Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd September 2005, 10:26   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default Walkie-Talkie systems

TBHPians might have noticed various walkie-talkie systems, which are now being offered in Rediff, ebay.in etc. I am thinking about buying a (entry-level, 3.2 kms range) Motorola TalkAbout system, the T4500. This system costs Rs.3995 in India while a search in froogle revealed that it retails in the Katrina-country in $29-$39 range.

I wonder whether I need a license for operating this system. Any idea?
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 11:06   #2
BHPian
 
Xsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 128
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi sandeepmdas

Your best bet is to call and check with Motorola. These small VHF handheld radios can be very useful depending on your requiremnt. Overseas, CB and other frquencies do not require licensing but till a few years back when I was trying to get my HAM license, VHF frequency in India was restricted to Govt/Military use only. However licenses were available for civil use.

As I said, the best bet is to check with Moto India.

Cheers
Xsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 11:10   #3
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

Legally, yes, you need a licence before using one of these. But realistically, just go ahead and use them...but make sure its not in front of a cop or something. These are very handy if you go for a long trip with 2 cars.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 11:57   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default

Thanks XSailor and Rtech.

@XSailor, I think you need to pass an exam etc. to obtain Ham license (perhaps you have the certifications already in the bag, guessing from your background).

@Rtech, yes, during the trips and in some plantations were there is no mobile coverage. Cops cannot distinguish the sets easily as they look like mobile handsets. But can't they overhear my transmissions?

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 23rd September 2005 at 11:58.
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 12:13   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Rtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,769
Thanked: 207 Times
Default

They can't hear your transmissions unless you use their channel. Also, the range on these are not very high, so it should be no problem. Scan all channels and pick one that is not in use. (NOT Channel 16!! )
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 16:29   #6
BHPian
 
egangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: thane
Posts: 365
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Sandeep,make sure u scan all the channels like Rtech said as u can never say who is monitoring the frequencies,the lisenced hams would naturally not like anybody else using their frequencies nor would the cops,who wont take it lightly.
egangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 16:47   #7
BANNED
 
khaadu75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: same as the proposed venue for F1 ;-)
Posts: 1,154
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Hey, I have been using them for about 3 yrs now at my farm and they r very handy for me. I have the ones which have a range of 8 kms and r yellow in color .. dont remember the exact model though. Only problem is that the batteries get drained real quick specially if u use the ringer too much . Have fun with them otherwise .

cheers
khaadu75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 16:56   #8
BHPian
 
Xsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 128
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Over..

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandeepmdas
@XSailor, I think you need to pass an exam etc. to obtain Ham license (perhaps you have the certifications already in the bag, guessing from your background).
Yep. Picked up my HAM Lic (from the UK) long time ago. The exam was OK but one had to be good at Morse (good ole did dah). That was many many moons ago and I am no longer into that - nor have the time for it.

BTW, if your going by the advise to just pick-up a set and use it on the sly, might as well buy from abroad as it is much much cheaper. ICOM make some good tiny models with stub antenna which could well pass-off for a cell phone.
Go for really low wattage transivers so that you have the least chance of getting 'scanned'. And do remember, once scanned, THEY can 'home-in' on your location very easily. IMHO, go the legal way if you want to be a serious user and the 'phoren jugaad' way if the whole thing is for fun.

PS: And whatever you buy, never say 'over and out' - it is technically incorrect and sound irritatingly cliché. Simple 'over' and release the PTT (push to talk switch) to hear what the other user has to say and a simple 'out' to sign-off (like fellow BHPian BADCHEETAH does in his posts - how I love that handle - BADCHEETAH).

Cheers
Xsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 17:06   #9
BHPian
 
egangsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: thane
Posts: 365
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Hi XSailor, whats your call sign ???? and you can say it morse was tough.......(good ole did dah). Are you still an active ham ?
egangsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2005, 17:56   #10
BHPian
 
Xsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 128
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi there. Activity is zero now. Too busy with other persuits....

Junked my set while shifting base and never got around setting it up again.

Cheers
Xsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 10:24   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default

Guys, thank you all...wow while posting this query I thought I will get 2-3 replies max.

XSailor, yes, I will go the legal way as much as possible.
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 16:44   #12
BHPian
 
Badcheetah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 123
Thanked: 2 Times
Thumbs up

Hey There Sandeep ,

My friend , please be very carefull if you pick these sets , as the cops might and will trouble you if you get caught.

I have a motorola one with me , 2 base units and 3 hand held ones . But i use some ones elses license, when i take them for a rally . But then again , there are times you pick up 1 or 2 odd frequency , mainly of the nearest set , and visa versa . One should be very carefull what one says on them , as its not totally private conversation .

I suggest if you really have a use and need for them , then first get a licence for the same and get a proper one , orelse for chumma sake they are avalable in Gaffar Market in Delhi , or Hira Panna in Mumbai , and even in Chennai, (spencer Plaza ) which are roughly around the same price what u mentioned , but dont go by the range written on the box , as its very less . I say from experience.

And my friend X-SAILOR , you said correctly , a lot of people say over and out , looks like they must watch a lot of movies , the conversation should always be ended by saying "CODE NAME + OVER " in the end .
Badcheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 16:59   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default

not-so-badCheetah....

Thanks for the serious advice.

Pal, do you have any idea how can I obtain a license ? Would you mind doing a small research for me in your friends circle? I shot an email to motorola india -as advised by XSailor, but no reply yet, which is understandable as it is weekend.

Thanks once again...
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2005, 17:06   #14
BHPian
 
Badcheetah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 123
Thanked: 2 Times
Thumbs up

thanks buddy ,

Hmm.. i can sure find out about the license , but you would need to tell me more about your location. only then can i figure out what to do and how to go about it.

give me time till tuesday and i shall have a answer for you .
also find out who is the service provider in your location and try speaking to them , motorola would only be intrested in selling you the sets , and that to (i think ) if you have a license first.

So lets waiut till tuesday ,and i shall do the needfull . and my friend much obliged .
thanks again ..
Badcheetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 10:33   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Varkala
Posts: 1,091
Thanked: 501 Times
Default

Badcheetah,

I am from Kerala, I live 48 kms north of Trivandrum, the capital...
sandeepmdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you thought BOSE only made music systems? Revvmaster Technical Stuff 38 6th February 2016 12:02
Superbike Security Systems - Disc Lock / Chain Lock / Alarm Systems gsferrari Superbikes & Imports 3 3rd July 2009 01:45
Mr talkie talk talk The Sorcerer Introduce yourself 5 28th September 2008 20:49
Audio systems normally_crazy Shifting gears 0 2nd October 2004 13:59


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:40.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks