Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2006, 01:08   #1
BHPian
 
shiva_cool87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 0 Times
Default "Help about my Internet Connection"

Hi guys,
I've a net connection in my comp.The problem is i dont want my bro to use the net connection as he downloads useless stuff,virus etc
So I need to know how to block the access of net to my Bro.Please help me ASAP.....
shiva_cool87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 01:22   #2
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

it just depends on too many things.. like
what OS?
what type of connection?
how is it connected to the comp? (LAN card or USB ADSL or something else)
does your brother use a different user account? (otherwise how will the computer know who's using it when)

BTW search around the web you would find a lot of softwares to do just this.

If I was to do it my way.. i'll put on zone alarm (my firewall) in internet lock mode whenever i leave the computer.
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 06:30   #3
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

If your are using any recent version of windows, make a restricted user account for your borther, disable dialup or networking for that account and password protect your account. That shoul do it ....
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 09:33   #4
BANNED
 
revharder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 460
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

i know it is absurd to suggest a thing like this but still..........
what abt a password change?!
revharder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 09:43   #5
BHPian
 
johy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Siliguri
Posts: 837
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiva_cool87
Hi guys,
I've a net connection in my comp.The problem is i dont want my bro to use the net connection as he downloads useless stuff,virus etc
So I need to know how to block the access of net to my Bro.Please help me ASAP.....
Hi Shiva,

I think you should buy yourself CyberPatrol. You can give access to your brother, but limited access - or even lock everything down. I think it is your SAFEST bet.
johy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 09:54   #6
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,315
Thanked: 3,657 Times
Default

Couple of ideas:
1. Give him a non-admin account, with dial-up [and related serial/usb port] disabled.

2. If you are using the lan port to connect to the internet [through your adsl modem], then disable the lan port for his account.
condor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 13:11   #7
BHPian
 
shiva_cool87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Well thnx a lot guys....Specs- Windows XP pro,its a broadband ADSL,my bro doesnt use another account.....
shiva_cool87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 13:57   #8
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

If your brother uses the same account, then there is not much you can do unless you dial into your BB connection from your PC.
So all you need ro do is, double click, and unlick the save password
so every time you dial in, you have to type password.

If you have a ADSL router which dials itself when switched on the stakes are upped. If your brother is not tech savvy, you can block him by disabling the ethernet adapter before you log off. You can go to "connection settings" you will see some ethernet adapter there. "right click" -> "disable.
But if your bro is tech savvy he will enable it again.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:00   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

emm, and hope he isnt team-bhp savy and a tbhpian as he would be ready to make a solution thread for the ideas fellow TBHPians gave!

Last edited by jkdas : 22nd August 2006 at 14:04.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:00   #10
BHPian
 
shiva_cool87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Yo tsk1979 u gotcha!!!! Thnx a lot mate.....i'll b doing this,hope my bro doesnt find out....

@jkdas-he is not a tbhpian!!!

Last edited by shiva_cool87 : 22nd August 2006 at 14:03.
shiva_cool87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:32   #11
BHPian
 
johy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Siliguri
Posts: 837
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979
If your brother is not tech savvy, you can block him by disabling the ethernet adapter before you log off. You can go to "connection settings" you will see some ethernet adapter there. "right click" -> "disable.
But if your bro is tech savvy he will enable it again.
Well, if you are really looking to BLOCK all Internet access, yes you can disable the ethernet adapter. To prevent him for enabling it, just password protect (don't share the pw with him) your windows login, then create another LIMITED user in XP/2000 (I am presuming this is your OS) - you can even assign him a password, but as he won't be the administrator, he won't be able to enable the ethernet adaptor once it is disabled.
johy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:40   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

This can be useful in my office as well!
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 14:45   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
pdev29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,037
Thanked: 258 Times
Default

Or there is a different way of stopping the connection..
Use proxy settings in IE options.. You just have to uncheck the proxy box when you want to use it.. i m sure he wont be able to get to that point.
pdev29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 15:22   #14
BHPian
 
shiva_cool87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 138
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hey pdev29....thnx!!!First i'm going to try wat tsk told , if my bro finds out then i'll use ur idea!!! neways keep the replies comin'
shiva_cool87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2006, 21:36   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 503 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiva_cool87
its a broadband ADSL.....
Hello..dont you have an account for this connection? with a password? Just change your ISP password...
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Fast Is Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) connection? Rehaan Gadgets, Computers & Software 945 11th August 2017 22:50
Help - problem with internet connection at home RAC Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 15th January 2012 09:21
Internet connection help in pune fb1 Shifting gears 7 8th January 2008 10:29
Internet : Connection speed vs download speed!! Shan2nu Shifting gears 16 21st May 2005 03:59
How fast is your internet connection? dan400 Shifting gears 1 12th August 2004 17:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 18:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks