Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


View Poll Results: How much do you pay for your broadband? - per month...
upto Rs.300 18 1.83%
Rs.301 - 500 50 5.09%
Rs.501-700 119 12.11%
Rs.701-1,000 296 30.11%
Rs.1,001 - 2000 403 41.00%
Rs.2001 - 5000 70 7.12%
Rs.5001 - 10000 9 0.92%
Don't have broadband!! 18 1.83%
Voters: 983. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th June 2017, 13:38   #886
BHPian
 
The Brutailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: -
Posts: 343
Thanked: 707 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Any idea when JioFI wifi will be making inroads in Bangalore? Seems very VFM and going by the Jio cellular network, I'm sure it'll be quite good (atleast in my area).
The Brutailer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 18:12   #887
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 32
Thanked: 7 Times
Default ACT Broadband Payment

It is really a pathetic experience to pay bill for ACT Broadband. Whenever I try to pay my bill here (http://www.actcorp.in/bill-payment) it keeps giving an error "Your session has expired.You are being redirected to the home page."

It is so damn frustrating. Eventually one is forced to download their app to pay the bill. Does anybody else find the same issue?
DigitalOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 19:12   #888
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 250
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
It is really a pathetic experience to pay bill for ACT Broadband... Eventually one is forced to download their app to pay the bill. Does anybody else find the same issue?
Did you try incognito mode on the laptop or phone? That may work. I have had this issue earlier but find the app easier and also use it to track my data usage.
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 21:15   #889
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 32
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
Did you try incognito mode on the laptop or phone? That may work. I have had this issue earlier but find the app easier and also use it to track my data usage.
Did that. Also used Microsoft Edge (a browser that I rarely use) just to eliminate any cache issues. No luck.

They don't have a proper mobile site .

I tend not to keep apps which I don't use frequently. Have already uninstalled this after paying the bill.
DigitalOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 21:25   #890
BHPian
 
theredliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 479
Thanked: 787 Times
Default Re: ACT Broadband Payment

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
It is really a pathetic experience to pay bill for ACT Broadband. Whenever I try to pay my bill here (http://www.actcorp.in/bill-payment) it keeps giving an error "Your session has expired.You are being redirected to the home page."

It is so damn frustrating. Eventually one is forced to download their app to pay the bill. Does anybody else find the same issue?
You can use PayTM or any other wallet to pay the bill. Works just fine. No need to install the app either. You can pay using their website.

Last edited by theredliner : 14th August 2017 at 21:31.
theredliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 21:35   #891
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 32
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Re: ACT Broadband Payment

Quote:
Originally Posted by theredliner View Post
You can use PayTM or any other wallet to pay the bill. Works just fine. No need to install the app either. You can pay using their website.
They don't accept Paytm if the due date is just a couple of days away . That's how they punish late-lateefs like me !
DigitalOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 21:42   #892
BHPian
 
theredliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 479
Thanked: 787 Times
Default Re: ACT Broadband Payment

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalOne View Post
They don't accept Paytm if the due date is just a couple of days away . That's how they punish late-lateefs like me !
Oh. I didn't know about that as I always pay 7-10 days before. Thanks for the info
theredliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2017, 22:27   #893
Senior - BHPian
 
bluevolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 2,950
Thanked: 2,191 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

I am planning to migrate from MTNL broadband to a private service provider.

Which are some good broadband service providers in Delhi?

Does airtel provide cable/wire based broadband service?
bluevolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2017, 21:48   #894
BHPian
 
PrasunBannerjee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Udaipur
Posts: 32
Thanked: 84 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Udaipur is a smaller city compared to most of the other cities. To some extent, apart from Jio, 4MbPS was still a luxury. I have two internet connections (the RF signal tower based) apart from the mobile internet. I pay yearly bullet of 16,000 for one, which gives 150GB FUP @ 8MbPS every month, and after the FUP gets exhausted, a speed cap of 4MbPS. The other one has some 13,000 as yearly bullet and provides me 80GB FUP @ 16MbPS and speed capping of 256KbPS after FUP.
Its better to have subscribed to two rivals so that one can stay up if one goes down.
PrasunBannerjee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2017, 22:34   #895
BHPian
 
lazybrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bangalore/Mangalore
Posts: 191
Thanked: 91 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

I was an airtel broadband user from 2011 to 2016 when i was staying in koramangala 1st Block. i was stuck at 8 Mbps (100 GB FUP) speed forever despite paying 1800 which was exorbitant. I shifted to JP Nagar 9th Phase just recently and using a private FTTH provider since last more than 6 months with hardly any down time (i must admit same down time like airtel). what more can you ask for 1800 bucks? 100 Mbps speed with 175 GB FUP. I happily stream even Ultra HD Netflix content on my TV
lazybrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2017, 11:32   #896
BHPian
 
TorqueyTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 627
Thanked: 882 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazybrain View Post
I was an airtel broadband user from 2011 to 2016 when i was staying in koramangala 1st Block. i was stuck at 8 Mbps (100 GB FUP) speed forever despite paying 1800 which was exorbitant. I shifted to JP Nagar 9th Phase just recently and using a private FTTH provider since last more than 6 months with hardly any down time (i must admit same down time like airtel). what more can you ask for 1800 bucks? 100 Mbps speed with 175 GB FUP. I happily stream even Ultra HD Netflix content on my TV
Ohh you were lucky to be getting 8mbps atleast! I was associated with Airtel broadband right from 2005 when they introduced it for the first time. Ever since then my speed was 2mbps until last month. I had asked them to increase so many times but to no avail. Finally got fed up and moved to ACT. I am getting 60mbps speed and 100 gb FUP for the same cost that I was paying to Airtel.
TorqueyTechie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2017, 23:45   #897
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,736
Thanked: 6,956 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Aitel's Vfiber and modems.

We have 24Mbps (upgraded from previous 8, with the move to Vfiber, and yes, mostly it delivers as advertised. Recently we saw an engineer who told us that we could not have the full 40, as they have not brought optical fibre close enough to our area yet. That's fine. I'm quite happy with this.

What I am not so happy about is that it takes several minutes for the modem to get a DSL link and subsequently log in to the network. It is a Beetel modem. Does anyone else have this delay?

I'm wondering if a third-party modem would be better. Vfiber-compatible modems is something I have seen on the net, but can never find when I search for it.

Oh, and the good news is that they let us down-size the bandwith, which we just do not use, and it will now be just over 1k instead of over 2k. I thought they would try to make this hard for us. I guess they are just glad not to be loosing us as customers, as I think ACT is now available here.

Last edited by Thad E Ginathom : 31st August 2017 at 23:47.
Thad E Ginathom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2017, 06:21   #898
Senior - BHPian
 
hserus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,811
Thanked: 1,800 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
What I am not so happy about is that it takes several minutes for the modem to get a DSL link and subsequently log in to the network. It is a Beetel modem. Does anyone else have this delay?
You are better off getting a combined modem and wifi router - Asus has DSL-N series models that will be perfectly adequate for your 40 Mbps line.

If you get a 100..200 Mbps line from ACT or Hathway for the same price get an AC series router (roughly - N300 -> 30 Mbps, AC750 - upto 75 Mbps, AC3400 - upto 340 Mbps, etc).

Amazon has decent deals on these.
hserus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2017, 09:49   #899
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 59
Thanked: 57 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
is that it takes several minutes for the modem to get a DSL link and subsequently log in to the network. It is a Beetel modem.
Yes Sir, sometimes it takes even 4-5 minutes to get re-connected after a brief Power off. Just for comparison, mine is D-Link modem provided by Airtel.
batman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2017, 14:13   #900
Newbie
 
skchettry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mumbai/Oman
Posts: 12
Thanked: 40 Times
Default Re: How much do you pay for your broadband?

I am subscribed to Hathway in Mumbai. I pay some 1000+ per month for 200 GB @ 50 mbps. Although never reached the limit, the post 200 GB speed is 1 mbps.
Haven't compared with any other service provider on the package price front, but have been loyal to them since 2004.
Sravan
skchettry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much will you pay for a collision avoidance system and other systems vina The Indian Car Scene 41 6th February 2017 21:13
How much premium would you pay for a brand? rangaraj The Indian Car Scene 23 12th December 2011 23:08
How much would you pay for 51 NGH license plate? how about 400K USD?? 1Day The International Automotive Scene 28 28th August 2010 14:47
Paintings: Overrated, or do you appreciate them? How much would you pay for them? e1t1bet Shifting gears 17 24th March 2010 14:35
How Much did you pay for your Headers & FFE & which car ? esteem_lover Technical Stuff 140 30th March 2009 19:57


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:21.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks