Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th October 2008, 06:07   #1681
Ram
Senior - BHPian
 
Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Singapore, Mumbai, Nagpur
Posts: 2,164
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
This has happened thrice now in the past couple of days. I use Mozilla to browse the forum and it works very well. However, if I google something up and the results show a T-BHP link, I am not able to open the page. This is the error I get. Does not happen all the time, but happens frequently enough to be annoying. Actually, the message itself says that this might be a temporary error !

Problem at my end ?
Yes. That's because your browser URL-bar says https. That's http secure.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...al-oil-71.html

Just change the https:// to http:// and retry !
Ram
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008, 09:57   #1682
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram View Post
Yes. That's because your browser URL-bar says https. That's http secure.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...al-oil-71.html

Just change the https:// to http:// and retry !
Ram
Admins should set a redirect in htaccess file to move https to http. This will help users.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
To add to what Techno has said, why dont you try clicking the next page number itself, it might make it a little easier (thats what i do, infact i haven't really noticed the < > buttons!).
Rehaan, you should try browsing the forum on a mobile device. IT becomes extremely difficult to navigate by pressing page number or the < > buttons.
Even on normal browsers, expanding the < > to something like < Prev Next > would be helpful, I feel. It was mentioned that it is difficult to modify vBulletin code. I'll see if this can be done with minimal mods.

Last edited by srijit : 26th October 2008 at 10:02.
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008, 23:22   #1683
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 47,151
Thanked: 85,039 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Admins should set a redirect in htaccess file to move https to http. This will help users.
Can't, simply because a good number of us use the secure https.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008, 23:32   #1684
BHPian
 
absynthguzzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 650
Thanked: 223 Times
Default

a simple sticky on " ask the gurus" section with all stages of car audio wiring diagrams would be cool.This could cover basic setups and max upto 2 subs in parallel and series and whatnot.Im sure we'll end up with the ones with capacitors and what not as well as future contributions .


I did a DIY and had to resort to other sites like 12volt to refer. I'd like T-bhp to be complete as a reference tool and would be worthy of its value and depth!.

There are of course wiring diagrams on this site, but hidden within various audio threads.These are hard to search directly

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 26th October 2008 at 23:34.
absynthguzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008, 23:36   #1685
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,389
Thanked: 19,143 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Can't, simply because a good number of us use the secure https.
Oh please keep it it as is. If changed my team-bhp browsing days from office are over. All forums are blocked but I can access team-bhp as the firewall allows all https sites.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008, 23:05   #1686
BHPian
 
ankit.jhamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: new delhi
Posts: 574
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

mods
I generally get 2-3 duplicate messages whenever T-BHP mods send me a message(thread/post related).Is it possible that i get only one message.

thanks

ankit jhamb
ankit.jhamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 21:14   #1687
BHPian
 
Path_Finder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 623
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

After some search I found out this thread (The Distinguished BHPian)listing out the Distinguished-BHPians. It will be good if somewhere a write-up on the contribution made by each of them is also made. I guess an announcement will be made when someone is accorded the status – could be a thread with collection of those announcements only.

For some I can guess their contributions, but not for all. Hence this suggestion – it will be good for someone like me who joined the forum recently.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Oh please keep it it as is. If changed my team-bhp browsing days from office are over. All forums are blocked but I can access team-bhp as the firewall allows all https sites.
One problem (rather nuisance) I see with https access is that for every page I get a pop up alert that "the page has both secure and unseucre items... you want to proceed?" - Is there a way to correct this? (BTW, I use IE7)

Last edited by Rehaan : 29th October 2008 at 23:26. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the EDIT button to add to a post within 20 minutes.
Path_Finder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2008, 23:49   #1688
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,261
Thanked: 22,221 Times
Default

We had noticed the httpS + google issue some time back, but unfortunately we haven't come accross a perfect solution as yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Admins should set a redirect in htaccess file to move https to http. This will help users.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Can't, simply because a good number of us use the secure https.
Is there a way to redirect only "robots" to http pages from https, so that way google will only index the http pages and real users can use httpS ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by srijit View Post
Rehaan, you should try browsing the forum on a mobile device. IT becomes extremely difficult to navigate by pressing page number or the < > buttons....
Point noted.
I checked the "mobile" version of the forum too and unfortunately it too has the same tiny buttons.

As was mentioned before - this is something that is set in the forum software we use. However, we will keep this in mind for the next skin upgrade and see if we can find a workaround.


Quote:
Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
a simple sticky on " ask the gurus" section with all stages of car audio wiring diagrams would be cool.This could cover basic setups and max upto 2 subs in parallel and series and whatnot.Im sure we'll end up with the ones with capacitors and what not as well as future contributions ....
Absynthguzzler,

It would probably be best to raise this point in the ICE section - and try to attract members to contribute there so that a collection of wiring diagrams can form.
Once this happens we could put it as a new thread or an article.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankit.jhamb View Post
mods
I generally get 2-3 duplicate messages whenever T-BHP mods send me a message(thread/post related).Is it possible that i get only one message.
Thats strange. We've never heard of this problem before (except with posting a classifieds ad, which was recently resolved.)

Do any other members have this problem?

Ankit, please use the CONTACT US form and it will be looked into.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Path_Finder View Post
....It will be good if somewhere a write-up on the contribution made by each of them is also made.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Path_Finder View Post
....For some I can guess their contributions, but not for all. Hence this suggestion – it will be good for someone like me who joined the forum recently.
It would be difficult to summarize their contributions and ideally we would like members to take some time out to click the links to the DBHPians profiles and then actually read some of their posts. That would probably provide the best picture to the new members.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Path_Finder View Post
....I guess an announcement will be made when someone is accorded the status – could be a thread with collection of those announcements only.
The official announcement is the list that you have linked to. Lately i guess it has become a trend to have a "shifting gears" thread congratulating DBHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Path_Finder View Post
....One problem (rather nuisance) I see with https access is that for every page I get a pop up alert that "the page has both secure and unseucre items... you want to proceed?" - Is there a way to correct this? (BTW, I use IE7)
Exactly why we are considering preventing google from indexing httpS pages (because when a first-time viewer clicks a google link to TBHP pointing to a https page, it gives that popup warning).
A possible way to prevent this depends on browser, some offer an "accept this certificate permanently" or "dont ask me again" option. Check if thats available in IE7 or if there is a workaround for "https certificate warning".

cheers,
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 00:12   #1689
BHPian
 
ankit.jhamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: new delhi
Posts: 574
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post

Thats strange. We've never heard of this problem before (except with posting a classifieds ad, which was recently resolved.)

Do any other members have this problem?

Ankit, please use the CONTACT US form and it will be looked into.


the latest problem i faced was a few days ago when one of the mods had moved my post,i got 3 messages,2 of them being the same.used to happen a lot a few months ago.now whenever i ll get duplicate messages,i ll report the matter

Last edited by ankit.jhamb : 30th October 2008 at 00:18. Reason: cant add the pic:
ankit.jhamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 00:55   #1690
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

@Mods, i cant upload any pictures in the Scale Models Thread. They are all 900kb+ nad of extremely high resolution. I was able to upload this screenshot though.

Here is a screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-untitled.jpg  

Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 01:59   #1691
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Thats strange. We've never heard of this problem before (except with posting a classifieds ad, which was recently resolved.)

Do any other members have this problem?
Yeah, had this issue, though only when threads were moved.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Path_Finder View Post
One problem (rather nuisance) I see with https access is that for every page I get a pop up alert that "the page has both secure and unseucre items... you want to proceed?" - Is there a way to correct this? (BTW, I use IE7)
Yes there is...

but lets start from the scratch so that https on IE7 works without ANY warnings

1) Open https://www.team-bhp.com/forum And you'll get the following screen
Name:  1.jpg
Views: 250
Size:  44.6 KB

2) Click on continue
This is what you get next
Name:  2.jpg
Views: 153
Size:  12.3 KB

3) Click on NO here

4) Now in the address bar click on "certificate error" and then on "view certificates"
Name:  3.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  29.7 KB

5) On the next screen click install certificate
Name:  4.jpg
Views: 183
Size:  32.2 KB

6) Click "next" until you see the following screen.
Name:  5.jpg
Views: 180
Size:  29.8 KB

7) At this point you need to select the certificate store manually >> click browse >> and select trusted root certificate authorities
Name:  6.jpg
Views: 197
Size:  42.1 KB

8) Click next and finish and you'll see this kind of a warrning and you need to click YES
Name:  7.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  42.9 KB

9) The certificate import would be successful and you are done for this part.


Now getting rid of the nonsecure items warning

1) Goto tools menu and open internet options

2) Goto the tab security settings

3) Select the internet zone and click custom level [See step 5 first]

4) Scroll down until you see "Display Mixed content" >> select "Enable" and you'll be done.

5) Now some of us would not want to get rid of that warrning for all sites on the net [specially for banking online], so the workaround is to>>
>> Goto Trusted Zone
>> Click Sites
>> uncheck the require https thing
>> add "https://www.team-bhp.com" and "http://www.team-bhp.com" there
>> now goto custom security settings for trusted zone and Enable "Display Mixed Content"

6) Exit IE and reopen it

And we are done. Hope it helps.

PS: It should work on IE6 too, just the screenshots would look different.

Last edited by SLK : 30th October 2008 at 02:06.
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 09:23   #1692
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

I am not able to browse team-bhp from my bsnl broadband, but I am able to browse using a proxy. I am able to browse other sites but not the forum. There is no one to bar the site at home. I am the only one using the computer. What could be the problem.
hemanthisgreat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 09:51   #1693
BHPian
 
hemanthisgreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 587
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemanthisgreat View Post
I am not able to browse team-bhp from my bsnl broadband, but I am able to browse using a proxy. I am able to browse other sites but not the forum. There is no one to bar the site at home. I am the only one using the computer. What could be the problem.
Bsnl admitted that the problem is at their end and will be rectified within evening. Any other bsnl customers facing the same problem in Bangalore.
hemanthisgreat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 13:43   #1694
BHPian
 
srijit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 594
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Is there a way to redirect only "robots" to http pages from https, so that way google will only index the http pages and real users can use httpS ?
Yes. You can use htaccess rules to redirect robots to the non-https page. Of course, this will also affect users pretending to be robots, changing their user agent
srijit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2008, 15:39   #1695
BHPian
 
Nitronium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 391
Thanked: 19 Times
Default

Why don't you start a mobile friendly version of the site? Browsing charges are killing my prepaid balance !
Nitronium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP stands for the TRUTH. But Skoda wants to “instigate” Team-BHP and its users! GTO The Indian Car Scene 2619 23rd July 2017 19:58
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
From a Team-BHP Fan to a Team-BHP Member YNT86 Introduce yourself 5 19th November 2015 22:21
PIC : Team-BHP Stickers on Team-BHP servers! GTO Announcements 48 12th August 2014 16:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks