Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th August 2005, 00:51   #16
BHPian
 
Ford Rocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai-India
Posts: 880
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

What version of O.S r u running? and what type of net connection you have ?
and pls dont do any changes in registry if u r not confident of it ,will create more problem for you.
Ford Rocam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2005, 13:54   #17
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,539
Thanked: 80,286 Times
Default

Aadix, I think most people have already suggested the necessary steps to address your issue.

But heres some pro-active measures that I use, and have never faced a problem with Virus's and Spyware.

1. Sygate personal firewall : Fantastic product. Only the first time after installation is a little bothersome with popups asking you for authorisation of different programs trying to access the internet. But once you are done with the initial setup, its a no-hassle software.

2. Norton 2004

3. Lavasoft Ad-Aware and Microsoft Spyware

4. Use Outlook Express for all your emails and disable "dangerous attachments" from the settings. Norton will automatically scan the ones that OE has termed safe, before you open the file.

5. I use Opera as my browser. As someone has suggested earlier, the explorer seems more prone to attacks.

I have a maintainence schedule once a week where all the softwares are checked for upgrades and updates (including the Windows OS) and scans are run one by one.

GTO
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2005, 14:05   #18
BHPian
 
Scuderia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 127
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

The first thing you do is switch to Mozilla Firefox. (its open source, hence free).

Also, put a firewall (I use Zonealarm). It asks me before allowing any software to access the net. You can permanently deny access to the spywares.

Do not play with the registry if you are not much aware of it. The entire O.S.could crash.
Scuderia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2005, 14:08   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Firefox is just great, however be careful of zonealarm. Actually on 64bit machines if you are on winXP, you cannot install SP2. Its a known issue. Also never use Outlook express. Use thunderbird/mozilla mail.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 11:05   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hi guys
really really sorry for the late reply.
been stuck with tons of work.

guys i tried almost everything,nothing is working. only thing left is to reload everything again

planning to call the ibm guy as the comp was recently upgraded by them so i dont wanna fiddle with anything.

in the mean while will this spyware do any major harm ? as the comp guy is gonna come this weekend.


ps: i am using windows 2000 and the net connetion is an hathway cable line.

comp is an ibm 300 gl series.

Last edited by aadix : 17th August 2005 at 11:07.
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 11:10   #21
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

@aadix, any virus or spyware is not "unremovable" by simple tools.
did you run Microsoft antispyware and AVG antivirus? You will need internet connection so that these programs can download virus/spyware databases from the web.
Could you list the things you did?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 11:17   #22
BHPian
 
mohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto / Kurukshetra
Posts: 640
Thanked: 119 Times
Default

Quote:
however be careful of zonealarm
hey tsk could you elaborate on that??? I use it at home so am concerned!
mohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 12:47   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Only if you have a 64bit machine. There is a bug due to which if you install zonealarm on 64 bit machines with windows XP, you cannot install Service pack 2. Your machine will never boot and keep on rebooting. This is not a zonealarm issue. while running in 32 bit mode on 64bit machines(XP is 32 bit) the XP kernel code tries to do an illegal write to a location in the 64bit space causing the machine to reboot.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2005, 13:27   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
merve_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,360
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

i think u should try and install trend micro internet security.it is very effective.but first what problem are u exactly facing.

the problem may not be realted to spyware.spyware are mostly used by websites to allow pop-ups and other advertisements.i can help u as i have pretty good knowledge of 2000 and xp OS.please mention ur error.
merve_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2005, 20:28   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
aadix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hyderabad
Posts: 1,594
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

hi guys!

touch wood the problem just diasappered. all i did was download the latest antivir update.

this is the best anti virus/anti spyware software i have seen!


the things i did till now:

downloaded latest editions of spyware search and distroy,spyware blaster: no effect

downloaded microsoft antispyware: no effect

downloaded cw shredder: no effect

downloaded another antispyware software: no effect

downloaded anti vir: deleted many things expect the main problem

deleted both the spywares from the registry: no effect

downloaded antivir update: touch wood the problem dissappered.


altought the comp is running a bit slowly, will rectifiy it in a few days.


thanks guys

aaditya
aadix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2005, 14:51   #26
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

..Best prevention...
Zone Alarm Pro ... (perfect config is no easy work)
Symantec Antivirus Corporate edition 10
and set permission to "Read Only" for the 'RUN' key...

Thats it

I have been using all kinds of P2P... and only use IE 6... never had a problem.

Cure?
all the things that have been talked about
and go to www.sysinternals.com and download 'autoruns'

Enjoy!
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2005, 21:21   #27
cnu
BHPian
 
cnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 248
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aadix
downloaded latest editions of spyware search and distroy,spyware blaster: no effect

downloaded microsoft antispyware: no effect

downloaded another antispyware software: no effect

Just to add, spyware software are more effective when windows is
running in safe mode. And as SLK mentioned, www.sysinternals.com
has many useful tools for debugging windows problems.
cnu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2005, 11:33   #28
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

IE 6 is inviting disaster to your doorstep. Try firefox(http://www.mozilla.org) or Opera(http://www.opera.com), once you use these you will have difficulty using the IE.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2007, 01:36   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

as of now whats the best anti spyware software ?? i need it asap as im having some problems.
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2007, 07:38   #30
BHPian
 
navdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 885
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Make sure you have one antivirus and one antispyware ( lavasoft product is good ) installed. More then one is not recommended. Usually we do that to be on safer side. Run updated antivirus in safe mode ( with admin rights ) and then adware removal software.
navdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virus problems/spyware problems! post here! SirAlec Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 16th July 2014 00:05
Laptop Problem...Urgent help required cooljay Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 17th November 2013 20:59
Urgent Help Required For Audio Setup vahss_11 In-Car Entertainment 44 8th April 2006 12:06
Urgent Help Required! Fiat Palio 1.2 ELX extreme_torque Hatchbacks 0 11th March 2006 20:56
Help required on a used Palio 1.2... Urgent! extreme_torque The Indian Car Scene 13 6th February 2006 07:45


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks