 years. Works perfectly and is really convenient for lazy people like me.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2015, 23:23   #28
BHPian
 
Rodie09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 76
Thanked: 79 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Hi Pals,

Bumping this rather dormant thread for a solution, which sounds simple but could not find much on the internet.

Basically, our apartment has a DG backup for flats and in case of power failures, the DG is manually started by the guards. The guards have a visual dependency on one designated street lamp near their post which is kept on through out the day. However, due to the visual dependency at times they fail to notice the power cut. So someone has to tell them over intercom or phone. We want to overcome this. There could be 2 approaches:
1) Install automation for DG Start Stop - We are open to it but cost could be a bit high. Also, we want to depend a bit on manual intervention to avoid unwanted start/stops for pretty shor cuts at times.

2) An audible alarm in Security cabin to go off in case of power failure. This could be rather cheap. I found 2 options online. Appreciate if anyone can throw light on any of the two items below :

http://www.ebay.in/itm/Automatic-Pow...item2c9e7291de

http://www.amazon.in/Nvis-Power-Supp...+failure+alarm

Any other suggestions are most welcome.

Cheers!
Rodie09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2015, 16:43   #29
BHPian
 
Rodie09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pune
Posts: 76
Thanked: 79 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodie09 View Post
Hi Pals,

Bumping this rather dormant thread for a solution, which sounds simple but could not find much on the internet.

Basically, our apartment has a DG backup for flats and in case of power failures, the DG is manually started by the guards. The guards have a visual dependency on one designated street lamp near their post which is kept on through out the day. However, due to the visual dependency at times they fail to notice the power cut. So someone has to tell them over intercom or phone. We want to overcome this. There could be 2 approaches:
1) Install automation for DG Start Stop - We are open to it but cost could be a bit high. Also, we want to depend a bit on manual intervention to avoid unwanted start/stops for pretty shor cuts at times.

2) An audible alarm in Security cabin to go off in case of power failure. This could be rather cheap. I found 2 options online. Appreciate if anyone can throw light on any of the two items below :

http://www.ebay.in/itm/Automatic-Pow...item2c9e7291de

http://www.amazon.in/Nvis-Power-Supp...+failure+alarm

Any other suggestions are most welcome.

Cheers!
Waiting to hear from the experts - I am sure we have lot of tech wizards on this forum coming from almost all kind of professional backgrounds.
Rodie09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2017, 12:58   #30
BHPian
 
FanaticOnWheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 289
Thanked: 64 Times
Default Re: Home automation Thread

We are planning to go for home automation by next month for our flat. We've explored the market (looking for a solution where the vendor comes and installs it - not looking at a DIY). The options we looked at where:

1. Control4: Looks to be a proven solution, but way too expensive. Quote was around 3 Lacs for automating Lights + ACs + Home Theatre
2. Cubical: This is a start up by pass outs from IIT Guwahati. This is new in the market - cost is 50% of Control4. Anyone has any idea about this solution?
3. We are also looking at Pert recently.

Would love to hear if any of the BHPians here have managed to find a solution that works reliably, plus is actually value adding.
FanaticOnWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation: Game of designing & building cars vivtho Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 4th June 2016 18:30
Building a truck camper : Home away from home DKG Modifications & Accessories 140 18th February 2016 18:40
DIY: Home Automation abhi182 Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 20th September 2015 14:11
Automation: Game of Designing & Building Cars adrian Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 19th February 2014 14:21
Joining a domain: XP home Vista Home Premium johy Shifting gears 0 22nd November 2007 17:14


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:04.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks