Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th May 2012, 01:13   #1
BHPian
 
aravind84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 213
Thanked: 147 Times
Default Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

HI All,

Just thought of pouring out the frustration of every night caused due to the very low voltage that comes in the night. It is almost there for the last 1 month where the AC does not even seem to start and if it does can last only for few minutes. Same is the case for even the FANS. with the raising temperature it is becoming too stuffy inside the house and am having real sleepless nights.


Just would like to know for fellow tbhipans in chennai if they also face the same situation. I am literally frustrated and just want to bang the heads of all the TNEB sources responsible. Isn't this is a basic right? Isnt the EB board supposed to provide a minimum voltage of 220 Volts?

When we are expected to pay higher prices for using higher units is it wrong to expect them to provide proper service? Does this not qualify for deficiency in service?

Last edited by aravind84 : 5th May 2012 at 01:18.
aravind84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 02:21   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
CrAzY dRiVeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore / TVM
Posts: 8,419
Thanked: 14,200 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aravind84
HI All,

Just thought of pouring out the frustration of every night caused due to the very low voltage that comes in the night. It is almost there for the last 1 month where the AC does not even seem to start and if it does can last only for few minutes. Same is the case for even the FANS. with the raising temperature it is becoming too stuffy inside the house and am having real sleepless nights.

Just would like to know for fellow tbhipans in chennai if they also face the same situation. I am literally frustrated and just want to bang the heads of all the TNEB sources responsible. Isn't this is a basic right? Isnt the EB board supposed to provide a minimum voltage of 220 Volts?

When we are expected to pay higher prices for using higher units is it wrong to expect them to provide proper service? Does this not qualify for deficiency in service?
Where exactly are you located?

In Velachery- although voltage fluctuations are there, its not as severe as you have mentioned, till now. But, I just got stabiliser for fridge as well after seeing the fluctuating voltage.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2012, 07:28   #3
BHPian
 
aravind84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 213
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR View Post
Where exactly are you located?

In Velachery- although voltage fluctuations are there, its not as severe as you have mentioned, till now. But, I just got stabiliser for fridge as well after seeing the fluctuating voltage.
I stay in West Mambalam and the fluctuations are severe. Imagine this, AC does not even switch on till 3 AM in the morning. TV's swtich on and off every 2 mins right from 5 PM all the way till 3 AM.

This is damn frustrating and despite raising this so many times with the TNEB no action seems to have been taken or no action would ever be taken. I am seriously losing respect for all these government employees who do not do their job. Last month we paid 35K to these useless people to fix the cable lines since they said that has not been properly laid. This problem is not just at my door but all neighbours also face the same problem.
aravind84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 20:24   #4
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 112
Thanked: 15 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

I went through the same issue on 2009 Summer, as you said since the voltage goes below your stabilizer can work it is switching off the A/C. I went to Ritchie Street Shah Store and bought 100v (I think 5KV) stabilizer and then it started working, still you can use only one A/C in your house. The usual stabilizer you get from retail stores will work only till 160-170v, anything below, it will stop working.
carbhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 20:49   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
joshguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,358
Thanked: 88 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by aravind84 View Post
HI All,

Just thought of pouring out the frustration of every night caused due to the very low voltage that comes in the night. It is almost there for the last 1 month where the AC does not even seem to start and if it does can last only for few minutes. Same is the case for even the FANS. with the raising temperature it is becoming too stuffy inside the house and am having real sleepless nights.


Just would like to know for fellow tbhipans in chennai if they also face the same situation. I am literally frustrated and just want to bang the heads of all the TNEB sources responsible. Isn't this is a basic right? Isnt the EB board supposed to provide a minimum voltage of 220 Volts?

When we are expected to pay higher prices for using higher units is it wrong to expect them to provide proper service? Does this not qualify for deficiency in service?
Quote:
Originally Posted by aravind84 View Post
I stay in West Mambalam and the fluctuations are severe. Imagine this, AC does not even switch on till 3 AM in the morning. TV's swtich on and off every 2 mins right from 5 PM all the way till 3 AM.

This is damn frustrating and despite raising this so many times with the TNEB no action seems to have been taken or no action would ever be taken. I am seriously losing respect for all these government employees who do not do their job. Last month we paid 35K to these useless people to fix the cable lines since they said that has not been properly laid. This problem is not just at my door but all neighbours also face the same problem.
I too had this problem Last year and thought there is no use complaining,so bought a double booster stabilizer for the AC and from then on no problem.You have double and triple booster stabilizers available in the market,but please buy branded ones.Sakthi/vguard ect are good

BTW i stay adyar

Recently ,say about 3 months back we complained and the EB guys came and found that the problem was due to loose connection at the my house line and the mail line.

So please check with the EB guys and if you need assistance call 155333-the EB call center and you will be given a complain no so that you can follow up.if this doesnt solve collect more people from your street and write a letter collectively ..it will definitely work


All the best !

Last edited by joshguy : 6th May 2012 at 20:54. Reason: added few points
joshguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 21:09   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,609
Thanked: 6,694 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

We bought triple-boost stabiliser for the microwave. One good thing about our Samsung ACs is that they do seem to cope with low voltage (standard stabilisers) really well.
Quote:
Isn't this is a basic right? Isnt the EB board supposed to provide a minimum voltage of 220 Volts?
They can't supply what they haven't got. At that point, I can't see any alternative to the discussion becoming political, and that may not be appropriate on T-BHP.
Thad E Ginathom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 23:06   #7
BHPian
 
Marlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 273
Thanked: 78 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR View Post
Where exactly are you located?

In Velachery- although voltage fluctuations are there, its not as severe as you have mentioned, till now. But, I just got stabiliser for fridge as well after seeing the fluctuating voltage.
Me too from Velachery and agree with you. Out of 3 phases one is not working for past few days and other one also went out today evening. Now hope to survive the night.
Marlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2012, 23:31   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

I used to have this problem in kerala. I solved it by getting myself a servo voltage stabilizer(works all the way down to 80V).

Took care of everything except the heavy duty items. You can get a sufficiently high capacity one made though, but was worried about the power bills, so didnt
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 15:48   #9
BHPian
 
aravind84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chennai
Posts: 213
Thanked: 147 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshguy View Post
I too had this problem Last year and thought there is no use complaining,so bought a double booster stabilizer for the AC and from then on no problem.You have double and triple booster stabilizers available in the market,but please buy branded ones.Sakthi/vguard ect are good

BTW i stay adyar

Recently ,say about 3 months back we complained and the EB guys came and found that the problem was due to loose connection at the my house line and the mail line.

So please check with the EB guys and if you need assistance call 155333-the EB call center and you will be given a complain no so that you can follow up.if this doesnt solve collect more people from your street and write a letter collectively ..it will definitely work


All the best !
I got the triple booster installed almost a year back and still i am facing issues of low voltage. The supply coming in itself is low which is causing all the problems.

Also, there seems to be no response from the EB guys in 155333. I have almost made 10 complaints but to ill effect.
aravind84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 17:43   #10
BHPian
 
Archish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 311
Thanked: 87 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by aravind84 View Post
Just would like to know for fellow tbhipans in chennai if they also face the same situation.
Calling 155333 is useless. Find out where your local EB office is and go there.

I live in Adyar. We faced the same problem for couple of nights. Then all of us in our area registered separate complaints in our local EB office. So, there was 100 or so complaints with them. So they had to take action. So, they changed all the fuse wires in EB pillars and also serviced the area Transformer. Now, everything is back to normal.

On a positive note. There is less of loading shedding (scheduled power cut), thanks to increased wind power generation.
Archish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 18:24   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,465
Thanked: 692 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archish View Post

On a positive note. There is less of loading shedding (scheduled power cut), thanks to increased wind power generation.
Wouldn't that be the source of low voltage problems (no load shedding)? I am sure its a power management problem rather than lack of power.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 18:57   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
VW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: electricity
Posts: 2,414
Thanked: 1,679 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (4)
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

The low voltage and fluctuations are more in Mandaveli as well. I stay in Perungalathur and my in laws in Mandaveli. We tried staying overnight in Mandaveli and instead drove back to perungalathur where the voltage was far more stable and Hitachi does handle this fluctuations a little better than samsung as one said here.
VW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 19:20   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 112
Thanked: 15 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

AFAIK, The issue is simple, the input is not sufficient, the Transformer in that particular area is not able to distribute the power to everybody as everybody wants more power. All they have to do is increase the KV of the Transformer in the area to meet the capacity. This never happens quickly, it takes years irrespective of multiple complaints, visiting politicians, ministers.. Unless somebody in that area can get it escalated, the only option is to get the 100v stabilizer.
carbhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 15:39   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: chennai
Posts: 308
Thanked: 110 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

I stay in pallikaranai and the power issue is even more pathetic. I have put v-guard double booster 7 months ago but the voltage is as low as 120V and failed to start the compressor. Most of the time I turn on the inverter and use fan. Now looking for a triple boost expecting to start the compressor even the voltage goes as low as 100~ 110V. One bad thing about V-guard is if the voltage is below 155V it cannot able to start the compressor and simply cuts-off . If the compressor is in running state it can work till 128 V. In my entire chennai life I havent seen such low voltages ever as in pallikaranai.
vijaycool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 15:58   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,710
Thanked: 1,080 Times
Default re: Low Voltage Problem in Chennai

guys conventional stabilizers go down only to 150/180V or so. If you want a wider range, I think a servo stabilizer is the only way to go
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery / Alternator / Voltage Regulator problem? babe_on_wheels Technical Stuff 106 18th July 2017 16:50
Capacitor? Need to stabilize voltage Ford Rocam Technical Stuff 38 7th May 2014 14:28
PS3 from US - do i need a voltage transformer?? jassi Gadgets, Computers & Software 85 15th January 2013 01:46
Low Voltage Woes in Coorg zenx Shifting gears 5 31st March 2010 12:31
Tata Indica alternator voltage query tsk1979 Technical Stuff 5 9th December 2006 12:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:31.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks