Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th August 2004, 15:42   #16
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,397 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]
But they didnt even get back to you by the 20th July (2weeks from date of email) did they?
They did, but with a crappy " we have activated anti-virus" email. No mention of storage.

I really dont know how I survived on 2mb for so long.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2004, 15:42   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Rtech, you mean to say that yahoo/gmail etc dont support POP3?
Yahoo started allowing POP3 access and then stopped it!! Now its available on their pay accounts only. Dunno about G mail. VSNL allows it though, and so do a few other lesser known accounts, but hotmail is the easiest to set up!

Rt
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2004, 16:44   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,232
Thanked: 21,892 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (GTO @ Aug. 05 2004,14:12)]
Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]
But they didnt even get back to you by the 20th July (2weeks from date of email) did they?
They did, but with a crappy " we have activated anti-virus" email. No mention of storage.

I really dont know how I survived on 2mb for so long.
Yeah,
I got that mail too..... but it didnt seem like a follow up to the increase in storage.

Jeez, i wonder the same thing.... 2mb.... i do have a yahoo and gmail account as well (for attachments etc)... but didnt get the priviledge of my own name @yahoo/gmail so i have stuck with hotmail for ONLY that reason.

R

ps - Rtech, i guess no POP3 from gmail at the moment either! hang in there buddy
Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Does Gmail support automatic forwarding and POP3 access?

Not at the moment, but Google believes in helping people access information whenever and however they want to do so. In the future you will be able to access Gmail messages from non-Gmail accounts for free or at a nominal fee.
Rehaan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 12:10   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Shuffling between chicago and delhi
Posts: 764
Thanked: Once
Default

aaaaaahhhhh finally my mailbox is showing 1%...what I had been wanting for soo long..
now i can go on vacation without thinking whose mails I am going to be missing since everyone knowns my hotmail acc..

yes hotmail has done what they said they will freaking ages ago...

250 meg...feels good.
_Crazi4Speed_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 12:25   #20
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Hey... mine... is still 2MB!!!!!!!

Indian registered ... thats y?

I can change my address to US.... would it help?!!!!!!!
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 12:29   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 44
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I had created an MSN account soon after I had read GTOs' reply in July.

I had 250 megs for maybe about a week, before it became 2 megs again.

It's still 2 megs..

Milind
milindbajekal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 15:09   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Shuffling between chicago and delhi
Posts: 764
Thanked: Once
Default

after u guys mentioned...i checked..its still showing 250...huurraaayyy!!!

sorry guys..

i know what the reason might be..accounts are spread on 10 and thousands of servers..it takes time to upgrade all, they will slowly slowly upgrade, my account is really really old..just when hotmail started..so may be mine is in the first or atleast first few servers..so that could be..

wait for some time...eventually u will get it..or mine will be back to 2mb (nooooooo!!!)
_Crazi4Speed_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 15:33   #23
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,397 Times
Default

Crap, I just checked and I am still on 2 MB storage.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2004, 16:58   #24
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,232
Thanked: 21,892 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (_Crazi4Speed_ @ Sep. 24 2004,13:39)]..accounts are spread on 10 and thousands of servers..it takes time to upgrade all, they will slowly slowly upgrade,
Sounds right....however they probably aldready have all the hardware set up and it will be a short time before all the accounts get switched to 250mb.

But boy did they keep us waiting!
Im sure that if gmail was freely available by now (ie not still in beta stage) they would have made a lot of hotmail users switch over.

Thanks for the news C4S...atleast now i know its around the corner!

cya
R
Rehaan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LML going up or going down??? devarshi84 Motorbikes 10 7th August 2009 01:32
Bugatti going crazy 275 mph 1250hp going Veyron GT.. 1Day The International Automotive Scene 24 4th March 2009 18:14
Forget cars! Its' EMAIL! S350L-E240 Shifting gears 17 18th June 2004 20:30


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks