Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2017, 12:15   #166
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,162
Thanked: 3,757 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Have started using Jio for some voice calls, especially on the move between Delhi & Gurgaon. While an Airtel call drops every 2-3 minutes, Jio is a fantastic experience in terms of voice clarity and continuity. And about 8/10 calls connect on the first dial.
I am waiting for Jio to deliver my SIM. Got an sms yesterday. Hopefully, I will get two for both my phones. Yes, connectivity in the NCR region is a pain in the a$$, with NOIDA the worst. I guess Jio is still not stressed to the same degree. I hope they keep it up. Already consolidation in the telecom industry has started.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 13:12   #167
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,680 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Jio is a breeze while on the move. I use it to stream music while travelling to and fro to Gurgaon and apart from one choke point that lasts about a minute, the network is perfect.

Indoors in Cybercity Gurgaon is a different story altogether. All networks struggle including Jio, Airtel, Voda and the likes.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2017, 13:56   #168
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 648
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbodude View Post
I personally feel that JIO will lose business and market share if they are adamant on a coupon code for porting. Because if a person wants to port his/her primary cell number to JIO, he/she will definitely use a 4G phone otherwise his/her number will be out of reach.
I had purchased a new Jio sim to test connectivity through coupon and then after i got satisfied, I wanted to port my number. They were asking coupon, i told them i have already used for another number, and somehow he ported my number after speaking to Jio manager in Jio service center, told him that a person porting a number will be a valuable customer for them, since other guys whom they are giving Sim through coupon will just throw away their sim and proceed after freebie ends. Hope Jio understands this.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2017, 18:31   #169
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chennai
Posts: 244
Thanked: 406 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
They were asking coupon, i told them i have already used for another number, and somehow he ported my number after speaking to Jio manager in Jio service center, told him that a person porting a number will be a valuable customer for them, since other guys whom they are giving Sim through coupon will just throw away their sim and proceed after freebie ends. Hope Jio understands this.
There was a Jio stall set up outside Reliance Fresh stores in Chennai giving out as many SIMs you want without any coupon codes.

I went there to get a second SIM as 1 GB per day was getting over quickly . I ended up taking 4 SIMs from the store.

They are not accepting port ins as of now as they claim there are issues with other operators releasing the number on MNP.
Ragavsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2017, 11:20   #170
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 648
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragavsr View Post
They are not accepting port ins as of now as they claim there are issues with other operators releasing the number on MNP.
I did successfully port from Vodafone. Just need to make sure you don't have any outstanding bills. If operator creates problem, report it to Nodal agency.

These days i am facing problem that when making outgoing calls, my voice don't get audible to other party, while i can hear them. This seems to be common problem with many of my friends also facing same problem using Jio.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2017, 11:48   #171
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,162
Thanked: 3,757 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
I did successfully port from Vodafone. Just need to make sure you don't have any outstanding bills. If operator creates problem, report it to Nodal agency.

These days i am facing problem that when making outgoing calls, my voice don't get audible to other party, while i can hear them. This seems to be common problem with many of my friends also facing same problem using Jio.
A friend ported two of his VIP numbers from other operators to Jio (they were both ending with mn000). He is resourceful enough to get the ports through.

I have got two Jio SIMs in both my phones (mine and my wife's) yesterday. They were pretty sloppy in supplying but that should be a local courier issue.

So far the experience is quite iffy. It took well over two hours to activate.

It seems that while I am able to call out using the Directory in Jio4G Voice, the same call often does not go through the same directory on my phonebook, even when I select the Jio SIM. Voice quality is superb, Even Jio->whatever, and even more so on Jio - Jio calls. Data is obviously lightening fast. Now I have to figure out how to use Jio on my Mac and Windows laptops for data connections. At least in times when the net is down this will be an excellent option. I expect the network to further stabilize quite fast.

As the continuously on 4G consumes quite a bit of juice I have ordered a power bank today.

Last edited by sgiitk : 6th February 2017 at 11:53.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2017, 13:41   #172
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 648
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
It seems that while I am able to call out using the Directory in Jio4G Voice, the same call often does not go through the same directory on my phonebook, even when I select the Jio SIM.
So you suggest that we download Jio4GVoice even for VOLTE phones and make calls using Jio4GVoice app ?
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2017, 19:25   #173
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chennai
Posts: 244
Thanked: 406 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
Just need to make sure you don't have any outstanding bills.
This seems to be common problem with many of my friends also facing same problem using Jio.
My existing connection is a prepaid . So no issues on that front.

Low voice quality - I have seen that its quite location dependent.

The other problem I face is that despite my phone showing VOLTE ON, the calls don't go through. I need to switch off VOLTE and and put it back to On and it works flawlessly. Quite a chore doing it often though.

Not sure its an issue with Jio or the phone Redmi Note 3 itself.
Ragavsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2017, 13:25   #174
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,162
Thanked: 3,757 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
So you suggest that we download Jio4GVoice even for VOLTE phones and make calls using Jio4GVoice app ?
worth a try. If it works fine, else you can go back to the old way. I am told by friends that my native phonebook should work. In any case that is reflected in Jio4Voice and also updated if you make any changes. While my MotoX Style is a power hog, my wife's htc Desire 628 is not. In any case I have ordered a Sony powerbank for our use. Also, on the htc you can select different call tunes for the two SIMs, while the Moto does with only one.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2017, 13:34   #175
BHPian
 
MalluDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cochin
Posts: 382
Thanked: 28 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Guys, have a question.
Wifey got 2 JIO sims yesterday, but is not unable to activate it. In fact, the signal bars in the phone are not turning up. Any idea why?

She's using Redmi Note 3 (supports VolTE), and is planning to use JIO as her secondary SIM.
MalluDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2017, 14:14   #176
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hyderabad/Blr
Posts: 648
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalluDude View Post
Guys, have a question.
Wifey got 2 JIO sims yesterday, but is not unable to activate it. In fact, the signal bars in the phone are not turning up. Any idea why?

She's using Redmi Note 3 (supports VolTE), and is planning to use JIO as her secondary SIM.
Try using as Primary Sim, Some phones support VoLTE only for primary sim slot.
shamanth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2017, 14:33   #177
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,047
Thanked: 480 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalluDude View Post
Guys, have a question.
Wifey got 2 JIO sims yesterday, but is not unable to activate it. In fact, the signal bars in the phone are not turning up. Any idea why?

She's using Redmi Note 3 (supports VolTE), and is planning to use JIO as her secondary SIM.
Please keep 4G data on on the SIM.
Preferred data selection should be set to LTE.

Also check if VoLTE service is enabled on your phone (if your phone supports VoLTE).

If phone doesn't support VoLTE, please installe Jio4GVoice app.
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2017, 15:01   #178
BHPian
 
MalluDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cochin
Posts: 382
Thanked: 28 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

thanks @shamanth and @DCEite

I put it as the primary SIM and it worked perfectly. No sweat!
MalluDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 14:16   #179
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,749
Thanked: 89,404 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

In other news, Reliance Jio has crossed 100 million users. It's the first time any new entrant in a mature market has crossed 100 million...so soon!
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2017, 14:43   #180
Senior - BHPian
 
dass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,054
Thanked: 434 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
In other news, Reliance Jio has crossed 100 million users. It's the first time any new entrant in a mature market has crossed 100 million...so soon!
I think the real test for them would be post the free mania wades off in April. How many of those 100M subscribers continue to remain active is anyone's guess at the moment.
dass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Connect by Reliance Jio fundubytes In-Car Entertainment 33 20th January 2017 17:39
The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata) sk456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 720 11th December 2015 09:00
Reliance’s reduced petrol and diesel price!! Nice lesson learned from experience.. kph The Indian Car Scene 71 29th September 2009 19:37
A Competent experience: Do 3 free services, get 4th free - Now honored! phamilyman Indian Car Dealerships 17 18th July 2009 19:27
VW Jetta limited time offer 3yrs/45,000km maintence free package + Insurance Free Sahil The Indian Car Scene 15 17th April 2009 23:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:18.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks