Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears

Old 13th July 2010, 12:35   #1

Default How do you re-cycle plastic covers?

Let us discuss about a very serious environmental issue, plastic has bee a part and parcel of our daily life, the situation is so worst, that we can not live with out the use of plastic.

I have been experimenting this for the past two years, and it works wonderful, its very simple and effective, just keep collecting all the plastic covers in a separate bag at home on a daily basis, after a month or so you will be having at least a KG of plastic covers, give this to any glossary shop, they will be very happy to receive this, and they will use this for packing. This way at least the plastic covers are re cycled once, may be if every body does this, this can reduce lot of plastic covers in the street.

Please share your thoughts on this.
deva kuduvalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2010, 14:14   #2
BHPian

if you just throw them in rubbish ( seperately as dry) not with wet garbage , the rag pickers pick it up and selll it to recylcers.
paras211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2010, 15:37   #3
BHPian

I feel that the best approach would be to avoid using plastic bags as much as possible. Carry your own shopping bag when going for grocery shopping.

I feel that the major supermarkets should also do something to reduce the usage of plastic bags. Currently we are required to submit our shopping bags at the parcel counter, which is generally far away from the billing counter. Hence we are forced to accept their plastic bags even if we are willing to carry our own shopping bags.

I feel that the only way to reduce the usage of plastic bags in India is to make it chargeable.

Rohan
rohan_iitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2010, 00:26   #4
BHPian