Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th September 2016, 16:05   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 1,029
Thanked: 160 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Mods, please merge this post with above one.
Just now heard from my brother that once you insert Jio sim in a handset, you have to keep that sim in that handset even after 31-12-2016 if you don't want to brick the phone.
From this I understand that the IMEI no. of that sim slot can be disabled by Reliance if we remove the Jio sim from that IMEI sim slot after 31-12-2016.

If this is true, I would buy a Lyf Phone to use Jio sim just to be on a safer side.
What say Bhpians?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 18:38   #47
BHPian
 
wrongturn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 209
Thanked: 414 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
Mods, please merge this post with above one.
Just now heard from my brother that once you insert Jio sim in a handset, you have to keep that sim in that handset even after 31-12-2016 if you don't want to brick the phone.
From this I understand that the IMEI no. of that sim slot can be disabled by Reliance if we remove the Jio sim from that IMEI sim slot after 31-12-2016.

If this is true, I would buy a Lyf Phone to use Jio sim just to be on a safer side.
What say Bhpians?
OMG! Seriously? How can anyone believe in such rumors? No, your imei no. or phone will not be blocked by Jio and can't be locked by any network provider in India. Do a little googling on sim & imei, you will understand the relation. And just enjoy the free data till 31st December 2016, it's Jio's testing phase and they still have to address the huge call drop issue and connectivity issues hence they can't commence their services commercially. I have two Jio Sims and have downloaded 500GB+ data in less than 30 days. Competition is nervous and hence the rumors.
wrongturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 18:55   #48
BHPian
 
jkrishnakj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 519
Thanked: 312 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quick check - how do you get to measure the speed of the data speeds? I have a Samsung smart phone and have a working jio connection. I tried navigating all the settings to see what speeds i get, but somehow, i couldn't quite figure out.
jkrishnakj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 18:57   #49
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
Quick check - how do you get to measure the speed of the data speeds? I have a Samsung smart phone and have a working jio connection. I tried navigating all the settings to see what speeds i get, but somehow, i couldn't quite figure out.
Download an app called Speedtest from Google play. That'll do the measurement for you.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 18:57   #50
BHPian
 
KK_HakunaMatata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 386
Thanked: 366 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
Quick check - how do you get to measure the speed of the data speeds? I have a Samsung smart phone and have a working jio connection. I tried navigating all the settings to see what speeds i get, but somehow, i couldn't quite figure out.
Download speedtest.net app from play store. It is the best.

Last edited by KK_HakunaMatata : 25th September 2016 at 18:59.
KK_HakunaMatata is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 19:00   #51
BHPian
 
jkrishnakj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 519
Thanked: 312 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Thanks Eddy and Hakunamatata. Never occurred to me. Somehow, i guess i'm having a bad "brain" day today.
jkrishnakj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 19:09   #52
BHPian
 
redcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 221
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

There is another app launched by government of India TRAI to test speed. App is TRAI MySpeed.
redcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2016, 23:37   #53
BHPian
 
crackparag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 81
Thanked: 69 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Download an app called Speedtest from Google play. That'll do the measurement for you.
or simply go to www.fast.com from your browser. Its simple and accurate!

Separately, I have been using Jio for a while now and its simply superb. I love the fact that their network is widespread and similar everywhere I have travelled. I have got insane 4G speeds in some places in Goa and Rajkot where Vodafone struggled to even get 2G!
crackparag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2016, 00:14   #54
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,381
Thanked: 14,302 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackparag View Post
or simply go to www.fast.com from your browser. Its simple and accurate!
What does that even mean?

Read this post to understand Internet connection performance. The speedtest.net is best because it let's you pick the server that is within your ISP. If you pick something else, it means nothing.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:04   #55
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

If I use the Jio Sim in a dual SIM phone, can I use whatsapp on my other Airtel number (without switching accounts/numbers). I can obviously do that if I use Wifi or Airtel data but is there a workaround that allows me to use Jio data ?
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:11   #56
BHPian
 
redcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 221
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
If I use the Jio Sim in a dual SIM phone, can I use whatsapp on my other Airtel number (without switching accounts/numbers). I can obviously do that if I use Wifi or Airtel data but is there a workaround that allows me to use Jio data ?
Yes you can. I am using that way.
redcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:12   #57
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by redcruiser View Post
Yes you can. I am using that way.
How ? Details please.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:35   #58
BHPian
 
KK_HakunaMatata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 386
Thanked: 366 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
How ? Details please.
Yes I am doing it. Whatsapp though uses a phone number, it is assigned to a particular phone and not to a particular number.

I had only Airtel SIM and had WhatsApp with the same number. Now, my primary SIM is Jio and my mobile is connected to Jio data all day, but I still use the same whatsapp number.

KK
KK_HakunaMatata is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:37   #59
BHPian
 
redcruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 221
Thanked: 215 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
How ? Details please.
Switch On the data of Jio Sim. Whatsapp will work once there is network be it from WiFi or from data of other Sim.
redcruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2016, 15:54   #60
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,402
Thanked: 4,678 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Hmmm, will try again at home. Did not work for me the first time I tried it.

Thanks guys.

Btw - I get upto 4 Mbps speeds at my place in dwarka and voice connectivity to other operators is horrible.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Connect by Reliance Jio fundubytes In-Car Entertainment 33 20th January 2017 17:39
The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata) sk456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 720 11th December 2015 09:00
Reliance’s reduced petrol and diesel price!! Nice lesson learned from experience.. kph The Indian Car Scene 71 29th September 2009 19:37
A Competent experience: Do 3 free services, get 4th free - Now honored! phamilyman Indian Car Dealerships 17 18th July 2009 19:27
VW Jetta limited time offer 3yrs/45,000km maintence free package + Insurance Free Sahil The Indian Car Scene 15 17th April 2009 23:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:41.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks