Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd January 2007, 15:10   #31
BHPian
 
nispatel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 97
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Rx135,

I've taken Dataone connection three times in past two years in three different cities that includes Bangalore and Pune.

I'm sorry but I beg to differ on your openion on BSNL. All the time, I got connection within a month time. Anyway, I'm sure you have seen enough of private operates and now it's time to try with BSNL.

Here is the info that should help.
1. Do you have a BSNL land line? If not, apply immediately. You should get landline in a week time. In fact, work order (BSNL internal process that releases actual instruction to provide a telephone connection) are released on the same day of applying phone connection.
2. Go to concerned BSNL customer sales center and seek information for applying broadband. In Pune, they may or may not process order taken from net. Depending on the area, they would accept your application (hardcopy) there itself or may want you to go to specific BSNL office which takes care of Dataone applications. Don't forget to ask for the phone number to make inquiry on your waiting number.
3. Once applied, start making followup with them every week starting with after 2 weeks. Nevertheless, they should get back to you in 3 to 4 weeks. They'll then issue a modem work order to you and may want you to go to specific office to make payment for your modem (Installation charge now a days don't apply). Once this done, expect a person with modem to visit your place in about 2 days.

Step 3 applies to Pune only. In Bangalore, BSNL handles it internally.

What BSNL does is that once you apply for Dataone, they check technical capability of your phone line. If you are within a specific radious from telephone exchange and cables layed are in good condition, they give go ahead. (If you have lot of internal wiring, they might call you and come up with suggestions to reduce resistance) That's why in Pune, you have to go second time to make payment from Dataone connection.

PS: When I applied third connection in Gandhinagar, initially they had reverted with information that they don't have free port to issue us a connection. But within 3 with, they again called up with information that they now have availability of port and if we want, they can proceed with connection. What I'm saying is that they aren't that bad.
Another story: When I applied for Tata Broadband in Bangalore, they had promised me a connection in a month time and took 500 Rs (special offer price) for connection but never heard anything; frequest inquires were of no help. After six month I gave up and on my requested they returned my application fees.
nispatel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2007, 16:55   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

@nispatel,

I did apply for BSNL before I checked with Tata Indicom (earlier too, I had checked with BSNL when I went in for IQARA). But, I am yet to hear back from BSNL, while I already have Tata Indicom connection up and running. Last time, they did call me up after couple of week, but I had already decided to go in for IQARA. When I checked with service center, they told that they don't have ADSL modems available and I should get one from market.

(I stay at stone's throw from BSNL Kothrud exchange). I wanted to go for BSNL DataOne both the times, but the uncertainty factor kept it away. I am going to try it after 6 months (my prepaid validity is for 6 month). Hopefully, situation will improve by then.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 19:39   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,527
Thanked: 730 Times
Default

After using it for more than a year now, I can say with certainty : Hathway sucks. A lot.
Going to switch over to Tata Indicom next months, as my friends in my building and members like Tushky are having a good experience with it.
sajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2007, 23:12   #34
BHPian
 
Minardi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 408
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Actually the best place to get info on this is India Broadband Forum
Minardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 02:00   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Tata Indicom is doing pretty well since last 4 months. I got free upgrade to 2MBPS. I am certainly not complaining YouTele (erstwhile IQARA) seems to have attractive offers, but going by horrible past experience, I would always stay away from it.
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 05:00   #36
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RX135 View Post
Tata Indicom is doing pretty well since last 4 months. I got free upgrade to 2MBPS. I am certainly not complaining YouTele (erstwhile IQARA) seems to have attractive offers, but going by horrible past experience, I would always stay away from it.
yup tata is good.... free static ip being the best part
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 08:10   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,527
Thanked: 730 Times
Default

Since the past few days, hathway stops working from about 4pm to about 11am the next day. I am tired of dialing their "helpline" now. Pathetic morons.
sajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 11:24   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,527
Thanked: 730 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajo View Post
Since the past few days, hathway stops working from about 4pm to about 11am the next day. I am tired of dialing their "helpline" now. Pathetic morons.
Just called Hathway up and threatened to drag them to consumer court. Even when I asked them to connect me to/give me the cell number of someone higher up in their heirarchy, I was flatly told they cannot do that. After some more threatening, they told me his name. So I called them up again and asked the switchboard (?) lady to connect me to him. He told me that not a single complaint of mine has been registered in all my previous phone calls!
Even after all that threatening and civilised cursing, all they could say was "We will send someone over." .
sajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 13:27   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: pune
Posts: 2,088
Thanked: 48 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajo View Post
Since the past few days, hathway stops working from about 4pm to about 11am the next day. I am tired of dialing their "helpline" now. Pathetic morons.
And just what is stopping you from switching over to alternate service provider? You'll save lot of headache (and may be money).
RX135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 13:34   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
sajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 2,527
Thanked: 730 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RX135 View Post
And just what is stopping you from switching over to alternate service provider? You'll save lot of headache (and may be money).
Laziness and cheap rates. Cheapest rates perhaps.
sajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2008, 19:07   #41
BHPian
 
nirmalts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stuttgart, Germ
Posts: 252
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Broadband connectivity in Kochi

Hello,

Is a broadband provider available in Kochi other than Asianet cable?

Nirmal
nirmalts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2014, 15:27   #42
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 185
Thanked: 161 Times
Default Re: Broadband connectivity in Pune

Reviving a sleeping thread. I am planning to move to Dhayari next month. Can anyone suggest a good broadband service provider having good service for that area ?

Currently I am enjoying stress free service from BSNL but it does not have a line for the area where I am relocating. I found out about Tata broadband, You broadband but would like some real user advice.
luvDriving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2014, 16:16   #43
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pune
Posts: 99
Thanked: 84 Times
Default Re: Broadband connectivity in Pune

Hey luvDriving! Even I live in the same area, not Dhayari exactly but right after the Dhayari Phata Flyover. I had a hard time finding a proper internet connection (wired) as there were none in my society.

As per my experience it completely depends on your society if they have an intercom system in place. Mine had, and they do not offer anything except BSNL and Tata Indicom. Also, there was no wireline to my building which is why I had to shell out 2K to get the wiring done and finally we have a BSNL broadband line which works well albeit with some downtime every now and then.

The best way would be to approach the society telephone 'wala' if you have one as anyway they wont allow any external lines to be laid in the society and basically no provider will oblige to give a wired line in such societies. If not, given the lack of options in Dhayari, its best to stick to BSNL broadband even if you have to shell out some amount for wiring which is a normal scam nowadays. Strictly avoid You Broadband as far as my opinion is concerned. Tata Indicom maybe considered if there. But please confirm its a wired line broadband by Tata Indicom and not Docomo. Both of these are different providers and the SLA by Docomo is one of the most pathetic examples in our country.
jagzrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2014, 12:03   #44
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Pune
Posts: 185
Thanked: 161 Times
Default Re: Broadband connectivity in Pune

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagzrk View Post
Hey luvDriving! Even I live in the same area, not Dhayari exactly but right after the Dhayari Phata Flyover. If not, given the lack of options in Dhayari, its best to stick to BSNL broadband even if you have to shell out some amount for wiring which is a normal scam nowadays.
Thanks jagzrk !

Even I was leaning towards BSNL since I already have one in my present location and its doing great. I think I will first give a try to BSNL and then look for other options.
luvDriving is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bluetooth Connectivity possible - iPod / HU / Mobile Phone normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 24th February 2009 13:23
iPod connectivity to stock ICE in Corolla H2 carbaliga In-Car Entertainment 5 26th July 2008 20:45
USB Connectivity For Alpine abhinav.gupta88 In-Car Entertainment 3 19th July 2008 16:22
The new Face of connectivity devarshi84 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 3rd January 2007 12:45
ipod connectivity with blaupunkt bahama mp34?? rOaD AsSaSin!! In-Car Entertainment 21 22nd May 2006 21:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks