Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th September 2005, 04:06   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 24 Times
Default Weird Windows: Can anyone explain this?!

Hey,

Check this out...

This has happened a few times before. When I press some odd combos of the mouse left+right buttons while the pointer is on the taskbar, I get this screen. This time I hit Prt Scrn and got a screenshot...




Computer geniuses, please explain...

v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 07:30   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

try this

do virus scan after updating
install latest updates for windows
install latest drivers for all hardware
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 08:04   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
devarshi84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ahmedabad - Tor
Posts: 3,996
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

that is due to a malfunctioning of a software which is running in the background.

try restoring your computer to a point before the problem started.

or else try repairing windows.
devarshi84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 10:11   #4
BHPian
 
Hellcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 222
Thanked: Once
Default

You'll need to update your Xp with Service Pack 1 and 2.
Hellcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 11:03   #5
BHPian
 
Scuderia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 127
Thanked: 5 Times
Default my understanding...

I guess its nothing to do with any virus stuff...

Its just that, when you click those "odd" combinations of keys on the taskbar, the processor shifts between those programs (actually processes) and since the expected rate of this shifting (called Pre-emption in tech terms) is high, the resources are not sufficient, or a more probable reason is that windows cannot manage the resources well to have the shift.

This leads to too much of "thrashing" in the memory... leading to a "hang".

Nothing serious. Just avoid those combos.

Also, while opening a program or shifting to another window, avoid clicking multiple times if it doesnt open immediately. This screws up the preemption further.


A bit too tech... but hope its clear
Scuderia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 16:16   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

I doubt it's a virus or that sort of malfunction.

BTW, I'm running SP 2 on XP.

It's not a problem, and it doesn't hang or slow down at all. It's just that I've never seen this screen before, and I wanted to know what it is...

Anyone heard of the hidden MS Ofiice features? The game in Excel, and the "I'll drink to that" spellcheck in Word?
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 16:52   #7
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default

is this a lap top ? then re instal the driver for the mouse pad, i faced a similar issue and i took an online diagnosis of the erro which pointed to mouse pad, re installed the driver and its fine since then..
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 17:21   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

No, it's a desktop.

Mouse PAD error?! PAD??!!

WTF?!
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 17:30   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

lol... i think jaggu meant the touchpad of a laptop.
Anyways... you could also try changing ur browser from IE to maybe firefox? The way i see it, if you keep your mouse on the IE tab on the taskbar, and keep pressing the left mouse button, it just means that u r minimizing and maximizing ur IE window quickly and repeatedly. And it seems IE doesnt like doing so much work...
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 17:46   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

Oh sorry, touchpad...my apologies, Jaggu!

The thing is, this is not an error per se, because God knows with any error, MS products hang. This is some sort of undocumented...well, feature...
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 17:46   #11
BHPian
 
Xsailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Noida
Posts: 128
Thanked: 0 Times
Default No Problemo

Hi Viper,

At times, this *** happens with me too. As you rightly pointed out, it is not an issue - do not go around reinstalling or doing a sys restore.

In my case, it got fine after I upgraded to 1 GB of RAM (Kingston make) - I had noticed this issue only when I was doing heavy multi-tasking and tried closing a few windows rapidly - just like amitoj says.

The screen usually 'refreshes' to normal soon enough.

Do an online RAM [just google it!] check if you want more comfort

Cheers
Xsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 17:49   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
adya33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,839
Thanked: 91 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj
lol... i think jaggu meant the touchpad of a laptop.
Anyways... you could also try changing ur browser from IE to maybe firefox? The way i see it, if you keep your mouse on the IE tab on the taskbar, and keep pressing the left mouse button, it just means that u r minimizing and maximizing ur IE window quickly and repeatedly. And it seems IE doesnt like doing so much work...
thats not reason
after reading your post I opened IE came to this page minimized maximized 25 to 30 times still no error (WinXP SP2 + all latest updates + all latest drivers)

if it happens while minimizing/maximizing then it must be due to poor graphics drivers or insufficient video memory

@v1p3r : why don't you post your computers configuration
adya33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 18:10   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adya33
thats not reason
after reading your post I opened IE came to this page minimized maximized 25 to 30 times still no error (WinXP SP2 + all latest updates + all latest drivers)

if it happens while minimizing/maximizing then it must be due to poor graphics drivers or insufficient video memory

@v1p3r : why don't you post your computers configuration
wot i meant, without getting any technical, was that minimizing and maximizing the IE window too many times was putting a strain on the system process thats supposed to repaint the desktop when you minimize all windows. I saw no point in throwing in needless tech jargon.

Like XSailor suggested, getting a bigger RAM will solve his problem. Since i dont think u can get free RAM, so i suggested the cheapest thing to try. Thats getting another browser which wont put too much load on his system.

Cheers
Amitoj

Last edited by amitoj : 27th September 2005 at 18:13.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 20:10   #14
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

.. Not a problem.. if its gets back to normal in a few secs.
reinstalling/upgrading display adaptor drivers is worth a try.

Otherwise monitor your processor's temperature... see if its too hot!

or just check for an entry in your event log!
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2005, 21:57   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BLR - chasing cars...
Posts: 4,836
Thanked: 24 Times
Default

Could be a processor heat issue. AMD (2000) are known to have heating issues. And I'm running a single fan, not twins.

But it's rather cool, that blue shade, don't you think?!
v1p3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 things Microsoft can never explain deepakchiniwal Shifting gears 5 23rd April 2010 09:31
Can anyone please explain torque, ABS etc safari_lover Technical Stuff 1 6th March 2007 04:52
who can explain what happened???? nikhilv12 Shifting gears 1 21st January 2007 16:53
can sum1 explain the categories nos_nitrous Indian Motorsport 2 1st March 2006 20:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:48.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks