Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th July 2012, 22:52   #4606
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Facing a rather strange problem with Google Chrome and Team Bhp not talking well to each other. Any thread that has images in it, the page loads with the images intact and when it completes loading, the images go away and you get those icons indicating a broken link or missing image. The icon is a small square with a pink, green and blue dot within a page with a fold on top. I re installed chrome and it did not help. No issues on IE. Facing this problem only when I use team-bhp.com.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2012, 23:29   #4607
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default

@Sandeep: taking a shot in the dark here:
1. You're behind a firewall and the rules don't let you download pictures from certain sites.
2. You're visiting an old thread with broken image links (earlier Team-BHP used to allow linking of pictures on other sites, which could now be broken. For example, initial pages of the Sticker spitting thread)
3. There is a connectivity issue - when the browser encounters a slow connection, it will try to load the text first followed by the images and during that process if it gets a timeout error, then the images may not load and show as broken links.
4. The reason why you may not be encountering this issue on IE could be because it might be loading the images from the cache, while on Chrome you might have the images disabled. Make sure the images are enabled as in the following picture:
Name:  image3910638643.jpg
Views: 592
Size:  475.0 KB
(sorry about the crappy picture)
5. Use something like CCleaner to clean up your temporary files (trust me, Disk Clean doesn't do it) and check again.

Last edited by IronH4WK : 9th July 2012 at 23:32.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 12:13   #4608
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,883 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
Facing a rather strange problem with Google Chrome and Team Bhp not talking well to each other. Any thread that has images in it, the page loads with the images intact and when it completes loading, the images go away
Sandeep,

Let me take a guess now... you're using Kaspersky Antivirus ?

This seems to be a problem we face ONLY when Chrome + KIS are used together. Turning off KIS (not recommended) seems to fix it.

We aren't sure whether this is a chrome bug, or a KIS bug (or perhaps something we can change on our end).

Could you first please confirm if you're using Kaspersky or not?

Thanks,
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 20:55   #4609
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
You're behind a firewall and the rules don't let you download pictures from certain sites.
Well I am but this problem is a recent development and specific to only Team Bhp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
You're visiting an old thread with broken image links
Not in the example I was trying. The problem takes place in every thread. One image loads and the rest indicate broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
There is a connectivity issue
Well aware of this but I do not have a connectivity issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
while on Chrome you might have the images disabled. Make sure the images are enabled as in the following picture
Nope.

The setting you have shown in chrome is already in place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Let me take a guess now... you're using Kaspersky Antivirus ?
You nailed it. Internet Security to be precise. I have to say that this is a recent development. KIS has been on my desktop and laptop for quite some time and I never faced this problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Turning off KIS (not recommended) seems to fix it.
I did try this and it helped. The images loaded. However; when I did bring back KIS, the problem does not seem to come up again. Let me try a reboot and update.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2012, 22:12   #4610
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Here's what I did to temporarily iron out the problem. Tried several other things and it did not help. You may suggest if it is advisable to continue with this setting. I loaded 5 different image heavy threads and all of them loaded without a hitch. I do not face this problem with the PHOTOS section.

The image attachments show you how to make the setting change in Kaspersky Internet Security or KIS.

All I did was add Team-BHP - The Definitive Indian Car Community - Portal to the list of url's that do not require scanning of web traffic.
Attached Images
   
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2012, 11:04   #4611
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,883 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
All I did was add Team-BHP - The Definitive Indian Car Community - Portal to the list of url's that do not require scanning of web traffic.
I would NOT recommend this, and thats why i didn't suggest it as a solution.

Reason being : if Team-BHP gets infected with malware some time in the future, your KIS will not protect your computer from the infection!


There are other possible solutions for now :

1) Disable "Anti Banner" : Kaspersky > Settings > Protection > Anti Banner [uncheck]

2) Disable "Heuristics" on the same page mentioned above

3) Add team-bhp.com to the list of allowed urls on the page mentioned above (ie for ANTI BANNER only. Not for overall web traffic scanning)


I've not had to much time to test all 3 solutions, but one / some / all of them should work.


For the long term : i will be writing to Kaspersky regarding this.

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 11th July 2012 at 12:11.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 09:21   #4612
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
For the long term : i will be writing to Kaspersky regarding this
Yeah you probably should. In the meantime, I shall try some of the suggestions you put up.

I can't be sure of this. If I recall, this started as soon as my Chrome was auto updated a couple of weeks ago.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 12:02   #4613
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,264
Thanked: 807 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Please do consider having "official T BHP comparos" amongst similar cars. they will be a fabulous add on to the already accomplished official reviews. This is one of the significant differentiators between what the magazines offer and what Team BHP can provide.
Axe77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 14:20   #4614
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Disable "Anti Banner"
I am trying this from another computer that may have had different default setting. Not sure if the user changed them. It is running the same KIS as I have.

Anti Banner was already disabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Disable "Heuristics" on the same page mentioned above
Once again, was already disabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Add team-bhp.com to the list of allowed urls on the page mentioned
Tried this and it worked once when I loaded one page. Never did after that.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 17:04   #4615
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,883 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Please do consider having "official T BHP comparos" ... This is one of the significant differentiators between what the magazines offer and what Team BHP can provide.
True point, and something that has been brought up before too. Definitely something we'll consider.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
Anti Banner was already disabled.
Yeah i noticed that disabling anti banner didn't help! It seems to be the "web" part of KIS causing this problem. (Surprisingly, I don't have the issue on Kaspersky PURE).

I've written to Kaspersky and they are looking into it.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 20:17   #4616
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
I've written to Kaspersky and they are looking into it.
I think I am done with Chrome. A colleague suggested this browser called Pale Moon. In the short period I have used it, I like it. Feels miles ahead and lighter than any browser I have used.

Besides; I wanted a browser better than IE to access Team bhp till such time KIS give us a solution.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2012, 20:26   #4617
Senior - BHPian
 
shankar.balan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BLR
Posts: 8,053
Thanked: 5,303 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan

I think I am done with Chrome. A colleague suggested this browser called Pale Moon. In the short period I have used it, I like it. Feels miles ahead and lighter than any browser I have used.

Besides; I wanted a browser better than IE to access Team bhp till such time KIS give us a solution.
Will this pale moon work on apple machines?
shankar.balan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2012, 13:26   #4618
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,883 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
Besides; I wanted a browser better than IE to access Team bhp till such time KIS give us a solution.
Kaspersky support said they have escalated the issue :

1) Fixes/updates usually roll out within 15 days (lets hope this works)
2) KIS 2013 should be out soon - its a free upgrade for KIS users (though even if this fixes it, i don't consider it a good solution)

I'm still following it up, hoping to get directly in touch with someone who is in the know.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2012, 15:52   #4619
Senior - BHPian
 
ghodlur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Thane
Posts: 4,924
Thanked: 1,911 Times
Smile Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Mods,

Can I request for a creation of a seperate folder for the *Scoop* threads. It becomes very difficult to trace when the scoop was first available on the forum and thus avoid multiple threadson the same vehicle.
Location of the folder - I leave it to the Mods.
ghodlur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2012, 21:52   #4620
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,873
Thanked: 1,465 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by shankar.balan View Post
Will this pale moon work on apple machines?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
KIS 2013 should be out soon - its a free upgrade for KIS users (though even if this fixes it, i don't consider it a good solution)
Neither do I. Why can't it just work without a hitch in the present version. It did. It also decided to act funny after some update I suppose.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP stands for the TRUTH. But Skoda wants to “instigate” Team-BHP and its users! GTO The Indian Car Scene 2619 23rd July 2017 19:58
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
From a Team-BHP Fan to a Team-BHP Member YNT86 Introduce yourself 5 19th November 2015 22:21
PIC : Team-BHP Stickers on Team-BHP servers! GTO Announcements 48 12th August 2014 16:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:19.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks