Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th December 2008, 19:09   #1
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Undersea Cable CUT

Internet service providers (ISPs) are currently observing failure in the undersea cable system (FEA) between Alxendria (Egypt) and Palermo (Italy). Cable systems SMW3, SMW4 towards Atlantic are out of service, As per the information received from service providers outage is suspected due to cable cuts or shunt faults.

Currently there is no estimate to repair (ETR) provided by the service providers
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 19:57   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Any idea what ISP's will be affected?
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:02   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

There are trying to divert the traffic.

Reliance has issues and so does VSNL.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:17   #4
BHPian
 
sanjayatarizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: "God's own Shaap"
Posts: 352
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Just the thing we needed in recession hit times ...
sanjayatarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:17   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Maybe this is the reason why my ISP is working bad and I am having difficulties even in accessing tbhp and international websites.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:21   #6
jat
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SINGAPORE
Posts: 265
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Now I know, why I have been facing problem with my internet. Connection problems and slow speed. Thanks whatcanthisbe
jat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:28   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NA
Posts: 513
Thanked: Once
Default

Oh so this is the reason why my Net connection has also been facing problems.
Similar thing happened earlier also, then the undersea cables got cut by some ships Anchor.
bhp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:41   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Almost all ISPs are affected, the cables between Asia and the Middle east with Europe have been cut. Both Flag 4 (Reliance) and GLobal Crossing (TATA) the two largest submarine cable operators as well as mutiple-owner cable systems like SEAMEWE (South East Asia Middle East Western Europe) and other smaller cable operators are affected.

Most call centres remain cut-off from the rest of the world, as a result. They're working to reroute traffic, but the cause is unknown.

Last edited by Steeroid : 19th December 2008 at 20:49.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:42   #9
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

welcome guys, i was wondering why my internet(airtel BB & Reliance Data card) was slow where as the connection at work was fine, did a lil research and gor the it guys at work to find out why and this is why, work uses the Pacific link but since all / most of the traffic is being routed there get ready for slow internet
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 20:53   #10
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,556
Thanked: 2,758 Times
Default

This is the second time that something like this is happening. I don't remember but submarine cable got cut at around the same region early this year.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 21:02   #11
ECM
BHPian
 
ECM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 221
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

I am told things will be much better after 11 pm tonite.
ECM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 22:11   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default

Getting this popup since evening:
Attached Images
 
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 22:24   #13
BHPian
 
hrman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 875
Thanked: 296 Times
Default

Yeah. My MS Outlook in Office has been down since morning. My net connection at home is too slow too. Thnks for pointing this out.
hrman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2008, 22:52   #14
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Getting this popup since evening:
What ISP is that ?

Yeah I am trying to connect to my client via VPN but no luck
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2008, 00:26   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

"The shut down will take several days to fix, and could have a major impact on the region and across the world."
India suffers massive internet disruption after undersea cables break - Times Online



"It's still unclear how the cables were damaged or when they will be fixed. Reliance Globalcom, a communications provider in India, told Bloomberg News that there was no time frame for getting the network fixed. France Telecom said it plans to send a boat to fix the problem and should have service restored to normal by December 31, according to Bloomberg."

Damaged undersea cables disrupting service | Wireless - CNET News
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a Pioneer AUX cable for iPod.... normally_crazy In-Car Entertainment 18 19th March 2010 13:10
Riding with a Cut Accelerator Cable? svsantosh Motorbikes 21 15th May 2009 01:44
Sony Unilink cable (bus audio cable) issue philipreji In-Car Entertainment 1 3rd January 2009 16:32
Update: 3 undersea cable cuts hit India net traffic deepclutch Shifting gears 1 21st December 2008 09:08
wat do you do if the clutch cable breaks speedsatya Shifting gears 10 18th February 2005 09:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks