Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th August 2006, 01:06   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
karthik247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR, HYD
Posts: 2,708
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

I've been using ADL for the past, 2-3yrs i guess. For the last year have been using Homenet950 or sumtin. I have to admit its very very fast, and minimum rent is Rs.1100.

I get 512kbps but do have a 2.5gb download limit, after which i'll be charged for each mb. But its fine, suits my needs.

If u do downloads, this is the conn to get
karthik247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 01:34   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,523
Thanked: 1,510 Times
Default

Isn't there any night packages with unlimited downloads
kpzen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 08:27   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 173
Thanked: 61 Times
Default

Yeah there is the nightbird plan with unlimited download between 10pm and 8 am. Speed is 128kbps i guess. Would cost 475+tax per month.
Mistakenguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 10:08   #19
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritik123
Your speed is perfectly OK. 128kbps = 16KBPS

Pls note that kbps and KBPS is not the same.
I know whats KBps and kbps is. I have used net speeds upto 4Mbps and more even on wireless network in UK and Germany where I did my projects.

My plan is 128kbps and I think I said my present net speed is 16kbps( SIXTEEN KILO BITS PER SEC). Its bloody slower than a dialup and my airtel used to give me much more than that.

My plan is similar to karthik247's but with a 128kbps speed, unlimited download. 1100Rs per month inclusive of tax
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 13:46   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Got rid of Asianet (finally) after moving to Airtel Broadband. I'm so pissed off with Asianet that I'm going to move away from Asianet Cable TV to Tata Sky, even if the latter is inferior.

If anyone wants to sue Asianet, sign me up - they still havent refunded me at least 3 security deposits after my connections were moved to my tenant's names.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 18:09   #21
BHPian
 
rsjaurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Batala
Posts: 775
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
I know whats KBps and kbps is. I have used net speeds upto 4Mbps and more even on wireless network in UK and Germany where I did my projects.

My plan is 128kbps and I think I said my present net speed is 16kbps( SIXTEEN KILO BITS PER SEC). Its bloody slower than a dialup and my airtel used to give me much more than that.

My plan is similar to karthik247's but with a 128kbps speed, unlimited download. 1100Rs per month inclusive of tax
JK,then why dont u go for bsnl home UL 900 plus plan.You just have to pay 900 per month,no monthly phone rental and unlimited upload+download limited.
http://www.bsnl.co.in/service/dataone_tariff.htm

I am using their 256 plan with 250 rs per month and plan to upgrade it to this one.Contrary to popular beleif,this sarkari broadband is really fast.

Last edited by rsjaurr : 16th August 2006 at 18:12.
rsjaurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 18:50   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 306
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
http://www.abeltronica.com/velocimet...=uk&newlang=uk

guys pls try that and post the speed you get. Mines 16kbps download ), supposed to be 128kbps. Gonna meet some asianet guys 2mrw.
TX for the link.

I am getting 118.48kbps, as opposed to the 256kbps promised for this connection (Office, HOmenet 699). That is a difference of almost 1/2 of the package speed.

But I guess it's OK, since ADL only promises a speed up to 256kbps, and by my reckoning, 0 is still a figure upto 256.

It's still OK, because this is what I've come to expect from any b****y agency in this s****y (read GREAT) country.

NPP
PS: I've filed a case with www.corecentre.org, and am waiting for the results.
pillainp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 19:12   #23
BHPian
 
ritik123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 123
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
I know whats KBps and kbps is. I have used net speeds upto 4Mbps and more even on wireless network in UK and Germany where I did my projects.
Good for you then.

Remember, there are other members in this forum besides yourself and they may not be aware of the difference.

I myself found out the difference only sometime ago.
ritik123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2006, 22:26   #24
BHPian
 
kallil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 35
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

i've been using ADL for the last 1 yr.....hav'nt faced any problems,infact i'm more than satisfied with the performance.used to get 400+kbps at night.hav'nt had any problems with billing yet...i've been using it in thrissur

Last edited by kallil : 18th August 2006 at 22:27.
kallil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd August 2006, 11:00   #25
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Asianet has new plans now. The 880rs unlimited plan now boasts 256kbps! ( yahyah 1:4 )..still...
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2006, 18:48   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 306
Thanked: 135 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkdas
Asianet has new plans now. The 880rs unlimited plan now boasts 256kbps! ( yahyah 1:4 )..still...
So now we are getting closer to what Asianet is all about: Pay more, get less. Eventually, we will pay everything and get nothing. That is nirvana.

NPP
pillainp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2015, 15:51   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
stanjohn123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TN 75
Posts: 1,047
Thanked: 356 Times
Default Re: Asianet Dataline Internet

Guys , anyone have any experience with Asianet broadband which they claim works on fiber optic cable tech ? Prices seem very good but how is their service ?
stanjohn123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2015, 16:28   #28
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ernakulam
Posts: 25
Thanked: 20 Times
Default Re: Asianet Dataline Internet

I am currently using Asianet fiber optic broadband at Kakkanad ,Kochi. Here the speed is good where in i am consistently getting 10 Mbps . Only drawback is with technical support ,where in you need great amount of patience and at least 10 phone call for technician to visit and fix the issue. Cost is around 1200 for 40GB usage.
speedgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SBT Asianet Auto Expo 2013 @ Cochin rajeev k The Indian Car Scene 28 18th February 2013 20:06
Have any of you tried mobile internet? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 60 18th April 2012 08:48
Connecting Linksys Wireless to Asianet Dataline. Help Required. gemithomas Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 28th April 2009 00:50
Parenting in the internet age S350L-E240 Shifting gears 3 10th June 2004 03:08
IE n Internet Jaggu Shifting gears 3 26th May 2004 12:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks