Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears

Old 14th March 2012, 12:19   #1
BHPian

Default Debt free life?

When I was searching for a existing thread I saw many threads for credit card, loan problems, payment issues and CIBIL reports. Is there anyone who believes in the old fundamental of debt free life anymore?

Personally speaking, I have been earning a salary for last 15 years. But I don't have a credit card for last 11 years. I hold debit cards, but I have not used one is years. I have never taken a loan. I do all my shopping by paying cash.

I am wondering, am I the only one here who is relic of past or there are other people out here who don't believe in taking a debt at all?
carbookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2012, 13:14   #2
Senior - BHPian

Default Re: Debt free life?

I believe in a debt free life. After having splurged way beyond my means with credit cards, I finally gave them up and now am debt free. Live within my means and I am so much more happier.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2012, 13:26   #3
Senior - BHPian

A debt free life is a good idea, but sometimes credit is both practical and beneficial. As long as we have control over our credits we can use them to actually save us money.

The first case trotted out is about home loans. The tax benefits are known to everyone. Other than this there is the convenience of using bill payment options with your credit card. This could save you the time of driving to and queuing up for payment of bills for mobile connections, electricity, other utilities, insurance, etc.

Of course there are other things such as inheritance which greatly affect the ability of a person to live without debt. So this can also be a bit more subjective and differ case to case.

Ideally I would like to live a life without any debt, but other aspirations usually take priority.
selfdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2012, 13:27   #4
BHPian