Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st October 2016, 09:00   #61
BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 990
Thanked: 143 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

So Bhpians, I got the Free Jio Sim and inserted into my 1 year old Moto E2 in 1st Sim Slot.
I am able to use the Internet on that Moto E2. But I am unable to share its Data through WiFi Hotspot on other devices even though the other devices are able to connect to Moto E2 through Wifi.

I have Xiaomi Redmi 1S. I am able to connect Redmi 1S to Moto E2's Wifi Hotspot. i.e. Redmi 1S shows "Connected". But I am unable to use Internet on Redmi 1S.

I have tried this even on Micromax A117. Even it shows connected to Moto E2 Wifi Hotspot, but could not browse any website nor Whatsapp.

Any solution on this?
Or do I have to buy Lyf Phone or Jiofi Device to use Wifi Hotpsot on other devices?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 14:47   #62
BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 990
Thanked: 143 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi
I am unable to share its Data through WiFi Hotspot on other devices even though the other devices are able to connect to Moto E2 through Wifi.

Any solution on this?
I have tried calling the below numbers but one message "This number does not exists" is constantly played on those numbers-
18608933333, 18008899999.

Please give Valid Jio Customer Care Numbers.
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 19:52   #63
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 41
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

Try 197 from your Jio mobile
digitalnirvana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2016, 23:41   #64
BHPian
 
IndigoXLGrandDi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solapur (MH-13)
Posts: 990
Thanked: 143 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

I had read somewhere that Jio requires 5.1.

But I was not aware of the fact that The Android on Moto E2 was 5.0.2 out of the box.

When I updated it to 5.1, I am able to share WiFi hotspot on mobiles but not on my VAIO Laptop running Win 7 Professional 32 Bit. How to share on laptop?
IndigoXLGrandDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 13:29   #65
BHPian
 
concorde24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Chennai
Posts: 50
Thanked: 56 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Really frustrated with the JIO sim card procurement itself

I had generated the coupon code on my Moto X play and it was showing ready for pickup at any Reliance Xpress outlet. When i went there last week, after my eKYC verification, the coupon code shows already redeemed. I have not redeemed till now and looks like some one has either faked my IMEI and generated new code or directly used my coupon. The worst part is we cannot generate any coupon as IMEI is locked. Simple google search on JIO coupon showing so many complaints on it being redeemed without actually customer using it.

Reliance Xpress asked me to contact JIO customercare/email for blocking the other sim and generate coupon again. JIO customer care numbers are not reachable from Airtel Landline/Mobile at all. I have mailed JIO mail address and contacted via their online form, via Twitter account, but no response yet. This is very pathetic service from the company and i seriously doubt how they will provide support once they convert to paid model.

My suggestion to Bhpians is please do not generate coupon in advance and store in mobile. Just go to store, enquire if sim is available and then generate on the spot and use it.
concorde24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2016, 13:56   #66
BHPian
 
pixantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 501
Thanked: 563 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vijaymishra View Post
I have been using Reliance Jio for over a month, very happy with the data coverage and speed. though the interconnection with other telco's are still an issue. So far I have made 5 calls and only 1 got connected.
One of the issues that I faced was during registering the Sim, it took over an hour for the SIM to register I had to go for online help to get this fixed. Since then no issues in the home network.
I traveled to Mumbai during Ganesha festival and just could not get Jio sim to register no matter what I tried. (restart phone, enable Airplane mode etc)
Not sure if others have observed this issue.
Have you switched on 'data roaming' option in 'mobile network' option? Seems to be the logical remedy....
pixantz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 17:41   #67
BHPian
 
landcruiser123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: BLR, KA, IND
Posts: 825
Thanked: 1,055 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

I got my hands on a jio sim today. A friend knew the guy at the store, their friendship helped.

Is it true that it takes 24 hours activate?
landcruiser123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 18:13   #68
Senior - BHPian
 
aks_karthik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,858
Thanked: 190 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Hi Team,

Anyone has an additional coupon to get a Jio SIM?
could be useful to me.
aks_karthik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 18:23   #69
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dilli, Berlin
Posts: 9
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by landcruiser123 View Post
I got my hands on a jio sim today. A friend knew the guy at the store, their friendship helped.

Is it true that it takes 24 hours activate?
AFAIK 24 hours is the maximum time. My friend's sim was activated minutes of him inserting the sim in his Iphone. I inserted in the second sim slot and had to activate the data on this sim for it to work. Before it, even the network bars weren't visible; found this to be quite strange.
DetonatoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 19:05   #70
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,976 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Here is an observation. There is a good chance that the Jio suite of apps makes some deep changes in the phones' configurations to support the plumbings for apps that make even a non-4G device to be able to use their network and several other such. The result of this is that the device may not connect to the data network of other operators at a later date. So please check this carefully.

My new 4G handset stopped connecting to the data network of any of the Voda, Airtel or Aircel sims (I have all three) post my JIO suite download (disclaimer - I don't have a Jio sim and it was a sheer stupidity on my part to have downloaded the Jio suite). I tried every trick in the book to make my phone connect back to the regular networks but everything failed. The APNs were all good, data including data roaming was on... Every possible thing I tried and failed. The phone behaved as if I didn't have a data contract. Then I found out from Vodafone (whose sim is my primary for this phone) that their network has disconnected me with a message that my handset is not compatible. After every possible effort Vodafone guys gave up and asked me to buy a new handset

It is a different story that Vodafone simply does not know how to triage real issues. I even asked them to check the logs and let me know what parameters are being reported back by my phone because of which the network is not allowing my phone to connect. They said they can't tell me such details! Nor could they resolve the issue. In the meantime I had removed the Jio apps suite which seemed to have started my problems. However, the changes deep inside were most probably not reverted back and the issue persisted. Finally, I had to do a factory reset. Immediately the device started running with every network including Vodafone.

Does that conclusively prove that Jio apps caused the issue? No, but the problems started immediately after I installed the suite. And I had all other regular applications which never caused any problems before that and neither they have any issues now after I installed them again post reset.

Last edited by Zappo : 14th October 2016 at 19:06.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 22:49   #71
BHPian
 
landcruiser123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: BLR, KA, IND
Posts: 825
Thanked: 1,055 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by landcruiser123 View Post
Is it true that it takes 24 hours activate?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DetonatoR View Post
AFAIK 24 hours is the maximum time
Thanks. Mine has activated 5 hours later.
landcruiser123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 23:06   #72
Distinguished - BHPian
 
saket77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ranchi
Posts: 3,076
Thanked: 3,668 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

@Zappo: There are a few apps for android which claim to make 3G sets paritally compatible with 4G Jio running data at 3G speed at least. I have not tried using them but as a process, the installation guide asks you to alter some setting which is not accessible directly but only through such apps. I believe Jio apps could alter such settings. Also, since installation of Jio apps enables an LTE device to 'become' VoLTE', it is highly possible that what you doubt may be true.

Regards.
saket77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2016, 23:31   #73
BANNED
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: India
Posts: 74
Thanked: 57 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
So Bhpians, I got the Free Jio Sim and inserted into my 1 year old Moto E2 in 1st Sim Slot.
I am able to use the Internet on that Moto E2. But I am unable to share its Data through WiFi Hotspot on other devices even though the other devices are able to connect to Moto E2 through Wifi.

I have Xiaomi Redmi 1S. I am able to connect Redmi 1S to Moto E2's Wifi Hotspot. i.e. Redmi 1S shows "Connected". But I am unable to use Internet on Redmi 1S.

I have tried this even on Micromax A117. Even it shows connected to Moto E2 Wifi Hotspot, but could not browse any website nor Whatsapp.

Any solution on this?
Or do I have to buy Lyf Phone or Jiofi Device to use Wifi Hotpsot on other devices?
I have been using the jio sim for around two weeks on my Lenovo K5 note & have also tried out the hotspot from this mobile & it easily got connected & were able to surf seamlessly.
vdm295 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2016, 10:59   #74
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Calcutta
Posts: 41
Thanked: 31 Times
Default

@zappo your fears are unfounded, the apps do check if you are on a jio MSISDN but it does not bar Internet access for other operators. If I were you, I would have checked the sim level settings for data. Nevertheless, good that it is resolved.
digitalnirvana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2016, 12:10   #75
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NH209
Posts: 1,607
Thanked: 700 Times
Default Re: Reliance Jio and the FREE mania!

Whatever it is: don't use Jio 4g for IRCTC tatkal booking. Twice i was warned that i had exceeded the booking limit for the day.

On the other hand, i enjoy good internet speeds even in the remote rural farm!

Last edited by ramzsys : 15th October 2016 at 12:13.
ramzsys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Connect by Reliance Jio fundubytes In-Car Entertainment 33 20th January 2017 17:39
The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata) sk456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 720 11th December 2015 09:00
Reliance’s reduced petrol and diesel price!! Nice lesson learned from experience.. kph The Indian Car Scene 71 29th September 2009 19:37
A Competent experience: Do 3 free services, get 4th free - Now honored! phamilyman Indian Car Dealerships 17 18th July 2009 19:27
VW Jetta limited time offer 3yrs/45,000km maintence free package + Insurance Free Sahil The Indian Car Scene 15 17th April 2009 23:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:58.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks