Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th August 2007, 14:29   #736
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,577
Thanked: 80,480 Times
Default

gbsp, can you explain that in detail? I didnt get what you meant.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 14:40   #737
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Why dont you ask your domain manager to make this website available as both "www.team-bhp.com" as well as "team-bhp.com"
I guess he wants to know if the domain manager of team-bhp could be approached to make this site available as both "www.team-bhp.com" & simply "team-bhp.com" .
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 14:41   #738
Team-BHP Support
 
Vid6639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 14,293
Thanked: 18,822 Times
Default

I think it already is. If i simply type team-bhp.com it works for me. Infact teambhp.com also works without the hyphen.
Vid6639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 14:42   #739
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,972
Thanked: 3,390 Times
Default

Same with me, which is why i was thinking what the post was for.
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 15:07   #740
BHPian
 
gbpscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 402
Thanked: Once
Default

hey thanks a lot benbsb29, vid6639 and esteem_lover!!! it is gross mistake from me.

i had forced hostname entries in my comp once for some websites that i frequent, due to a virus attack and i hadnt even bothered to look at it all this while and i was wondering why this did not work for this website only.

apologies GTO. please remove this suggestion post of mine to avoid any confusion.

Last edited by gbpscars : 13th August 2007 at 15:11.
gbpscars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2007, 15:28   #741
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,577
Thanked: 80,480 Times
Default

No problem, bud. Keep 'em suggestions coming.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2007, 18:33   #742
BHPian
 
sbasak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CCU-LTN
Posts: 607
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Is it possible to reduce the number of subsections in the site? I feel we have too many subcategories. Some nice threads are just hidden inside layers of sections! For a quick browsing, it isn't always possible to navigate thru all subsections
sbasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2007, 18:39   #743
Senior - BHPian
 
mithun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cochin
Posts: 1,941
Thanked: 49 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbasak View Post
Is it possible to reduce the number of subsections in the site? I feel we have too many subcategories. Some nice threads are just hidden inside layers of sections! For a quick browsing, it isn't always possible to navigate thru all subsections
No need for that. This site is very easy to navigate & well laid out !
mithun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2007, 23:10   #744
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 68
Thanked: 6 Times
Default None [hide] : how to avoid this message at the end of a post

Dear mods, need your help.

"None [hide]" auto appears at the end of my posts. This only happens on FireFox and not IE

FireFox version:Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5

IE version:6.0.2900.2180

Please dont ask my to use IE; will be major demotion.

I uncheck all 4 miscellaneous options

Any idea how can I avoid this?None [hide]None [hide]
amitsingh08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2007, 23:29   #745
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Please select your text & click on to remove formatting. that should help.
cheers
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2007, 23:29   #746
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: mumbai
Posts: 68
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Please select your text & click on to remove formatting. that should help.
cheers
I selected all text and clicked that button. Didnt work unfortunately. The button didnt remain depressed. As soon as mouse hovered away, it came back up.
None [hide]None [hide]
amitsingh08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2007, 01:07   #747
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,976 Times
Default

amit I do not know why you said that the None[hide] thing does not show up in IE. I see it in all your posts in IE as well. And this is something I saw in someone else's post as well as asked him to remove as I thought it is there in his signature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbasak View Post
Is it possible to reduce the number of subsections in the site? I feel we have too many subcategories. Some nice threads are just hidden inside layers of sections! For a quick browsing, it isn't always possible to navigate thru all subsections
Even then we find that many threads need to be custom fitted to a section at times as it may not fit in directly to any of the existing ones.

For you I would suggest to use the section pull-down list at the bottom of the page. Navigate to a section of your interest. You will get the recent posts in bold. Read and reply to the ones you like and then move on to the next section using the same pull-down. Once done come back to the general listing and carry on.

Last edited by Zappo : 16th August 2007 at 01:14.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2007, 23:28   #748
BHPian
 
sathya_nars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 642
Thanked: 52 Times
Default

BTW Why not keep 'Forum Jump' combo box at top of page rather on bottom? Even can be on both :-) - this helps for quick navigation.
sathya_nars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2007, 01:06   #749
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sathya_nars View Post
BTW Why not keep 'Forum Jump' combo box at top of page rather on bottom? Even can be on both :-) - this helps for quick navigation.
Just roll your mouse wheel sathya, you don't lose anything.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2007, 10:42   #750
BHPian
 
SohailPistawala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 431
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
Can we have few more FORUM skins ?
Want a black one which is cooler for eyes and for environment .The white screen is pain in the eyes .
Hey GTO any luck on this ???
SohailPistawala is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP stands for the TRUTH. But Skoda wants to “instigate” Team-BHP and its users! GTO The Indian Car Scene 2619 23rd July 2017 19:58
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
From a Team-BHP Fan to a Team-BHP Member YNT86 Introduce yourself 5 19th November 2015 22:21
PIC : Team-BHP Stickers on Team-BHP servers! GTO Announcements 48 12th August 2014 16:08


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:04.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks