Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30th January 2008, 12:30   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
trrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Alleppey, Kerala
Posts: 2,113
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hi Sahil,

> I am bringing this thread back up from it's grave - I am facing problems again !

Sorry to hear that!

> All computers are connected with the instruction given by trrk previously,
> but there is a major lag in speed.

Immediately after the changes you did report good speed. Were there any changes in your setup recently?

I don't have any any ideas right now. Hope somebody else can solve this for you.
trrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2008, 12:33   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,888 Times
Default

Trrk - Yes there was an increase in speed with your setup compared to the mess before but it still wasn't as quick as the host. And now the lag has just been increase, the speed increase at times its very erratic.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2008, 13:24   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

Sahil: You have mentioned that your modem is a modem and not a router! First, tell me what make and model is your modem. If your modem supports PPPoE mode, we can eliminate the need for a computer to share internet to the network clients and make the modem do it for you.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2008, 14:05   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

I have an Airtel ADSL broadband connection at home. I share that over wireless LAN through Linksys WAG 200G Wireless ADSL modem+router. Excellent speeds and effortless connectivity.
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 15:31   #20
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,888 Times
Default

Sumit - I am using tkd-318 which has 4 ports, previously i had just a regular dlink adsl router with single port. But since i have a voip phone i needed to connect that directly to the modem hence i changed over to the 4 port one.
SO what do u suggest i do?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2008, 16:36   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Shillong
Posts: 925
Thanked: 81 Times
Default

You can directly connect your modem to the network using the Ethernet port. Before this, refer to your modem's documentation and configure it for PPPoE mode. That way, your modem will directly connect to the internet and will take over the job of the current computer. This way we also ensure that there are no speed issues for any computer on the network.

PM me if you require detailed explanation.
SumitB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Fast Is Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) connection? Rehaan Gadgets, Computers & Software 945 11th August 2017 22:50
Internet connection sharing without WiFi access point gopz Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 5th December 2007 13:03
file sharing on home network vivekiny2k Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 24th May 2007 10:30
How fast is your internet connection? dan400 Shifting gears 1 12th August 2004 17:16


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks