Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th June 2004, 16:14   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,892 Times
Thumbs up

Hey guys,

Occasionally people have been complaining of not being able to connect to TBHP. Their browser shows "page not found".

I was having this same problem at a cybercafe, and figured out a couple of solutions.

The problem is caused because when u type in "team-bhp.com" your computer checks with a DNS server (Domain name server) which translates the text URL into an IP address. For some strange reason some DNS servers do not have TBHP listed, and thats what causes the error.

Solutions-

There are 3 possible solutions to this problem. The first one being the true solution, but also a bit complicated.

1. Go to your internet connection properties and in the `Secondary DNS Server' box enter "202.54.1.18" (VSNLs DNS server). If the problem still occurs put this in the Primary box. This is a bit complicated coz where the "DNS Server" box is differs according to OS and type of connection. (look in TCP/IP settings if you cant find it)

2. Goto http://www.anonymizer.com and in the top right box enter the TBHP URL and click go.

3. Go to your hotmail account and email http://www.team-bhp.com to yourself. Open the new mail and click the link. This should open TBHP in one of those stupid hotmail windows, (hopefully hotmail will resolve the IP address from its own DNS servers).

Thanks to a friend for the 2nd and 3rd tips.

Hope this helps you guys out.
Copy and paste this msg to yourself in an email because the next time you have this problem (if you ever do) you sure as hell wont be able to access this page! lol

cya
R

ps - i know there was a thread on this problem but i cldnt find it! lol



Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2004, 16:38   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

yo dude!
tried it from many proxy servers, but unable to access

for me it said: operation timed out, bad gateway

isnt there a no type, where u type in the no rather than the name
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2004, 17:02   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,892 Times
Default

Hey aadix,

The "operation timed out, bad gateway" is a different problem.
I have had that a couple of times at home..but it dissapears in a couple of minutes unlike the DNS problem which can last for days...right?

I would have just provided the IP address, but it doesnt work for 2 reasons -
1. On the server we are currently on, i thinkThe IP address keeps changing, hence causing those DNS problems when the DNS servers dont update often enough. (My guess)
2. If you type in just the IP address the webhosting site gives some error....... im not sure why! ....anyone?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing Team BHP from mobile mrwalker Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 13th February 2010 11:02
having a lowprofile tyres higher rimsize Vs having high profile tyres smaller rimsize rider60 Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 25 19th February 2008 11:08
Occasional Stalling ravradha Motorbikes 5 26th July 2007 10:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks