Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th September 2007, 19:15   #1
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Mobile internet suggestions please?

Till about a year ago I used Reliance CDMA and the internet while travelling was great. Now I have switched back to GSM so I need some suggestions for cheap decent laptop internet connectivity when I travel - maybe 4-5 days every two months.

I dont want a monthly rental if possible as some months I may not travel at all.

My options as I see them
  1. Reliance PCMCIA/USB card
  2. Tata Indicom
  3. GSM internet
Dont know much so would be grateful for any inputs.
deepakvrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 19:29   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Well the speeds on HUTCH network are better than AIRTEL but you wont get anything above 10 mostly 6 - 8 KBPS (KILOBYTES). AIRTEL CHARGES ARE LIKE 400 - 600 unlimited and on hutch there is data limit.

I would recommend PCMCIA card as reliance phone net was good enough for surfing and checking email. Its still better than GSM.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 19:38   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Is the PCMCIA better than USB? I thought that if I get a USB Indicom - its just 150/month - I can use it for my desktop too when my broadband is down. So I have a back up internet.

How is Tata Indicom coverage and quality vis a vis Reliance? I was very happy with the Reliance for the laptop connectivity.
deepakvrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 19:39   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
kpzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 5,525
Thanked: 1,515 Times
Default

Tata Indicom is a reliable option but expensive.
It'll cost u around Rs 1200 per month for the unlimited usage package.

More details abt Tata Indicom can be found here.

Last edited by kpzen : 4th September 2007 at 19:42.
kpzen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 19:42   #5
BANNED
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 293
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Tata Indicom is a reliable option but expensive.
It'll cost u around Rs 1200 per month for the unlimited usage package.

How is connectivity in small towns? Cost is not so much of a factor as if I take the 150/month package I get 5 hrs and the 50p/min. Sounds OK to me.

What about USB v/s PCMCIA?
deepakvrao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2007, 20:56   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Tata coverage is very good up here in North, no idea about Bangalore and surrounding areas. Mumbai/Cochin coverage was good though when I travelled there.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2007, 10:39   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Obviously, Airtel has the widest coverage, even in the smallest of the villages.. but probably less than BSNL.. but BSNL does'nt work half the time.

Go for Hutch/Tata if you want speed.. Reliance is a good compromise between speed and coverage, but can throw up hefty bills if you are not carefull.. Go for Airtel if you want max coverage and you are ok with slow connection.

PS: Airtel GPRS cannot be used to connect to ur office n/w using VPN, becoz they give u a private IP address starting with 10.* which is NATed.

Last edited by spadival : 5th September 2007 at 10:41.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 08:34   #8
adc
Senior - BHPian
 
adc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1,343
Thanked: 2,072 Times
Default

I am thinking of having the airtel usb data modem for interent coverage, which I need in rural areas when travelling. Airtel card seems the best for coverage though speed can be an issue. This Q&A I saw on their website has me confused.

""". Does Airtel USB Modem work on GPRS or the GSM data platform?
A. Airtel USB Modem works on EDGE / GPRS platform.""""

Does this mean that even if Airtel has coverage in a particular rural area, but not GPRS enabled [definitely Edge will not be there], then the Airtel card will not work.
adc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 13:38   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
iraghava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bhaiyyaland
Posts: 8,028
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Just bought a new TATA USB modem to replace my older Sierra Wireless Data Card. First impressions are that it is equally good speed wise, if not better while being a lot smaller in size.

But, it does tend to get very hot on extended usage.
iraghava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 13:47   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,976 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spadival View Post
PS: Airtel GPRS cannot be used to connect to ur office n/w using VPN, becoz they give u a private IP address starting with 10.* which is NATed.
Not very sure about this statement. It probably is different for different cities. I have used an Airtel broadband connection (Not GPRS) which has a private IP address starting with 10.* And it seems to work fine while connecting to the office network via VPN. Similarly Sify also gives a private IP address starting with 10.* here, and again can connect using VPN easily.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 13:58   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,465
Thanked: 692 Times
Default

If the VPN ports are not firewalled, then it should not pose a problem with a private IP address.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 14:21   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
phamilyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 5,581
Thanked: 3,242 Times
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by adc View Post
""". Does Airtel USB Modem work on GPRS or the GSM data platform?
A. Airtel USB Modem works on EDGE / GPRS platform.""""

Does this mean that even if Airtel has coverage in a particular rural area, but not GPRS enabled [definitely Edge will not be there], then the Airtel card will not work.
I don't think so. I have seen airtel data cards being used in some very godforsaken areas in MP - they should have good GPRS coverage.

Ofc, it can't ever match BSNL in coverage in rural areas to begin with
phamilyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 16:40   #13
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Dont go for Data Cards as new laptops do not accept PCMCIA cards any more. It is better to go for USB. Another advantage of USB is, you can use on laptop as well as desktops. If you are planning to use airtel GPRS then why not connect your GPRS enabled phone via data cable.

I am using Airtel mobile office connection for Rs.199 unlimited usage with my Nokia E50 which acts as a modem when connected to my PC / Laptop via bundled USB cable or Bluetooth.
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 17:41   #14
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 139
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill1182 View Post
Dont go for Data Cards as new laptops do not accept PCMCIA cards any more. It is better to go for USB. Another advantage of USB is, you can use on laptop as well as desktops. If you are planning to use airtel GPRS then why not connect your GPRS enabled phone via data cable.

I am using Airtel mobile office connection for Rs.199 unlimited usage with my Nokia E50 which acts as a modem when connected to my PC / Laptop via bundled USB cable or Bluetooth.

I cant seem to find unlimited for 199 on their site. Is yours a corporate deal?
kumar2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2007, 17:58   #15
BHPian
 
bill1182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 85
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumar2007 View Post
I cant seem to find unlimited for 199 on their site. Is yours a corporate deal?
I have a corporate connection but i did not get this as a corporate deal. You can just call the customer care and tell that your friend has this scheme and you would like to avail that. They provide it. One of my friend did the same way.
bill1182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audi Mobile Terminal (Mobile Audi showroom) launched in India Aditya Indian Car Dealerships 3 23rd September 2015 15:28
Have any of you tried mobile internet? GTO Gadgets, Computers & Software 60 18th April 2012 08:48
T-Mobile G1 Android mobile phone introduced yesterday but nobody here seems to care.. srijit Gadgets, Computers & Software 33 7th October 2008 15:57


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks