Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th December 2004, 19:08   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
ported_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 2,391
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Where is my EDIT button??

I can't find my edit button. I have tried all buttons that i could, and all the options. I can't see the EDIT button, even though some of the other members that I have spoken to can. I have as of now given up. Any help will be thouroughly appreciated. Please remember, till I find my EDIT button, i will not be able to work on my Porsche History thread. Thanks.
ported_head is offline  
Old 16th December 2004, 19:11   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
ported_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 2,391
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Alright this is really weird, I can see a EDIT button only in this post. I had posted in the morning, but i can't see the EDIT buttons there. And more importantly i cant see them on any of my PMH posts.
ported_head is offline  
Old 16th December 2004, 19:17   #3
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,357 Times
Default

Ported,

You have exactly the same features that other members from the "BHPian" category do.

However, BHPians are allowed to edit their posts only within the first 5 minutes after posting. Not after that.

In exceptional cases, you may contact anyone from the moderator team to edit a post of yours. But keep in mind that this will be done only in extreme circumstances and we dont want to be bombed by members wishing for edits.

Trust that clears the matter up,

GTO
GTO is offline  
Old 16th December 2004, 19:58   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
ported_head's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 2,391
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Alright , that does clear things up. But may I ask, is there a reason for such a limit, because 5 mins is an extremely small time frame. It just happened to me, i was posting in the PMH, and went through the whole thing and realised that i needed to edit something, but sadly the time frame expired. Now I would not like to keep bugging the mods every time i would need to edit something, and i'm sure they wouldn't like it either. And with my internet connection, sometimes it does take more than 5 minutes for a page to load, in which case it gets a little inconvenient. It might be nice if we could go back to the old ways and edit it whenever we want to, or anything else but more than 5 mins, please.
ported_head is offline  
Old 16th December 2004, 20:38   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 78
Thanked: Once
Default

i will be on the side of ported head. the time gap should be more.i understand that it has some strong reasons to do like that, say difficulties in tracking of edited posts by members n mods but still it should be atleast 15 - 20 mins. plz take this for technical reasons. i had hathway connection before, resently swifted my place. here hathway is not available. iam running on local cable. it really sucks. many a times its dead slow. takes 1 to 2 mins for openning a page. for me to go trough the topics itself takes long time so 5 mins is nothing for me to do anything. concidering the sppeds of net plz increase the time to atleast 15 - 20 mins, that would help a lot. check on this n let us know.
ravi_28_8 is offline  
Old 17th December 2004, 01:11   #6
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

Yes GTO,

I think maybe extending the edit timeframe to 20mins or an hour would be beneficial if the software permits it.

cheers
R
Rehaan is offline  
Old 17th December 2004, 09:30   #7
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,561
Thanked: 80,357 Times
Default

Alright champs. Time limit has been extended to 20 minutes.

GTO
GTO is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jenson Button to retire? EDIT: Stays at McLaren for 2016 Tushar Int'l Motorsport 11 1st October 2015 15:08
Final battle for 2009 world championship title. EDIT : Button champion! arun.sidhes Int'l Motorsport 10 23rd November 2009 12:22
Sao Paulo- Brazilian F1 Grand Prix EDIT: Jenson Button WDC, Brawn GP WCC PAVAN KADAM Int'l Motorsport 57 29th October 2009 18:55
OMG - Button leaves BAR for Williams!!! Rtech Int'l Motorsport 11 12th August 2004 15:11
Button to be Schumi successor?? Dippy Int'l Motorsport 5 29th April 2004 22:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks