Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th August 2014, 11:37   #5701
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,724
Thanked: 4,686 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

I've upgraded Chrome to the latest version 37, and have noticed that the underlines for many hyperlinks in TBHP have moved closer to the text and are in fact touching it.

In the attached screenshot, see how the underline touches the thread name in the leftmost column. Conversely, in the rightmost column, the underline beneath the forum name is unaffected.

This is something I've noticed has changed in the few minutes before and after upgrading to Chrome 37, so its not a matter of some other setting that I have changed. I know that this version of Chrome has introduced a new form of text rendering and wonder whether this is rendering text differently to cause this issue.

I'm running Chrome "Version 37.0.2062.94 m" on Windows 7 x64.
Attached Thumbnails
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-tbhp-chrome-37-2nd.jpg  

arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 12:14   #5702
Senior - BHPian
 
zenren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CLT/TVM/HYD
Posts: 2,576
Thanked: 1,723 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
I've upgraded Chrome to the latest version 37, and have noticed that the underlines for many hyperlinks in TBHP have moved closer to the text and are in fact touching it.

In the attached screenshot, see how the underline touches the thread name in the leftmost column. Conversely, in the rightmost column, the underline beneath the forum name is unaffected.

This is something I've noticed has changed in the few minutes before and after upgrading to Chrome 37, so its not a matter of some other setting that I have changed. I know that this version of Chrome has introduced a new form of text rendering and wonder whether this is rendering text differently to cause this issue.

I'm running Chrome "Version 37.0.2062.94 m" on Windows 7 x64.
Is the same issue happening in the default TBHP skin as well?

The standard blue/red skins is no longer supported by TBHP and is just there to help some of the folks who cannot use the default skin (while at office) as a workaround. It was clearly mentioned that the site is optimized for the default skin and would not be supporting the blue/red skins. In fact, there was a lengthy discussion in this thread when the blue/red skins were removed as part of the site upgrade. I believe we all agreed back then that it is better to have the limited functionality blue/red skin instead of not having these skins at all.
zenren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 12:47   #5703
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,724
Thanked: 4,686 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenren View Post
Is the same issue happening in the default TBHP skin as well?
Good point - I just tried it with the Forum Default, BHP Silver and BHP Black, and see the same behaviour there. :-(
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 13:14   #5704
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,261
Thanked: 22,222 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Thanks for pointing this out arunphilip!

Mr. Eagle-eyes vid6639 did message me about this a few weeks back, but it was the only reported incident - so i wasn't sure if it was something on his computer or not.

@zenren - IIRC, Vid was using the BHP Silver skin.

Will look into this...

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 14:31   #5705
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,261
Thanked: 22,222 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

@ Arunphilip:

Thanks for the link about "DirectWrite". That term itself made it easy for me to find this Chrome bug report:

https://code.google.com/p/chromium/i...tail?id=394662

You can star the issue if you wish. Hopefully they should resolve it soon...

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 14:48   #5706
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,393
Thanked: 19,157 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
Good point - I just tried it with the Forum Default, BHP Silver and BHP Black, and see the same behaviour there. :-(
Welcome to the club. This happened as soon as I updated chrome on my macbook. Luckily my office laptop doesn't have the chrome update yet.

I got extremely irritated with this and sent a note to Rehaan. Then Jaggu also got the same issue.

I hope chrome fixes it cause it is annoying me no end and really messes the aesthetics of a forum. Any letter like g or y is actually chopped by the underline of the URL.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 16:02   #5707
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,724
Thanked: 4,686 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
That term itself made it easy for me to find this Chrome bug report:

https://code.google.com/p/chromium/i...tail?id=394662

You can star the issue if you wish. Hopefully they should resolve it soon...
Cool, I've starred the issue, and it does seem to be affecting more users than just us (so hopefully it will be prioritized by Google).
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 10:18   #5708
Senior - BHPian
 
motomaverick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,838
Thanked: 864 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Starred the issue, however, Firefox & IE 11 everything is hunky dory over there so using Firefox in the meantime.
motomaverick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 10:42   #5709
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,724
Thanked: 4,686 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Hopefully they should resolve it soon...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
I hope chrome fixes it cause it is annoying me no end and really messes the aesthetics of a forum. Any letter like g or y is actually chopped by the underline of the URL.
Until Google fixes this, we can work around it by disabling DirectWrite, if you wish. Here's how:
  1. In Chrome, type in about:flags in the URL bar, this will open advanced settings.
  2. The fourth item in the list is 'Disable DirectWrite'. If the hyperlink below this says 'Disable', this means Chrome is using DirectWrite.
  3. Click the 'Disable' link to turn off DirectWrite. The hyperlink now changes to 'Enable'.
  4. Restart Chrome. The hyperlink underlines should show up correctly now.

It is slightly confusing the way the you have to enable a disable setting - all these double negatives get confusing.
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 10:53   #5710
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,393
Thanked: 19,157 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
Until Google fixes this, we can work around it by disabling DirectWrite, if you wish. Here's how:
I don't see DirectWrite at all in the flags. I am using chrome Version 36.0.1985.143 on my macbook pro.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 11:11   #5711
Senior - BHPian
 
arunphilip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,724
Thanked: 4,686 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vid6639 View Post
I don't see DirectWrite at all in the flags. I am using chrome Version 36.0.1985.143 on my macbook pro.
That might be because DirectWrite is supported only on Windows Vista and higher.

It appears that there's more than one issue causing underlines to be messed up: this issue https://code.google.com/p/chromium/i...tail?id=384265 is across all operating systems, not just Windows.
arunphilip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2014, 11:46   #5712
Senior - BHPian
 
zenren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CLT/TVM/HYD
Posts: 2,576
Thanked: 1,723 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
It is slightly confusing the way the you have to enable a disable setting - all these double negatives get confusing.
It is actually the allowed action that is shown, not current status, although I agree that they could have named the setting as just DirectWrite.

Last edited by zenren : 29th August 2014 at 11:47.
zenren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2014, 16:48   #5713
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 63
Thanked: 30 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Rehan,
Please see the screenshot.

Guru
Attached Thumbnails
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-screenshot_20140901112942.png  

guruji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2014, 16:51   #5714
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,261
Thanked: 22,222 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by guruji View Post
Please see the screenshot.
Thanks for the screenshot...

Can't you scroll down a little further in this case?


@arunphilip - thanks for the research!

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2014, 16:54   #5715
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 63
Thanked: 30 Times
Default Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Thanks for the screenshot...

Can't you scroll down a little further in this case?


R
Yes, in this case, there is space for vertical scroll. But there are cases where no links under related posts section. I will do a bit more browsing to find out an exact issue.
guruji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP stands for the TRUTH. But Skoda wants to “instigate” Team-BHP and its users! GTO The Indian Car Scene 2619 23rd July 2017 19:58
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
From a Team-BHP Fan to a Team-BHP Member YNT86 Introduce yourself 5 19th November 2015 22:21
PIC : Team-BHP Stickers on Team-BHP servers! GTO Announcements 48 12th August 2014 16:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:51.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks